We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not a 5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“not a 5 star”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

I stayed at this hotel in 1975 and it was a 5 star hotel. Cavtat is still very beautiful. The hotel has been renovated and is a lot bigger now with two pools but is seems it has lost its personal touch. The staff was very business like and not really friendly. Our deluxe room included breakfast, as well as bottle of wine, fruit and flowers upon our arrival which was not done. My husband had to call and they demanded to see our reservation and then they brought some flowers, bottle of wine and two cookies. We wanted to spend some time on the beach but there was none there to supply chairs, the sign was up stating they are not open for business until June. The room was clean but very small. The sea view was amazing. There was no closet space so I was happy it was only for one night. Also at checkout they could not give us a receipt but promised to e-mail it to us which to this date we have not received. The hotel is nice but I would not give it a 5 star rating. It is not a good value for your money. I would not recommend this hotel as it is overpriced. We received a better deal at Hotel Ariston in Dubrovnik and it was worth every penny!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ladykatherine1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 7 July 2013
Dear ladykatherine1967,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback concerning your stay in our establishment. Please accept our deepest apologies for all the inconveniences you have experienced during your short stay in Hotel Croatia. We are very sorry that you did not enjoy our facilities at all, and that you did not find the service in our hotel up to 5 star standards and as enjoyable as in 1975. While our team members are trained and motivated to extend every courtesy and service, sometimes things can get out of our control due to unpredictable situations, and consequently we may fail in satisfying some of your needs and wishes.
However, we can promise you we are working continuously on improving our services and amenities, which we hope you will have the chance to experience if you give us an opportunity to welcome you again.

Respectfully,
Hotel Croatia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,607 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,205
    1,061
    276
    49
    16
See reviews for
441
1,676
37
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,012)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N. Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

You get a big-hearted welcome from staff; a great big view of the town from the dining room terrace and of the sea from your bedroom; and with two big swimming pools (sea-water filled) plus a big sun-bathing area by the beach in Cavtat, you will have the biggest and maybe best holiday in a long-time. Yes there are nearly 500 rooms but the hotel never felt crowded although best to go early to the dining room for best tables, best selections of food and speedy service. Surprisingly the excellent free spa was under-used during our stay. Add in the closeness to the airport (10 mins by taxi), the good deals to be had through hotel booking sites such as Otel.com, you will be hard pushed to find as big a bargain as the one offered by possibly the best hotel in Croatia.

Room Tip: Rooms on R (Reception level) involve least use of lifts or stairs. Floors on level 5 are good for s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Robert100,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Croatia for your holidays, and for the wonderful comments.
We are thrilled to see that we succeeded in meeting your expectations, and we truly hope you will return soon to our hotel and lovely Cavtat. Until the next time, we are sending our warmest regards.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Croatia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

Situated on the treed hillside above Cavtat.. 102 steps to be exact.
One side of the hotel looks out over the Adriatic and one side looks over the bay at Cavtat.
There is a nature walk around the peninsula into Cavtat that takes 30 minutes with lovely views.
There are two huge pools, one inside and one outside.
Rooms were a good size and very clean, ocean views are amazing.
There is the Spinaker, one of the hotel restaurant down beside the water on the town side (they have a golf cart to take you if you have any mobility issues)
Very close to Dubrovnik airport (but noise not an issue) and across the bay you can see Dubrovnik Harbour.
There are taxi boats going back and forth to the Dubrovnik Harbour which takes 20 minutes.
If you are there on a Sunday, don't miss the folk dancing in Clipi 10 minutes away.
Complimentary parking and wifi
A good find.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyYVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear holly181725,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Croatia and finding time to report your comments on Trip Advisor.
We are more than happy that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel, from the room, our facilities, services, and our beautiful location overlooking Cavtat and Dubrovnik.
We hope you will give us an opportunity to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Hotel Croatia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, Fife
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on a bed and breakfast basis at the end of June. The hotel is massive but all areas were clean and well maintained. On the whole the staff were professional and helpful. Breakfast had plenty variety with the freshly prepared pancakes being a highlight. We dined at the Spinaker restaurant on one occassion but we were disappointed by the food considering how expensive it was.

We never had a problem getting a sun lounger at the pool as were normally there at about 10am. Pool area is immaculate.

The hotel is expensive with a large beer costing 39 Kuna compared with 18-25 in Cavtat. You are paying for the comfort and stunning views though.

Our room was very nice and impecably maintained by the cleaning staff.

Cavtat itself is stunning, utterly charming.

Don't underestimate the stairs when returning to the hotel at night!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MattScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear MattScot,

Thank you for reporting impressions of your recent stay in Hotel Croatia.
We are happy to see that we made your holidays enjoyable. Also, we are happy that you enjoyed in our location, services, facilities, staff, and buffet breakfast. However, we are very sorry that you did not find the food in our Spinaker restaurant as enjoyable as you expected. But we hope that you left with beautiful vacation memories, and that you will give us an opportunity to welcome you again in not too distant future.

We are sending our warmest regards.
Hotel Croatia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013 via mobile

Hotel Croatia is huge, but they do manage to create a cozy and relaxed atmosphere there. I recommend halfboarding, dinner buffet has a wide selection that changes from day to day, and the price is very reasonable.

The hotel is located a couple of miles from Dubrovnik airport. I recommend that you take a boat ride from Cavtat to Subrovnik old town. A daytrip to Mostar offers an opportunity to review botj the recent and ancient history of this region.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear K K,

Thank you for staying with us and expressing your view on the overall experience of your stay in our hotel.
We are glad to see that we succeeded in meeting your expectations. Moreover, we are happy that you took time to explore the natural beauty and history we are surrounded with.
Once again, thank you for your valuable comments, and hopefully, we will get a chance to welcome you again in our beautiful Cavtat.

Kind regards,
Hotel Croatia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I have recently returned from a 2 week stay at the Hotel Croatia in Cavtat with my husband, sister and brother in law. We travelled with Thompson - transfer from Dubrovnik airport is the quickest and most efficient we have ever experienced taking only 20 minutes in a taxi. I have noted some of the negative comments on this site however we all enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

As previously stated Cavtat is a beautiful old town within a 30 minute bus ride ( or slighly longer boat ride) from Dubrovnik The hotel has a very attractive location on its own peninsula which is a few minutes walk from the town centre. . There are 2 reasonably large sea water pools (one indoor). I agree with the previous reviewer who notes that the outdoor pool has many shaded areas with only a limited number of beds in the sun, however it is not difficult to find good sunbathing locations in other areas around the hotel so this was not a problem. There is a large sea front bathing area called Spinnaker with plently of sunbeds and a good sea bathing area for keen swimmers - the sea is clean and lovely. You get a great view of the fancy boats moored in Cavtat harbour. Serious sunbathers can lounge on deckchairs placed on the rocky area on the south side of the hotel where there is a nudist bathing area and another smaller sea bathing area . The hotel provides a good beach towel service. There is a small gym near the spa which is fairly basic and could do with a bit of investment - but I didn't go on holiday to spend time in the gym! A problem for some people may be the number of steps - there are 128 steps to the beach. The hotel runs a buggy service - I cant comment on the efficiency of this as we never used it. That said the steps do not appear to put older people off using this hotel as the average age of most guests was at least 60+ . There were only a few families as we travelled in school term time, but the hotel seemed very accommodating towards the families present during our stay.

Our rooms were on the north side of the hotel overlooking woodland and therefore our balconies were quite small and were mostly in the shade. However the weather was very hot so this was a relief. The rooms were clean, comfortable and well appointed with nice modern bathrooms. There is the usual overpriced mini bar - which we did not use!. The maid service was efficient. Its a minus that there are no tea or coffee making facilities but this seems usual for most European hotels in my experience.

Unlike some other reviewers we had no problems with the hotel food. Breakfast was good with a large choice of good quality hot and cold food which meant we did not require much lunch. The evening buffet has a large variety of fresh salads, cold meats cheeses and hot dishes desserts and fresh fruit. We cleared our plates every night. We chose to have the house wine with our meals which came to a reasonable sum at the end of the holiday. Yes the hotel bars are expensive compared to prices in the local town - but not ridiculously so. A small beer is about £2.50 and a coffee about £1.50. The waiting staff - as all the hotel staff - were pleasant and efficient.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would recommend the Hotel Cavtat.

Room Tip: If you want sun ask for a south side room - although the sun can be roasting! If you like to be c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maureen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear Marueen R,

We would like to thank you for the opportunity you have given us by choosing Hotel Croatia for your holiday destination, and for the comments you have made about your stay with us. Our goal is to meet our guests’ expectation, so the feedback from our guests is very important to succeed in that.
We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your holidays in our hotel, from our privileged location, just five minute walk away from Cavtat, and half an hour from Dubrovnik, to our facilities, services and staff efficiency. We are especially happy to hear that you enjoyed the gastronomy that our team prepared during your stay. We do our best to satisfy the many culinary wishes of our guests offering the most delicious international and local dishes.
Once again, we are thankful for your valuable comments, and we hope you will honor us with your visit again, in not too distant future. In the meantime we are sending our warmest regards.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Croatia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uttoxeter
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013

A beautiful location and wonderful views over the sea. A walk along the sea front and rocks in the evening especially, was stunning. Not a 5 star hotel! A pretty little resort if you can call it that, mostly unspoiled and largely thankfully lacking too much tac. Some lovely local walks around pine clad peninsulas and boat trips to be had. A small marina where boats regularly sail to other islands and Dubrovnik also a regular local bus service. Some good local cafes overlooking the sea, a pretty little church, a mini market and wonderful ice cream shop!
Hotel: Fast check in which is good but almost impersonal, as no information at all about hotel services amenities or food was given, just the room key. Front desk were almost scary!
Room was not 5 star light bulbs gone, no water, nowhere to hang and dry wet clothes , very small hanging space and the towels were dreadful! We had some towels that were so bad, so ragged and fraying and so small I would have given them to my friend to wipe down her dog. Occasionally we were given an odd large fluffy one but never 2. Sometimes a face cloth and a bath mat, other times none. By the end of the week there was thick dust on the coffee table. The decorative cover from the end of the beds was folded and put on the floor by the cleaners for the duration of our stay!Just odd! There were few cleaners doing a lot of work and the hotel generally skimped on staff. One day we were still in bed at 7:45 am when a cleaner walked into the room! Other days it would be late afternoon and a quick wipe down is all the bathroom got. Good air conditioning though.
Breakfasts were fine and there was a good selection of hot and cold food. Coffee or tea was served to your table the rest buffet style. Coffee dregs from one table were poured into another jug to serve the next table, so if you went in later it was cold coffee and very recycled. Dinner was poor for a hotel of this rating. School dinner style. Starters were fine fresh salad but also lots of last nights left-overs rehashed. The main courses were awful and inconsistent. Meat ie turkey that had been clearly cut up and left to curl and dry up in heated serving dishes. Nothing ever really hot and one night no veg at all! This was not 5 star food. I have had much better in hotels considering themselves to be a much lower standard. Restaurant dress code was ignored by some ignorant people and the staff did nothing to enforce this. So be prepared to be seated next to someone in shorts and a vest.
Never saw the transport to and from Cavtat harbour to the hotel . If you are disabled or have any kind of aversion to steps, do not go to this hotel unless you want to stay inside the hotel the whole of your stay.
The drinks are very expensive at the piano bar and the few staff serving them, earn every penny of their wages. The pool area, just one outside pool,( although there are beds by the sea on the concreted area) was inadequate and unless you put out a towel very out early you needed to be very lucky indeed to get a sun bed. We like to do some activity walking etc in the morning so by afternoon no chance. No courtesy rooms for late check out iether. Impersonal generally is an overall observation. We have no horrendous stories but I feel the hotel could be so special with just a bit more effort, investment and care by the management.

Room Tip: Sea view but most are. Do ask NOT to be on a below reception level ie minus floor. There can be li...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank suedUttoxeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 5 July 2013
Dear suedUttoxeter,

We would like to thank you for having so carefully explained impressions of your stay in Hotel Croatia. We highly appreciate all of your comments, as it offers us an opportunity to improve our services.
We are very sorry to hear that you did not find the service in Hotel Croatia up to 5 star standards. We apologize for all the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay, beginning with the check in, which was, as you described, impersonal. We can promise you that we are working continuously on improving our services and amenities, and we hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you again in our establishments, so we can meet your full expectations. In the meantime, we are sending our best regards.

Respectfully,
Hotel Croatia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,063 reviews
0.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
9.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 18 in Cavtat
245 reviews
9.8 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
9.6 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#13 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Property: Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Agoda, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing