We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's just wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Just returned from our 10th consecutive visit to Hotel Croatia. People ask why we return year after year.The answer is simple. The hotel is in an amazing position, perched above the Adriatic on one side and one of the prettiest bays you will ever find on the other side. The hotel is large but never feels busy. Reception staff are very nice and helpful and the Bell Hop guys are so efficient. It is well worth paying for a sea view room as the views are wonderful and the sunsets are amazing. Rooms are big, beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are fully equipped and have brilliant showers.The staff throughout the hotel are lovely people who are very polite and helpful. The restaurant is quite big and might feel a bit impersonal but sitting outside on the terrace with the beautiful views of the bay is lovely. I don't know why some reviewers complain about the food. There is so much choice that you will never go hungry. The omelettes made to order at breakfast are lovely. The loungers around the pool do cause a bit of a problem but the hotel management are doing their best to solve the problem. Cavtat itself is a dream, lovely little bars which serve lovely lunches and very good local wine, all at very good prices. The walk down to Cavtat bay is very picturesque, but the steps back up to the hotel can be a problem for people with walking difficulties. The buggie the hotel provides can be a bit hit and miss when returning but is generally very good. Will we go back next year? Oh yes.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view room preferably floor 5 and upwards
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cazie186439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear cazie186439,

We are so thankful for the trust you have given to us by coming to Hotel Croatia for the 10th time, and for choosing our hotel as your holiday destination for so many years.
We are thrilled to see that once again you have enjoyed everything throughout your stay with us, from services, facilities, to our staff efficiency.
It is our greatest award to see such positive and wonderful reviews, and guests with beautiful vacation memories.
It will be our pleasure to welcome you once again next summer, and we truly hope that we will make your holidays memorable and pleasant for many more years to come.

With best regards and wishes,
Hotel Croatia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,949 - 1,955 of 2,874 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is a large hotel but at no time do you feel overcrowded. In fact, during our first few days there were 650 worldwide delegates from the World Skiing Federation, but they did not impact on us or the running of the hotel

Our room was superb - lovely bed linen and towels. The sound-proofing is also very good.

The staff were all excellent - from Reception to Restaurant and because of the variety and quality of the food (we were half board), we only had a couple of evening meals in the village by way of a change.

We were on the 5th floor and had a sea view. We used the balcony a lot, as it was so relaxing.
Being on the 5th floor, we just had to stroll along to the swimming pools and there is also another lift on the 5th floor, which takes you down to the restaurant. There was sometimes quite a wait at the main lifts, especially when the large conferences are taking place.

We only had one grievance. During the large conference (there was no problem the second week with a smaller conference taking place), coaches and taxis would arrive at various times, especially in the evenings, and park close to Reception. It was quite chaotic and quite dangerous, as there is no clear pathway for pedestrians.

We would recommend going to Cavtat now, before it gets too popular. Dubrovnik is already suffering far too many cruise ships arriving daily and we were horrified to see that 21 groups had been coached in from a P&O cruise ship had one morning in the village.

The villagers are really friendly, the restaurants and cafes superb and very good value (they are not in the Euro yet) and there is plenty of people-watching when the large yachts are moored. Also lovely walks around the 2 harbours.

Plenty of boat trips to Dubrovnik and other surrounding villages.

Summing up, a super holiday. Again, if the hotel could just make sure the safety of it's guests during peak times coming and going from Reception is improved.

Also, just a reminder that there are 127 steps up and down - certainly improved our fitness.
We are Pensioners but not needing the buggies as of yet.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must. 5th floor - very easy access to swimming pools and another lift to restaurant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gillyandkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear gillyandkeith,

Thank you for staying with us and reporting wonderful comments of your stay in our hotel.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed everything throughout your stay with us, from location, facilities, to service, and staff friendliness. We highly appreciate all of your comments and recommendations for potential future guests.
It was our pleasure welcoming you in our hotel, and hopefully we will have an opportunity to welcome you again. In the meantime, we are sending our warmest regards from Cavtat.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Croatia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We had five nights at the Hotel Coatia in Cavtat and were overall quite pleased with the service, cleanliness and the meals. The staff were generally friendly although quite brief with information. For example when checking in there was no maps of the hotel or local area and no advice on breakfast times or information about the facilities. The hotel is fairly spread out so a map would have been useful.
Our biggest complaint was the lack of sunbeds which I raised with the manager. He said that he had a license for 100 more beds so I hope that these arrive soon. Some people were reserving beds with hotel towels but then not using them for hours. This created a bad atmosphere and on a few occasions we saw heated exchanges between guests.
Pros and cons:
Clean and modern rooms with great shower and bathroom but wifi in room was very patchy.
Comfortable double bed with individual duvets.
Quiet and effective air conditioning.
Balcony for drying wet trunks.
Breakfast had a good range of cereals, hot and cold food.
As mentioned in other reviews there are about 120 steps down to the sea and local harbour. This is not a problem if you are reasonably fit but there is a golf buggy which can take you down from the hotel if not. However you will need to use your mobile to call the hotel if you want a lift back up the hill!
One other annoying point was that the path down to the Spinnaker Bar looked closed with a "No Entry" sign but the towel attendant said that you could use the path but watch out for loose steps and stones. Why the hotel does not just fix the loose steps I have no idea!
Overall I would rate the hotel as 4 star, reasonable value with spectacular views.

Room Tip: We asked about a sea view but were told 30 Euro extra per night. Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SimonNS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Dear SimonNS,


Thank you for your staying in Hotel Croatia and finding time to share your experience on Trip Advisor, and for having so carefully explained all the positive and negative aspects of your stay.
We are very happy to hear that you have spent nice and enjoyable holidays with us. We hope that you will visit us again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Hotel Croatia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Hard to find any fault with hotel, however a comment regarding the electric buggies which are used to transport guests back from Cavtat.

Not always available due to being recharged, I would have thought a buggy with petrol engive or a car with 6 seats would do the job and be more reliable

Also it would be good to have a hotel phone at the bottom of the hill to beable to cahh for buggy without expensive moble calls

Overall though one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in

Room Tip: the sea view rooms cost more - the room i had was not sea view but looked through trees to harbour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackwell129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear blackwell129,

Thank you for such a positive and wonderful review of your recent stay in Hotel Croatia. We are glad to see that you have enjoyed your holidays in our hotel in every aspect, and we are truly looking forward for an opportunity to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Hotel Croatia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Just returned from a week here. 4 adults in our party booked through Thomson. Overall we had a really good time but there were definitely pros and cons...

Pros

- Short transfer from the airport.

- Cavtat is a beautiful resort. Busy and atmospheric. Not huge but more than enough for a week. Lots of bars and small restaurants along the front. Nice yachts and boats in the harbour area to look at. Drinks and food are reasonably priced.

- Hotel very clean and public areas spacious and airy despite being a bit dated. Even though the hotel was busy it never felt crowded inside.

- Modern, good sized bedroom and bathroom with good powerful showers. Decent sized balcony with chairs. Comfortable beds. Slight lack of storage for clothes but we managed.

- Had a seaview room which was worth the extra. Balcony got sun in the afternoon and evening. Spent hours enjoying the view and watched dolphins in the sea.

- Outside seating in restaurant much, much better than inside. Restaurant is too bright so feels unwelcoming but outside tables had a lovely view. Not always easy to get an outside table at peak times though.

- A day in Dubrovnik is a must. We took the bus there and a boat back. Pretty walled old town, lots of things to see.

Cons

- The walk to/from the town. This is a constant point of discussion on here and whilst all our party are in good health it did put us off having a stroll into town during the day, the heat made climbing the stairs back up exhausting. Ok to do it once a day in the evening but isn't conducive to a quick wander down for a coffee.

- The buggy situation is a joke. Most of the time they are plugged in and not being used. Sometimes they used a car to transport people up and down the hill but not always. There's no way of signalling for a buggy if you're at the bottom, so unless people are brought down and the staff notice people waiting, they don't come back. We often saw people sat on the wall in the hope a buggy would arrive only to see the same people walking up after waiting to no avail. In other words, do NOT rely on using the buggy service.

- Sunbeds by the pool. If, like us, you want to sunbathe all day then be prepared for an early start. The only sunbeds by the pool that get the sun all day are the ones on the terrace to the side of the indoor pool, all the others are partly in the shade at some point in the day. It's all the Brits who put the towels out but you're forced into doing the same to get a decent spot. Most of the beds on the terrace had gone before 8am. Same down on the front by the Spinaker restaurant, a lot of the sunbeds were shaded by trees in the afternoons.

- Both the indoor and the outdoor pool are freezing cold despite the heat of the sun.

- The staff in the hotel were efficient but not overly friendly and sometimes a bit surly. Typical of this part of Europe though.

- The advertised free Wifi in the rooms is terrible. We were on the 7th floor, so two above reception, but signal strength was poor and inconsistent. Better in the public areas, often saw lots of people sat in the reception area on laptops etc. so guess it's an issue in all the rooms. They should either address the problem with Wifi in the rooms or stop advertising it.

- Small point but on some days we had lovely big bath towels and on other days they were threadbare. Only one towel change a day so had to dry them outside on the balcony chairs overnight.

Despite it appearing there were more cons than pros, don't misunderstand me, we had a great time and would definitely recommend it. Just make sure that you take into consideration some of the drawbacks before choosing to stay here, particularly with regard to the location. Not a good choice for people with mobility issues.

If you're thinking about visiting this part of Croatia then don't hesitate to choose Cavtat.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms the best choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheshireNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2013

Dear Stirling0955,

Thank you for staying in Hotel Croatia and for having explained all of the positive and negative feelings about your stay. Your opinion is highly valuable and helps us to improve our daily service to achieve guests’ full satisfaction.
We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your room with beautiful view looking at the open sea, our public areas, restaurants, and that you took time to experience all the beauty that Dubrovnik holds.
On the other hand, we are very sorry to hear about all the less enjoyable aspects of your stay, and we apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced during your stay concerning the buggy service, Wi-Fi, staff unfriendliness and sun beds. We truly hope that all the negative aspects did not affect on your whole stay experience, and we assure you that we took a good note of your comments, and we will do our best to improve our services for the future clients.
Thank you again for your valuable comments, and we hope that we will have a chance to welcome you once again in order to improve your impressions.

Kindest regards,
Hotel Croatia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We're a 40-something couple (no kids) just back from a week at the Hotel Croatia. We wanted a quiet, lazy, easy holiday as a rest from work. Overall this was an excellent choice. It's really quick to/from airport (although the hotel - and village - is under the flight path, this isn't really a problem and I'm a noise-hater!). Hotel was large, efficient, clean and well-run. Fantastic setting overlooking the village and the bay. Room was spacious, clean and the bathroom was really nice to use (good shower, etc). We booked a room with a balcony and sea-view but perhaps not really necessary as most/all rooms appeared to be sea-facing and have balconies! Hotel is close to the village (10 mins stroll) but the steps going back up the hill to the hotel are a pain esp. in the heat (and when you're tired/full). But it's good exercise! Breakfast is quite busy when we were there (around 9.30am), but the choice is excellent, loads of stuff to choose from and all good. Somethig for everyone. Staff at breakfast are helpful and friendly. We were on B&B so ate out every night, but had a few drinks each day in the hotel (pool/bar, etc) and the drinks are expensive but you can always go into the village for better prices.
The best spots and sunbeds in the hotel pool area, south beach and on Spinaker jetty get taken very quickly at this time of year, so you have to be an early-bird to get the spot you want. Many folks clearly got up early, grabbed their spot and 'claimed it' with their towels, then went for breakfast and returned to it at their leisure. But overall it is a great place to stay as the location and overall standard of the hotel is probably the best in Cavtat. I would love to return but perhaps when it is not so busy.

Room Tip: Check if all rooms have sea views and balconies before booking - maybe unnecessary to pay extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2013

Dear Sophie L,

Thank you for staying in our hotel and finding time to share your experience on Trip Advisor.
We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your holidays in every sense, and that you are fully satisfied with all our services and facilities, especially with the location, rooms, and buffet food.
We are grateful for your valuable comments, and we hope we will get a chance to welcome you once again in Hotel Croatia.


With kindest regards from sunny Cavtat,
Hotel Croatia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have just returned from a ten day family holiday (with teenageers) at the Croatia Hotel in Cavtat. It is very convenient in every way, close to the airport and Cavtat town. The facilities are second to none. Modern interiors and well appointed sound proofed rooms. We were on the 3rd floor with an undisturbed view of the beautiful Adriatic Sea - beautiful balcony where the only noise that could be heard were from the nesting flocks of seabirds on the nearby island. The hotel staff are exceptionally friendly and very, very helpful. We enjoyed the substantial breakfasts and really every taste is catered for very efficiently considering the numbers of guests that they deal with on a daily basis. The pool and surrounding terraces are very clean - securing sunbeds is always a problem in any hotel but at least there is the option of using the beautiful lido area but do prepare yourself for the steps - quite a climb perhaps if you are less mobile. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Book rooms with sea views - well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gejni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2013

Dear gejni,

Thank you for choosing Hotel Croatia for your holidays, and for taking time to report your impressions and strong recommendations.
We are more than happy to learn that you have enjoyed everything throughout your stay with us, from the location, rooms with wonderful views overlooking the Adriatic Sea, food quality, to our staff friendliness and helpfulness.
We hope that we will have a chance to make your stay enjoyable once again, and in the meantime, we are sending our kindest regards from sunny Cavtat.

Yours sincerely,
Hotel Croatia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,187 reviews
0.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
6 mi away
Villa Dubrovnik
Villa Dubrovnik
#1 of 68 in Dubrovnik
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
Hotel Excelsior Dubrovnik
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
182 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,030 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#7 of 18 in Cavtat
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat, Konavle 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Konavle > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range: £69 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing