We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More like a 2 star hotel.” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“More like a 2 star hotel.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

Big old dated hotel which dominates the beautiful town of Cavtat with its ugly Communist concrete building.

On arrival nobody offered any help with luggage, just passed us a key card and gave no instruction on how to find out room.

The only hotel i've ever stayed in where i couldn't phsycially sleep at all due to the foolish management disabling the air conditioning in rooms & putting the heating on.
One night the room temperature reached 27 degrees.

The place is full of pensioners & international overnight stops for bus trips.

A member of reception staff refused to make a local phone call on by behalf to my holiday rep and told me to call myself from my room... then had the cheek to try charge me for the call the room.

The hallways are very remnant of footage from North Korea's buildings and decor.

Breakfast was the usual all you can eat low grade junk you get in most all inclusive hotels around the med.

At roughly £100 a night this was a total rip off & wish we just stayed in one of the local villa apartments.

Don't let this put you off visiting Cavtat as it is a beautiful town with really friendly people and nice restaurants.

My only positive comment about the place is that the cleaning staff did a good job of the rooms making the beds and cleaning the rooms daily.

Room Tip: Avoid the garden view rooms unless you want lots of insect bites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank dawson_25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    959
    255
    44
    14
See reviews for
402
1,499
35
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (917)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Snaith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We stayed on a half board basis for 2 weeks late Sept to early Oct 2013. We had a sea view room which was excellent. The room was cleaned daily and was spotless. The A/C was a bit strange and seemed to have a mind of its own. The staff were always polite, friendly and helpful. Main problem was the food. There was always plenty of choice but it was only ever warm, not hot. The 'hot' water provided for tea/coffee was occasionally hot, mostly warm and sometimes tepid! Even when we asked for a change this was no better. The sauna, spa and swimming pools are all first class. The sun bathing on the rocks on the sea front side of the hotel are very quite, peaceful and to be recommended. The steps into Cavtat are ok going down but can be a bit tiring on the upward journey. The cost of drinks in the bars are a bit excessive at twice the price of the bars and restaurants in Cavtat. The hotel is an ideal location for using as a base for exploring the rest of the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danny-Judy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We visited this hotel for my birthday in 2012 and had an excellent time so we decided to go again, we consider an upper floor room important so I requested one on the booking form and also sent an Email a few weeks before repeating my request, the reply was we will take note but cannot guarantee one, on arrival we were given a lower floor room ( 3rd floor) and were told there were no upper floor rooms with a sea view left. the next day when reception was quiet, I asked how to get an upper floor room on a future visit, the reply was "If an upper floor room is important, don't come again" the room was about the same size as last year, but the balcony was about half the size.
I have a mobility problem in one knee, especially at the end of the day, the buggy is a great help especially after our evening meal, unfortunately it is not reliable as the battery runs out and it does not run if the ground is wet, one porter who is a student came down in the hotel car one evening when it was raining, but we walked down 134 steps twice a day for 11 days and only managed to get a ride up 5 times.
This review seems like a big complaint, but the rest of the hotel was fine, rhe room was clean the breakfast was very good, as were the swimming pools unfortunatly it was not warm enough for us to use the outdoor one, but the indoor one was not cold. it is still probably the best hotel in Cavtat, We will probably take the advice of the receptionist and not go again

Room Tip: The 6th floor rooms have a a lot better view than the 3rd, but only if you pay for a sea view room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Les821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westbury England
Level Contributor
50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

If you are thinking of visiting this area of Croatia then this hotel is the best in Cavtat and has the advantage of avoiding those packed streets of Dubrovnik but can be reached by boat or bus.
The hotel is modern and spacious and spotless and the staff could not be more helpful and friendly.Many people commented in previous reviews that this is not a five star hotel perhaps because in some cases things such has tea and coffee in the room were not provided however all you have to do is ask and it will delivered The management do take notice of complaints people who leave their towels on sunbeds will have them removed after thirty minutes. The food in the main restaurant was adequate but not outstanding having said that good value for the money The views from the hotel look across the the bay to Cavtat For those who like to spend time on the room balcony a sea view room is recommended.There are 128 steps to climb from the town however you can ring tor a golf buggy anyone who has a medical condition should take into account they will probably have to use alternative facilities that are provided. We found that if there was something missing all you have to do is ask and staff will provide it within a short space of time

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SAXONY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
165 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

Hotel Croatia is a nice hotel in Cavtat. It is a great location for its easy proximity to Dubrovnik and Montenegro, without all of the craziness in Dubrovnik. The hotel sits up on a cliff overlooking the harbor in Cavtat, and the views are wonderful. It's a nice 10 minute downhill walk to the Cavtat harbor area where you will find lots of restaurants and shops. The walk back is a bit more strenuous. But if you are unable or unwilling to walk up all the steps or the steep road, you simply call the hotel and they will come down with a golf cart or vehicle and drive you back up to the hotel. This was a wonderful bonus after long and tiring days walking or hiking. The staff is good, but there isn't a concierge, just a guest services desk. It is staffed sporadically, and they seem to only want to sell you tours that they are likely affiliated with. If you just want help planning your own side trips, they were not very helpful-and candidly disinterested once they realized we didn't want a tour.

A walk into the Cavtat harbor area allows you to catch the #10 bus into Dubrovnik. It is a bit of a hike form the bus stop into the old city-about 15 minutes with, of course-lots of stairs! Be warned that the return bus picks up one street lower than it drops off, near a police station. They did not tell us that at the hotel, and we and several other visitors wasted over an hour trying to figure it out. The bus costs 20 kuna, and you can pay the driver. I wouldn't recommend trying to drive into Dubrovnik-traffic is confusing and parking is horrible. We drove to Kotor, Montenegro from the hotel in about 2 hours. It's definitely worth the drive. Take the coastal road for some beautiful scenery once you get past Herceg Novi. We also drove to Mostar from the hotel in about 3 hours.

Spend the extra money to get a room with a sea view-it is definitely worth it. They breakfast budget was included with our room, but it was horrible. The buffet is very spread out, which helped avoid lines, but the food was not good. When the oatmeal and canned peaches are the best items you know there is an issue. There is an omelet station, but never anyone working it in the 3 days we were there. The bacon was practically raw, and the eggs must be powdered. They tasted horrible and I found them indelible. There was a platter of fried eggs that looked so strange, almost like they were plastic. But those weren't horrible, but nothing great. A lot of the food is packaged, and doesn't appear to be made on site, just put in bowls and on platters. There are also a lot of tour groups that stay at this hotel, so there can be mobs of people at breakfast and gathering in the lobby. If you drive, you can have a difficult time getting to the hotel entry due to all of the buses.

The rooms themselves were nice, and the bathrooms were well designed. We did have to have engineering come each day and adjust our thermostat so it would be cool enough for sleeping. We they did that it worked fine, but it lasted only one evening and we had to do it again. The grounds are lovely. If you want a place near the 'action' yet peaceful, this is a good option.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view, preferably on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WJ2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at this lovely hotel in October and would not hesitate to return, we had a sea view room on the 4th floor with beautiful view of the Adriatic Sea and gorgeous sunsets. After reading previous reviews we were a bit apprehensive about the hotel but found it to be lovely, the staff were all very helpful and friendly, it doesn't come naturally to them to smile but this does not mean they are not friendly as soon as you smile and engage them in conversation you will soon see they will ensure you have all you need to make sure your stay is perfect, we did not see anyone whether it was reception waiters or cleaners who were not friendly! The food in the main restaurant is good with fresh fruit, lovely bread and hot food for breakfast and there was always plenty of choice for dinner you can always find something you like! One thing you need to understand about this hotel is that it is not a typical 'holiday' hotel, it also caters for conferences and weddings etc., the best way to describe it is like a city hotel in a fabulous location with a lovely outdoor pool, indoor pool and spa and also sunbathing areas on rocky areas where you can swim in the lovely clear sea and a short walk downhill into Cavtat. There are several ways to get down, either the famous steps previous reviews mention, or other steps via the outdoor pool which are less relentless as they are more spaced out, or down the slope the buggy uses, my husband and I preferred to walk back up either the steps to the pool (there is a door which opens near to the children's crèche near reception) or up the slope used by the buggy although it is steep! You can of course call for the buggy! But any route is not too bad and only takes a few minutes even accounting for stopping for a breather on the way, we saw people older than us climbing up with no problem! Cavtat is absolutely gorgeous when you first walk Down to Cavtat from the hotel you see a view of the harbour and it will take your breath away it is so beautiful! There is a lovely walk around the headland and several restaurants and bars where you can sit with a coffee or cocktail and watch people going by and the fabulous yachts! The weather wasn't too great the week We were there but this did not detract from the beauty of the place or spoil what was a lovely relaxing holiday, we would not hesitate to return! It is very rare for us to return to the same place but we will definitely return here! Just don't go to the hotel Croatia with too high an expectation and you will not be disappointed, the 5 stars relate to the services they offer not the luxury of the hotel, but I can assure you it is a lovely hotel in a fabulous place! You will have a lovely holiday!

Room Tip: A sea view room is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel 34 years ago on our Honeymoon , we decided to return this year to revisit this part of the world , the exterior of the hotel remains virtually unchanged in this time. Inside the large foyer has been modernised and de cluttered , large light and spacious , the reception staff were all extremely helpful and were all multi lingual , one member of staff even contacted a retired colleague who had worked in the hotel when we were there previously and arrange to let us see all the old photographs of the place .
We stayed in an upgraded sea view room on the first floor , with fabulous views and sunsets from our balcony. The room was very quiet and peaceful , no noise from the bars or restaurant , and exceptionally clean , our towels were changed every day and our bed sheets changed about 4 times during the week.
The restaurant was very large and busy , there was always plenty of choice and a wide selection of food at breakfast and dinner , we stayed half board as it is quite a walk down to the village in the dark , a shuttle golf buggy operates during the day !
Swimming in the sea is from steps carved into the rock, but there is an indoor and outdoor swimming pool on the upper level of this hotel .
A short walk down to the village (steep hill) to lovely cafes bars and restaurants and also a must is to take a water taxi into Dubrovnik Old Harbour.
I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone planning a holiday in Croatia.
We would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone

Room Tip: Sea view upgrade is a must .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.8 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
9.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Castelletto
Hotel Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
6.4 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#17 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Property: Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing