We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel in April on a half board basis. The room was spacious with a balcony big enough to sit out on comfortably and the location was superb. We ate breakfast and dinner in the hotel each day, the buffets were really varied and good quality and the reception and dining room staff couldn't do enough to help. I was even able to have gluten free bread each day. Cavtat is beautiful, just a pleasant stroll from the hotel and it's really easy to catch the bus into Dubrovnik for the day as well as arrange other tourist activities. Really enjoyed swimming in the indoor pool and would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank AASwain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reporting your impressions on Trip advisor page.

I can see that you truly enjoyed your holidays in our hotel including the swimming pool,room and quality of our buffet breakfast and dinner.

We hope to see you soon back in our property.
Best regards,

Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,753 - 1,759 of 2,859 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

There's not a lot of positives to write about this hotel...

The location is good, an easy 10' stroll to the restaurants & bars along the marina and a lot of sea-view rooms with great outlooks towards the sea... and that's about it..!

The hotel itself is a large concrete monstrosity, probably designed by a former eastern-block engineer rather than an architect...

I can't really fault the room itself as it was nice and had everything you've come to expect in a half-decent hotel.

The let-down in this case was the customer service (or lack thereof). The room was supposed to have free wi-fi but we couldn't pick up a signal inside the room. When we mentioned this to front desk staff they pretty much shrugged their shoulders and said they'd have to call a technician, who never came... On the common areas in the lobby it was possible to connect to wi-fi and we saw a number of other guests using their devices there.
Reading other reviews on tripadvisor, we found that a few other people experienced the same issue (i.e. No wi-fi signal in the room but connectivity while in the lobby). I could be wrong but it would seem that it is a deliberate strategy (to what purpose -cost saving perhaps???- I'm not sure!).

We paid a slightly higher rate for our room to have a few extra things (complimentary bottle of wine, better toiletries, etc.) but they weren't there on arrival. When we approached front desk about it, they knew nothing of it and asked for our booking/confirmation email. Even after we provided them with this we only got half of what we paid for.

Reception was unable to provide us with an adaptor to charge our devices and when asked if there was anywhere we could but one, again the response was a shrug of their shoulders: "not in Cavtat". While I think it is our responsibility to travel with adaptors, I also think that it is hardly a big ask for a 5-star hotel to stock a few multi-country adaptors to provide to their guests. In the event, we found a place in town -contrary to the staff's advise- where we bought an adaptor...

When called reception to organise a wake up call, the overall demeanour of the employee was that of barely contained annoyance at having to deal with our request.

Overall, I'd rate this hotel as "average" at best, not in regards to the facilities themselves which were good, but mostly based on the service received, particularly from front-desk staff. I guess the place is targeted for package-holiday customers with perhaps less expectations -or more services included in their package- than independent travelers. But in my opinion, most definitely not 5-star service..!

In summary, I wouldn't stay here again if I were to return to Cavtat.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Wilster737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reporting your comments on Trip Advisor.

We highly appreciate all your comments, as they offer us a chance to improve our services for all the future guests.
We are very sorry to hear that you did not find the service in Hotel Croatia up to 5 star standards, and that some aspects of your stay were disappointing and less enjoyable.

We can promise you that we are working continuously on improving our services , and hopefully we will have an opportunity to welcome you again to improve your impressions and meet your full expectations.

Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We are leaving today and cannot fault this hotel.

Stayed in room 808 overlooking the sea. Classed as a deluxe room. Large comfortable bed. Excellent toiletries. Dressing gowns and slippers. View fab.

Staff very helpful. Breakfast great. Plenty of choice. Did not have dinner but excellent restaurants in Cavtat. Deseeka and Dolium great.

The staff seem to take pride in giving excellent service.

Room Tip: Pay extra for sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank xanmik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reporting your impressions on Trip advisor page and for recommending our establishment strongly to the readers.

I can see that you truly enjoyed your holidays in our hotel including the quality of our buffet breakfast as well as the employee’s attitude and the comfort and the view of your room.

We hope to see you soon back to the lovely Cavtat.
Thank you again for you valuables comments and best regards,

Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

First the positives...we had a nice room overlooking the sea! The hotel is in a good location a short walk from the main part of town.

Other than that this hotel is not that special, it's a monstrosity of a place that caters mainly to package holidays. The attitude of the staff matches this...there is no personal touch, no smiles, no feeling that you are welcome here.

We paid extra to have a few nice touches in the room which was a waste as we didn't get them and politely complaining got us nowhere! Also the wifi signal in the hotel is terrible and non-existent in the rooms.

We only ate breakfast here, it was ok but again...this place is for package holidays so it's a massive dining room with a buffet.

We wouldn't stay here again but if you're looking for an all inclusive holiday in a big hotel it's not bad.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SAB2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for reporting your impressions on Trip Advisor.

I am really sorry to hear about the disappointing aspects of your stay but we took a good note of your comments, especially concerning staff attitude, and we can promise you that we will do our best to improve in every aspect, so hopefully you can visit us again and see the improvements for yourself.

Kind regards,

Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

I just returned from a week's stay in the Hotel Croatia and enjoyed every minute of my stay. As other posters have said, this is not a 5 star hotel really, it's more like a 4 star. Initially the hotel is very impressive, however there is a lack of warmth and small touches that would turn it from a concrete jungle into a top-end retreat (vast walls without paintings, plain brown carpets etc etc)

Very fast and efficient check-in, all the staff in the hotel are very friendly and warm.

Our room was spotless and very well appointed. There was a problem with wifi in the room, I said it at Reception and next day the maintenance man had put a router in the room-super service.

As April is quite early in the year the outdoor pool and some of the restaurants were not open. The main bar in the hotel is very pleasant with a pianist playing for four out of the seven nights of our stay. The prices are VERY high though.

We opted for Half Board as we got it for a very good price of €10 each per night. To be honest that is all it was worth, it really was rather hit and miss. We ended up eating to fill ourselves, rather than to enjoy the food. The restaurants in Cavtat are not cheap though as it is quite an exclusive little place so it suited our pockets to eat in the hotel. Breakfast was fine with all the usuals on offer.

As I have already stated the staff were all very nice and there was never a problem getting the buggy down/up the hill. You just ring the hotel from the bottom of the hill and they will send it down straight away to collect you. The incline up to the hotel really is steep, it was actually easier to up the steps rather than the path.

I used the gym one day and was very disappointed. There is only one of every machine! There were no towels there and the air-conditioning was off!! All very poor and not 5 star.

I would stay in this hotel again though as the location is just perfect....the views from the public areas are breath-taking and a quiet night's sleep is guaranteed.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MMMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We booked a last minute break and for the price paid this hotel seemed good value. However we did stay in April and so many of the facilities were not up and running eg outdoor pool, beach restaurant, nightclub, and golf buggy service up the steep hill. We had a nice room with sea view. The hotel was very hot during our stay and despite complaining 3 times we had to have our balcony door wide open at all times and still the temperature didn't drop below 24 degrees. They said the heating is centrally controlled so nothing we could do. We also noticed that cups and glasses were not changed. The indoor pool complex is nice but we found the water temperature too cold for casual swimming. The hotel breakfast was plentiful and varied. We had the buffet dinner in the hotel one evening and ate in the steak house one night. Both were good food though much more expensive compared to the wide variety of restaurants in Cavtat where we ate on other evenings. Cavtat is beautiful and despite mostly cloudy and overcast weather, we enjoyed our holiday. Dubrovnik is stunning and we visited 3 times.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Butterfly99Redhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My wife and I spent the last day of our one week visit to The Dalmatian coast (Dubrovnik, Lopud, and Cavtat) in the 5 star Hotel Croatia. We had stayed in two other hotel during the week, Hotel Lapad (Dubrovnik) and Hotel Lafodia (Lopud) both 4* star hotels however both these hotel were far superior than Hotel Croatia.

On arrival Easter Sunday morning a not overly friendly man at reception informed us that our room was not ready yet, but he would see if he could find another room for us. I assured him we would prefer to wait for our room and that we would visit the spa and swimming pool while our room was being prepared. Leaving our luggage with the friendly concierge we headed for the spa. The girls at the spa reception were very friendly and helpful. The spa facilities, sauna and steam room and salt water swimming are very good, with amazing sea views, however the swimming pool area needs updating and some maintenance.

Back to our bedroom, we were greeted with a stale cigarette-smoke smell on entering our room. The chair had a cigarette burn. The mini bar fridge was filthy dirty with a broken door and layer of mould built up on the inside. I used the fridge only to store some cheeses I was bringing home!
General maintenance is required in this hotel to improve the standard - a touch of paint, fix broken lights, etc... We stayed on the ground floor in room 8.

We ate only breakfast in hotel Croatia. This was fine. We departed without being asked by the female receptionist had we enjoyed our stay.

Hotel Croatia is situated in a fantastic picturesque location and with some improvements to maintenance would be a nicer place to stay. My biggest complaint would be the poor communication, unfriendliness and unprofessional manner of the staff at reception. First impressions!!! We would stay here again but not before we try somewhere else in Cavtat, maybe another hotel or guesthouse!

Room Tip: Request a clean, no smoking room. Not Room 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 00Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,

I am sorry to read through your comments that you had a bad experience with our front desk people.

I personally apologize for all inconvenient during your stay in our hotel.
I would like that you have contacted me personally while you were in the hotel in order to fix immediately the inconvenient you suffered from.

We will take all of your comments into consideration, and do our best to improve our services in every aspect.

I truly hope that you will give us a second chance to change your impression about the genuine Croatian hospitality and I will be glad to meet you personally upon your eventual return.

Kind regards,

Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
9.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#7 of 18 in Cavtat
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 18 in Cavtat
269 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat, Konavle 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Konavle > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range: £89 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing