We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing scenery”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Amazing scenery”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The Hotel Croatia was in an amazing setting in Cavtat in Croatia, built into the rock face the hotel is beautiful, 5 star, maybe not, more like a 4 star, the good points.... lots of food choice on both breakfast and dinner, lots of fruit, even though most was frozen fruit, lots of salad and lots of pasta dishes, i am not a big meat eater but there was meat available, the fish was not as good as i was hoping but it was fine for 10 days. Restaurant staff were ok some days but on other days they were to busy chatting to each other to bother with guests, however the door staff into the restaurant were lovely. Most rooms have a sea view and it was amazing, cruise ships passing every day and the most beautiful yachts passing every day. Nudist beach if you prefer but plenty of other places to sit or sun bath with clothes on. The hill is a little steep and the 127 steps down to the center were a killer on hot days, but i got pretty good at them by the end of my holiday. there is however a golf buggy that will run you up and down all day. Cavtat itself is beautiful and the small town center amazing, but if i return i will go private and self catering as everything outside the hotel was cheap. Bad points ..... none really, the alcohol was expensive in the hotel but nice, the food was tasteless but ok and the rooms were clean and comfortable, so not really many complaints, we enjoyed our holiday immenesley and will return to Cavtat in the future.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra for a sea view, lovely .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BirminghamChrissy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Birmingham Chrissy
Thank you for your wonderful words concerning your recent stay with us.
We are more than happy to see that you truly enjoyed your stay in our hotel, from your room, to our services, food and location.
We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome you once again in our hotel, and in the meantime we are sending our warmest regards.
With best regards,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,438 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,129
    992
    259
    44
    14
See reviews for
414
1,558
37
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (950)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cwmbran, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Put us in a tiny room at the back of the hotel with a view of mud and broken trees despite paying through Thomson for a sea view room. Hotel staff said Thomson hadn't told them we had paid for a sea view room and it was up to us to prove it!!!! Logged into my thomson account using the computer provided but couldn't print it as no printer. I called a reception member of staff to show them I had booked a sea view room but was told that unless I gave them a print out of my booking they wouldn't change my room - THERE WASN'T A PRINTER! After being messed around for almost half an hour I became angry and told them if they had a problem with my booking they should contact Thomson themselves but they wouldn't.
Eventually a young woman came over and told me in a patronising voice not to worry!!! She told me I didn't need to print my booking and reception was prepared to give me my sea view room which I had booked. However, when I went to reception again they were still insisting on a print- out of my booking. The young lady in question had to copy and paste my booking onto their system before I was given the room I had paid for, which by the way was definitely NOT a La Carte more a good 3*. The whole fiasco took almost an hour to resolve.
staff were really miserable and food mediocre - all fried meat and potatoes but they did provide loads of salad stuff. There was a 2/3 day business conference going on when we were there and to get to the indoor or outdoor pool you had to run the gauntlet of dozens of business people and their stalls - not at all nice when you are in your swimming costume. Holding a business conference in a so called 5* holiday hotel is not something I would have expected and was not told about this by Thomson.
Although small Cavtat was beautiful and would go back there again. Sad thing is, Hotel Croatia has the best views in Cavtat.

Room Tip: Make sure you book a sea view room on a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank poppiedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Just returned from a week at this hotel. Having read previous reviews we were not sure what to expect. We had a room with land view. Good choice. Cool all day and if you want the views walk to the pool area. Air conditioning quiet. We had no problem with the steps getting to the bay area. Simple, just ask a porter for a lift in a buggy and ask him to meet you at a particular time. Worked every time, great service. Staff friendly and helpful at all times. All spoke English. Use bar at happy prices time. 30% off. We had no problem with a loungers at the pool. Sign displayed saying your stuff would be removed from a lounger if you were away for more than half an hour. There were always 2 available. We used this area from 4.30 PM to 6.30 PM perfect time of the day to soak up some last rays. Breakfast good, evening meal not great, Not much variation, typical buffet. TV is poor only the odd English language programme apart from the BBC world news, Euronews and CNN. Lots of walks with nice viewing points all around the hotel and Cavtat. Would I stay here again? yes.
Ferry to Dubrovnik best option from Cavtat town promenade. Watch out for ticket sellers offering indirect or extras. Unless you want them the fare is 80 Kuhna return. Bus OK, 50 Kunha return but you have to walk quite a bit. Bus back at lower Cable Car station. (you have to find it first) If you want to meet 30,000+ other tourists and eat at 100's of restaurants then this is the place to go! Be mindful it is 100 Kuhna each to walk the walls. Dubrovnik would be great to visit without the tourists and don't go when the Cruise boats are in, then you will meet 40,000+ other tourists. In my view not worth the effort. Buy a postcard!

Room Tip: When I return I will ask for a 9th floor land view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarneyM20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear BarneyM20
Thank you for reporting impressions of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor.
We highly value all of your comments, and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you to exceed your expectations.
With best regards,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Codsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

If you are going on holiday to Croatia, go to Dubrovnik. And if you are going to Dubrovnik, stay at the Hotel Croatia, in nearby Cavtat. Here is a list of reasons why. It's easy to get to from the airport, the hotel looks impressive inside and out (we thought it was a bit like a Bond-lair !), the food is always great (go to the steak house at least once !), the beach area in the bay is beautiful, Cavtat is the perfect small coastal town, Cavtat has a carnival in the first week of July, Dubrovnik and the islands are a short(ish) and scenic boat ride away, Bosnia and Montenegro are within easy reach, the staff are super-helpful, the spa is modern and the treatment list is really long (great if you have a rare cloudy day) and the views from the seafront rooms is stunning.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyGiddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Andy Giddingy
Thank you very much for this lovely comments and we are very glad that we have fulfilled your expectations. We are very glad that you enjoyed in our Hotel in every aspect, and we couldn't be happier. Thank you for being our guests and we are looking forward to welcome you in nearest future in Hotel Croatia.
Warmest regards,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
141 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

This is a huge hotel, but the location is perfect with wonderful rocky beaches on the backside of the hotel. We had booked a room with seaview and it was absolutely amazing to sit on the balcony and look on sunset, or just the sun shining on the sea, or the moonshine on evenings. Breakfast is perfect, ther is everything you can wish. Just a few thing could be better. Outside swimmingpool area is partly in shadow and very narrow. There is difficult to walk around the pool because of the sunbeds. And the hotels drinks are a lot more expensive as in town.....

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MariaM13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Hotel Croatia does not match the description given on the web. The room was dirty and old. The bathroom was in extremely poor condition. There were few sunbeds.
The only thing that was good in the hotel was the spa which was clean, modern and quiet.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay at this hotel say that you do not want to have room 715.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A24740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Not the 5 star hotel we expected our bedroom was situated under the leisure club which proved to be very noisy from about 5am till late at night
Position of hotel not ideal as their is over 120 steps down to the sea front area or a very steep hill to walk very tiring at the end of the day.Good selection of food available if you like serve yourself buffet style, miserable dining room staff must learn how to smile and make you feel welcome Overall rating of hotel mediocre compared to other 5 star rated hotels I have stayed at we would not return

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rodney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear Rodney S
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion regarding hotel Croatia with Trip Advisor.
It is corect that Hotel Croatia is located on the hill, as well that there are many stairs, but in our offer there is buggy transport free of charge. We feel very sorry that you weren't happy with food in the main restaurant and with staff attitude.
Thank you once again for your comments, and we hope that you will give us another opportunity to welcome you to exceed your expectations.
With best regards,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
0.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.4 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,884 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Property: Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing