We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday in Cavtat, Croatia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We stayed for a week at the Hotel Croatia in Cavtat, Nr Dubrovnik. The hotel was very clean. On arrival at the hotel we were greeted by one of the concierges who offered to help us with our cases. They were always on hand during our stay.
The hotel is situated on the hillside overlooking the Adriatic Ocean and the Cavtat bay which is beautiful place, especially in the evenings. Lovely restaurants, bars and shops stay open til late and the people are all very friendly.

Hotel food was good with plenty of choice.

Bedroom was good and clean and the shower was excellent!
I felt the balcony let the quality of the room down. Just needed a bit of TLC but apart from that all was good.

The pool area was very nice as was the pool. There was no problem getting a subbed and the area was secluded and quiet.

If you are planning a trip to Croatia, then this is a good place to stay with boats to Dubrovnik leaving every hour and it is a nice 40 minutes on the water. The boats run up until about 10pm in the summer and can be booked easily down in the bay.

Overall the hotel was good, food was good, amenities were good and the staff on the whole were friendly and warm.

I would recommend this as a good place to stay.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room with a sea view, it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank AndyHoughton994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Andy Houghton 994,
We would like to thank you for staying in hotel Croatia, and for taking time to write such a positive review.
We can see through your comments that you really enjoyed your stay in our Hotel in every aspect, and we are so happy about it.
We do hope that you will visit our hotel again, and until then, we are sending our warmest regards from Cavtat!

Yours sincerly,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,639 - 1,645 of 2,859 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

We had booked a superior room which we were led to believe would easily accommodate 3 people. It transpired that the bed my daughter was expected to sleep on us was a pull out chair. Put simply this was a room for 2 max with limited room to open a case much less anything else. We sought to upgrade to a suite which we could avail of at e60 extra per night. Whilst this room was much better space wise, the shower had no door with water spraying everywhere.
Breakfast was ok, although no fresh juices and a stop time of 10.30 meant no late lie ins.
We only used the saltwater pool twice as it was mostly shaded throughout the day, the man made cement 'beach' was very good if a little tight for space, with swimming area and vista wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Naylorly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Naylorly,
Thank you very much for sharing you impressions on hotel Croatia with Trip advisor.
We are saddened to read that your experience in relation to the hotel rooms amenities did not meet your expectations. We are very sorry for the inconvenience you had experienced in your room you, but we can promise you that this will not happen again.
We would like to have an opportunity to welcome you once again in our hotel, and in the meantime we are sending our warmest regards.

Kind regards,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We have stayed in this hotel 4 times & once in another Cavtat hotel. This hotel is by far the best. Our first trip was in 2004, and we have seen growing confidence in establishing itself as a very good 5 star hotel (but not pretentious ). Great location, spectacular views, great facilities, good breakfast, spotlessly clean. Staff efficiently friendly. The village is picture postcard, and hopefully will retain its charm and character, which is its USP. That's what has brought us back so many times.

Stayed: August 2013
2  Thank Tomb70000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Tomb70000,
Thank you for visiting us for the fourth time, and thank you for such lovely comments.
We are happy to see that you enjoyed in our lacation, spectacular views, as well our facilities and food.
Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to be your hosts again in the future.

Yours sincerly,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This Hotel is an architectural masterpiece. Built between 1971 and 1973 during the communist regime dictatorship of Marshal Tito, this building is of a type which could never have been built by capitalists working to satisfy their shareholders. It is an extravagant exercise in modernist principles. It is not exactly grand (I have seen more impressive hotel lobbies than that of Hotel Croatia), neither is there much extravagant use of expensive material. What the architect Slobodan Miličević does give us, is a design which is both complex and subtle. Miličević works with concrete in a fluid and plastic way. There are very few right angles in this building. Where a flat plane would be the norm, Miličević cants it at an angle, or throws it into a curve. He textures concrete, either by revealing the form-work or, with beautiful vorticist inspired mouldings. He demonstrates his skills sparingly, never overburdening the structure with unnecessary detail. Make no mistake, this building is a monster. It contains 487 bedrooms and suites comprising (according to the brochure), 178 classic rooms, 270 superior rooms, 32 deluxe rooms, 2 junior suites, 3 executive suites, an ambassador suite, and a presidential suite. It has conference capacity for 850 people, including the `Ragusa` conference room (seating 850) and various other smaller conference spaces. The hotel has 2 pools, indoor and outdoor of modest size, a gym, a spa, a large dining hall and subsidiary restaurants. Yet, it is hardly visible from the picturesque little seaside village of Cavtat. The result is Miličević’s stroke of genius. The hotel is placed on a small peninsula opposite the village of Cavtat. Miličević hid the bulk of the hotel accommodation on the cliffs on the opposite side of the hill from the village and threads the working areas into the woods so that views of Cavtat can be seen from most of the public areas of the hotel. Miličević designed the seaward cliff-side part of the hotel to resemble an ocean liner. This is an uncompromising essay in concrete brutalism which might not be to everyone’s taste. Here all ten floors have suites with a sea view, a generous balcony and window box planter. The reception area of the hotel is practical, spacious, quite understated and not designed to impress. However, immediately behind a mosaic decorated reception desk, are sea views. Miličević’s light touch with concrete is nowhere better viewed than in this area. Structural support for the floors above is given by short walls set at varying angles and decorated by well executed concrete reliefs. The style is Socialist era, Vorticist abstraction, which ought to look dated and oppressive but is not... etc. I thought the food and service was excellent...

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank bob p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My boyfriend and I have just returned from a week stay at this hotel and overall, we had a lovely time. The hotel is situated around 10 minutes from the airport so I would recommend getting a taxi transfer rather than coach transfer where you run the risk of waiting a long time in peak season and it isnt worth it for the short journey you have.

I had emailed ahead of our trip and asked for a room above 5th floor as recommended but we were given one on the 4th floor (427) which was fine and had a lovely sea view. Unfortunately it was an interconnecting room and we could clearly hear the room next door at certain times, including 7am one morning which woke us up which is far from ideal on holiday! We also seemed to be underneath a communal area ( Reception etc is on 5th floor) and were woken in the early hours by the noise of the moving of furniture and high heels clicking on the floor which must has been staff/cleaners. So I would advise against this room if possible even though the views and the room itself was really nice.
The spa area is the nicest part of the hotel, really clean and modern and I took advantage of a treatment which was really good too.
The hotel pool area and pool restaurant are also good, we ate there a couple of times and food was really nice. It can be difficult to get a sunbed at times as people tend to reserve them with towels all day and then dont turn up for hours which is frustrating- later in the day is OK though.

We stayed on a HB basis and the food was OK, not great and so we ate out a couple of times and also at the steak restaurant which was really good, although I was annoyed we weren't given a discount voucher by the hotel. The first night was really underwhelming as we arrived around 9pm and it seems most people eat earlier than this so it wasnt very busy and staff were setting up for breakfast so was't a great start. If we had been able to do B&B then I would def do that if given the choice again as there are plenty of nice restaurants in town.

At breakfast, staff didn't seem to be able to clear tables away quick enough at peak times which was a little frustrating when sitting at dirty tables and they also didn't seem to like to offer you tea/coffee anytime after 10am even though breakfast is until 10:30am so people continually requesting it but that's being picky, overall service was fine.

The hotel itself is really big, huge in fact and so the biggest negative we found was that there were vast amounts of space that were complete derelict, cold and old fashioned compared to the modern looking area of the pool and spa. You walk through so much space getting to these communal areas and cant help but think they could do so much with it but it would require money, which i can only guess they don't have, not at the moment anyway. Hopefully they can invest in the future so the whole hotel as the same feel as the nicer more modern areas.

The town of Cavtat itself is beautiful and the views from the hotel are amazing. We went through to Dubrovnik twice which is stunning,really enjoyed it. We went once on a boat from a company on the harbour and the second time by bus which was also really easy and cheap.
We had glorious sunshine our whole week and so were never short of things to do or places to go, I'm not too sure what you would do if you had bad weather though as there isnt much happening in the hotel and there are quite a few steps up/down to beach area and the town (although there is a golf buggy picking up and dropping off regularly)

Overall we absolutely loved Croatia, loved Cavtat and really liked the hotel. We would stay there again but not half board and definitely in a room above 5th floor level

Room Tip: Above 5th Floor Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank princess_sparkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear princess_sparkle,
Thank you for reporting impressions of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor. We highly value all of your comments.
We are very sorry that you did not have discount voucher for a la carte restaurant, and that you did not find our services up to the 5 stars standard, but we are happy that overall you did have enjoyable stay with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in Hotel Croatia, and in the meantime we are sending our warmest regards from Cavtat.

Yours sincerly,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This hotel is lovely. My partner and I stayed here for a week and were certainly not disappointed. We had a room which overlooked the sea which was beautiful. The room was spacious and clean. We never used the pool area but the beach was a great place to sunbathe. It was never very busy and you could always find a quite space.
We booked half board but I wouldn't recommend this. The breakfasts were very good a big variety with something that would suit anyone but the dinners weren't as good. We ended up eating out every night apart from the first night we arrived.
The hotel is located up a hill so if you are fit you can walk up and down to the town it only takes about 5 mins but there are over 120 steps each way,however the hotel do put on a buggy service which will drop you off and pick you up at the bottom of the hill free of charge.
I would definitely recommend this hotel if you are staying in cavtat.

Room Tip: Choose a room which looks over the sea. Views are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Laura W,
We would like to thank you for staying with us, and for writing this lovely review about Hotel Croatia. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed in our hotel Croatia.
We are very happy to know that you enjoyed our breakfast, but we are very sorry that you did not like our dinner in the main restaurant.
Thank you for being our guests and we are looking forward to meeting you again soon in hotel Croatia.

Yours sincerly,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel in the last couple of weeks. Transfer to the hotel takes around 10 minutes. This obviously means that you can hear and clearly see the aeroplanes going over the hotel. This didn't really bother us but it's not something we had considered when booking.
When we arrived at the hotel we had to wait an hour for the room to be ready. We were told that the rooms aren't normally ready until 2pm but they would do their best to get it sorted as soon as possible. We arrived in the hotel around 10am so we were told to come back in an hour. We were a little disappointed with this and noticed that this seemed to happen a lot during our stay.
We stayed on a half board basis. The food and the service were very good. There was always a good choice of meals although it did get a bit samey towards the end if the week.
Another thing that we hadn't considered was the lack of beach. The (fairly uncomfortable) sunbeds are arranged along a harbour area(down the 100+ steps) During the day the majority of the sunbeds go into the shade of the trees behind the sunbeds, so unless you are keen to get up and put your towel on the sunbed at the crack if dawn to get a bed at the front, you will have to move around to different beds to get a bed in the sun. Sunbeds in the hotel complex are crammed in like sardines but are less shaded.
The hotel is within easy walking distance to restaurants, shops and bars but if you have any mobility issues you will be reliant on the golf buggy that runs regularly between the hotel and the harbour.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jubes1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear jubes1,
Thank you for finding time to report your impressions of your recent stay in our hotel!
We hope that you will choose our Hotel as your holiday destination in the future, and give us an apportunity to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
9.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#8 of 18 in Cavtat
289 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 18 in Cavtat
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat, Konavle 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Konavle > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range: £90 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing