We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another stunning Croatian location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Somerset
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Another stunning Croatian location”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Just back from our fourth holiday in Croatia, we just can't get enough of this beautiful Country. First visit to Cavtat and hopefully not our last. Cavtat is a charming fishing village set amongst dramatic scenery close enough to Dubrovnik to visit easily by boat or on the no 10 bus, but far enough away from this busy but beautiful and interesting city to enjoy a quieter holiday in a more genteel environment. Hotel Croatia is a large imposing hotel set in beautiful gardens, discreetly hidden by trees. It has several areas for sunbathing and relaxing, we most enjoyed the area by the Spinnaker bar where a gentle breeze blew from the sea. I have read differing reports about the friendliness of staff and facilities at the Hotel, but I couldn't fault the friendliness and service of any member of staff. Special thanks goes to Ana, Maitre d'Hotel, who, when my husband was poorly, couldn't have been more caring in providing tea and toast in our room rather than facing the fantastic breakfast buffet service. And talking of food, there was a huge selection to suit every palate. I would like to take this opportunity to thank Mariana the Cosmos Rep, not only was she caring and supportive of all her clients, arranging for an English speaking Doctor - Nick - to attend to my husband, but there was never any pressure selling of excursions, her sole aim being to make her clients happy. If I had a negative about anything regarding this hotel it would be the 'dodgy' gym kit - all could do with some maintenance, but then why use a treadmill when there are plenty of tracks for walking and running around the Village and with the weather being decidedly dodgy these past few weeks no excuses that it is too hot!!

Room Tip: Sea view room - level 4 and above
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SomersetGymbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear SomersetGymbunny,
Thank you for staying with us and for posting some very positive comments. We are glad that you liked our hotel, facilities and location. We are thrilled and proud to see that we succeeded in meeting your full expectations. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcome you again soon.
Yours sincerly
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,203
    1,059
    276
    49
    15
See reviews for
440
1,674
36
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,011)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

We stated at the Hotel Croatia for one week and could not be more happy. They have every facility you can possibly imagine. Also, they drive you to the beach in golf cars!
You may also do really cool stuff like diving, jet-skiing, etc.
in case you are in the mood for something other than relaxing.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Stian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Stian R
Thank you for staying with us and for posting some very positive comments. We are glad that you liked our hotel, facilities and location. We are thrilled and proud to hear that we succeeded in meeting your full expectations. Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Yours sincerly
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights after driving down the coast from Split. Would definitely recommend staying in Cavtat rather than Dubrovnik town. This hotel is perched on the cliff just a 10 minute walk from Cavtat centre. We asked for a sea view room and weren’t disappointed, waking up to the sound of the swallows and the ocean in the morning was lovely. The rooms were clean and the hotel staff were very helpful. The quality of the breakfast wasn’t as good as other hotels we have stayed at but there was still a good selection. You can walk along the coast path near the hotel which is good for exploring the nearby area.

I would also recommend hiring a car and driving to Montenegro instead of doing a guided tour. We had no problem at the border, 15 minute wait and took about 1 hour to drive from the hotel to The Lady on the Lake in Montenegro. Montenegro is even more spectacular than Croatia for scenery and shouldn’t be missed! It’s one coast road all the way from Hotel Croatia to Kotor and no map is needed. Look in your hire car documents for a Green card and show this at the border.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank lilgreeny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Lilgreeny
Thank you for staying with us and for posting such lovely comments. We are pleased that you found the hotel to have friendly and helpful staff and that the location was suitable for you. We do hope that you will visit our hotel again, and until then, we are sending you warm regards from Cavtat!
Yours sincerly
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

This is a large but fabulously positioned and essentially well run hotel. It has fantastic sea views so always ask for a sea view room. Our deluxe room on 8th floor was spacious, spotless, good bathroom, comfy bed and nice toiletries. The mini bar was only replenished once but to be fair we didn't raise it with mgt as our trip was only a 4 night one. Lovely 'beach' areas, good pool, fab sunbathing, dining and chill out area down in the harbour. Pool towels not available till 10am which is a bit late. We didn't eat in the many restaurants apart from breakfast - which was good - as there is so much lovely choice in Cavtat harbour. Lots of steps from harbour up to the hotel but there is a very regular golf buggy for those who can't or don't want to walk. Highly recommended, very, very good value and will return.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank Rach1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Rach1310
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and would like to thank you for your review.
We do hope that you will visit our hotel again, and until then, we are sending you warm regards from Cavtat!
Yours sincerly
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We stayed here as a family over Easter ( 2 adults and boys aged 7 and 10). It was a wonderful experience from beginning to end. The hotel is magnificent; huge and beautifully positioned, it sits on a cliff overlooking the beautiful village of Cavtat with incredible sea views. Walking around the perimeter of the hotel is breathtaking, with platforms overlooking the ocean cut out of the stone and walks through the woods.

It was too cold to use the outdoor pool so we used the indoor one. Though perhaps a little chilly, swimming in seawater was a refreshing experience. Our room on the 5th floor had stunning views and the 100+ steps to town and back were a great excuse to treat ourselves to ice cream from the gelateria along the seafront!

All the staff at the hotel were respectful and courteous. When we had to arrange for a doctor to see my son they could not have been more helpful. At Easter we were left gifts of beautifully hand painted eggs in our rooms.

We stayed half board and the food was fine. We appreciated the soups, salads and seafood and were introduced to lots of different food combinations that were fun to try out. A special mention to the restaurant manager (Ana I think?) a lovely, caring woman who was so attentive when my clumsy son split soup over himself. All the restaurant staff were similarly friendly especially Ania who worked so hard but always greeted us (and particularly my sons) with a lovely smile.

Cavtat is gorgeous. We were so glad we chose to stay here rather than busy Dubrovnik. Cavtat has reasonably priced cafes, restaurants and ice cream parlours and a great little supermarket and bakery. The ferry to Dubrovnik was a fun experience but it was definitely quicker (and cheaper) to go by bus. Dubrovnik fascinated our children with its city walls walk, cable car and quaint little shops. We were all moved by the war memorial room's tributes to the people that lost their lives defending Dubrovnik. Better than a history lesson at school anyday! It was also refreshing to be in a part of the world with no McDonalds, Starbucks or KFC!

We hired a car from Michael (travel agent opposite the supermarket) for a good rate and drove to Montenegro for the day.

I would highly recommend Cavtat and Dubrovnik to anyone. It doesn't matter what your age, it's an experience everyone will enjoy. And Hotel Cavtat is the place to enjoy it. So much so that we are booking a holiday for my parents there in a few months and we will definitely go back as there was so much we didn't get see.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Msholidayaddict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Msholidayaddict
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback concerning your stay in our Hotel in April. It is so nice of you that still remember spent time with us even you are stayed few month ago. We can see through your comments that you really enjoyed your stay in our hotel Croatia in every aspect and we couldn't be happier.
We do hope you will choose our hotel as your holiday destination in the future and give us an opportunity to welcome you again.
Yours sincerly
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We had such a lovely stay in Croatia, mainly down to it being the most beautiful place! The hotel was lovely, the room was clean and very modern with the best sea view(definitely get a sea view; so worth it to sit out on the balcony late at night looking at the view!) food was absolutely beautiful every night fresh salad and didn't have the same food twice! We tried the a la carte restaurant by the sea front which was lovely but mainly due to the location, not really worth it money wise(although you do get two money off vouchers to use). Advise getting the bus to Dubrovnik rather than bus if you get sea sick as very wavy and pretty long journey by boat! Weather is hit and miss had a cloudy/rainy two days but still happy chill in the bars if Cavtat :-) only negative was that the hotel was full of business men in suits looking at me funny for being in my swimwear... Was not impressed! All in all would definitely recommend to all as it is a lovely place with very friendly people.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Georgiaaae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Georgiaaae
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.
We would like to have an opportunity to welcome you once again in our hotel, and in the meantime we are sending our warmest regards.
Kind regards,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We recently spent a week at the Hotel and were greeted by professional helpful staff. Our room was on the 8th floor, it was clean and spacious. We chose not to have a sea view as we were out enjoying the hotel facilities and Cavtat throughout the day. The hotel is very smart, buffet food is not what we would chose usually but we were very pleased with standard, quality and variety for breakfast and evening meal. The view from the outside terrace dining was fantastic. The staff were all friendly and very helpful. The buggies are a bonus for anyone requiring a lift to the shore rather than attempting the steep steps. The inside and outside pools are very smart and maintained to a very high standard. There are some lovely relaxing lounge areas around the hotel grounds. We would not hesitate to return to hotel and have recommended to our friends for a September Holiday. Cavtat is one of the most beautiful, safe friendly relaxing places we have ever stayed.

Room Tip: From what we saw the sea view rooms sound wonderful, we had a garden view room which didn't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank maryrose47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Maryrose47
Thank you for such lovely comments and thank you for staying with us. We are very glad to see that you liked our Hotel, our location, rooms and swimming pool area. Thank you for your recommendation and we do hope you will visit us soon in hotel Croatia.
Yours sincerly
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,063 reviews
0.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
9.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 18 in Cavtat
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#9 of 18 in Cavtat
262 reviews
9.8 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Property: Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing