We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We are spending a week at this hotel and are very impressed with the facilities. The indoor and outdoor pools are super but wish the indoor pool was heated.
Our room is large and the bed is comfortable. We've got a beautiful sea view. The room is not luxurious though.
The hotel is perched on a hill and you need to be fit to climb up and down to the sea and the town.
We've enjoyed staying in Cavtat which is a beautiful little port. You can get a water bus to Dubrovnik which takes about 45 minutes.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a sea view definitely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JeanYorkuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,586 - 1,592 of 2,859 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

For me and my husband this was the perfect hotel for a number of reasons. First, it was relatively small with only 90 rooms therefore more intimate. Second it was the perfect location in Cavtat, being on the coast road, not halfway up a steep hill and near enough but not too near Cavtat itself for accessibility. Third, no children, Fourth, the rooftop terrace and pool were never overcrowded and the view was lovely. Fifth, staff were friendly, Sixth it was contemporary, clean and comfortable. Finally, it was amazing value. The buffet food was average, but who needs hotel food when Cavtat is full of lovely restaurants. Beware though, out of 90 rooms, 13, 'garden view rooms' do not have a balcony. We had been allocated one of these but on request were soon moved to a room with a balcony for little extra cost. Room facilities could be considered basic, there was no fridge, for example, but everything else was absolutely fine.

Room Tip: Avoid the 13 garden rooms without a balcony, unless this it not a concern for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We recently went to Croatia for a weeks holiday and stayed in the Hotel Croatia, Cavtat. There is not really anything negative to say about the Hotel, It is lovely, The position of it, the views from it, the staff, all were wonderful. We were lucky enough to have a free upgrade from when we booked direct with Monarch Airlines, and were given a superior room with a sea view that was perfect. We were in room 209 which is quite low down, floor wise, you may prefer to be higher up but we still had a fab sea view, you could almost touch it! Cavtat is beautiful, so glad we chose to stay there instead of in Dubrovnik itself. The purpose of the trip was to see Dubrovnik which we did do twice, once by day and once by night, both by bus and this was fine and very cheap. We would have liked to go by boat but the weather was a little dodgy for a couple of days and bus was the better option. Had the weather been lovely all week the holiday would have been perfect. When it didn't rain it was very hot and we still came home with very nice suntans. The food in the hotel was absolutely fine, we ate in the main restaurant all except one evening which we spent in the Steakhouse with a 70kuna discount each which did help as it was a little expensive in there. Would definitely return to Cavtat again and to the Hotel Croatia. I really wouldn't take much notice of any negative things you read, there wasn't anything to grumble about as far as we are concerned. The ice cream in Croatia is beautiful and the local wines are lovely, too nice!

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view room even if you do have to pay extra, it will be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
5  Thank helenandkevyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear helenandkevyn ,
Thank you for reporting impressions of your recent stay with us on Trip Advisor.
We can see through your comments that you really enjoyed your stay in our Hotel in every aspect, and we couldn't be happier.
We hope to welcome you once again in the near future, and in the meantime, we are sending our best regards.

Yours sincerly,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed for a week on a bed and breakfast basis in July 2014 and had the most fantastic time.
I hope the architect of the hotel won an award as it's the most amazing building built into the rocks - in fact, from the sea it looks like a ship and when you're sitting on the balcony (definitely pay extra for a sea view room) you feel like you're on a ship as all you can see is sea!
The breakfast was very good with lots of variety so definitely something for everyone - fruit, cereal, cooked breakfast, pancakes, meat, cheese, cake... you name it, it was there!
It's quite unusual to have an indoor swimming pool as well as outdoor - both were large and deep enough to do 'proper' swimming - with a shallow end too. There were aqua aerobic and aqua dance classes in the outdoor pool most days which were fun.
If you prefer swimming in the sea then there's the terrace down by Spinaker's Restaurant which leads straight into the sea which is fantastic.
On the other side of the hotel - the rocky side - you can walk down to the sea and sit somewhere on the rocks - harder to find a seat and umbrella this side. There is a nudist beach on this side too.
One point to make about sitting by the pool or beach - you'll find a seat somewhere but it's much harder to find an umbrella - the staff are so used to hearing the complaints about this but the answer was always that the management knew and weren't replacing them. This really does need addressing as when the sun is out it is incredibly hot and there should be one umbrella per pair of seats - unfortunately this couldn't be further from the truth.
Our other gripe was the smokers - people seemed to be completely unaware (or just didn't care!) that they were literally smoking over you and as people seem to smoke even more on holiday this proved difficult for us as asthma sufferers.
There's a Happy Hour by the pool and at the piano bar near reception where you get 30% off your drinks.
The pianist at the piano bar played some really lovely music - shame the piano was pushed to the back wall as a sort of apology - it's called the piano bar so people are quite happy to see the piano!!
Cavtat is really pretty and if you eat at Spinaker's (for lunch or dinner) or sit on the terrace there you have fantastic views of the town.
It's only a short walk into the town but you do have to walk down the steps - which is fine - walking up is more difficult because of the angle of the steps! If you don't fancy the walk then you can always get a lift in the hotel buggy.
The town is full of restaurants and cafes and also a supermarket, outdoor food market, craft market and jewellery shops so plenty to do!
You can get a boat from Cavtat to visit the local islands and also go to Dubrovnik if you don't fancy the bus ride.
We had mixed weather whilst in Cavtat - exceptionally hot, pleasantly warm and then the most amazing thunder and lightning storm we've ever seen!

We had the most wonderful week away and hope to return to Hotel Croatia in Cavtat.

Room Tip: Definitely go for a sea view - the rooms on the floors above reception (level 5) have amazing views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank asdas1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear asdas1,
Thank you for writing this review about our hotel!
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your holiday in Hotel Croatia!
We can promise you that we are working continuously on improving our services and amenities and hopefully we will have an opportunity to welcome you again to improve your impressions and meet your full expectations.

Yours sincerly
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is stunning, the photo in the brochure did not do it justice, the reception is very nice, modern and clean. If your fit and healthy it's it better as there are approx 100 steps down to Cavtat itself. It's takes about 6 minutes down and a few more back up!

There was a variety of food, we were half board some a bit bland but always a steady supply. Most of the staff in the restaurant were very nice. I would go back to this hotel.

The rooms were kept very clean thanks to the good work of the domestic staff.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank PrincessJenga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear PrincessJenga,
We would like to thank You for Your comment.
We are happy to see that You enjoyed Hotel facilities and Your stay at our Hotel.
Hope to see You in our Hotel again!

Yours sincerly
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Returned 3 weeks ago from our 11th visit to Cavtat and Hotel Croatia. From the minute you enter the large impressive reception area and are greeted by the attentive and helpful staff you just know you will have a great holiday. You will be taken to your room by one of the brilliant bell-hop men who also do a great job taking you down into Cavtat and will pick you up later. Rooms, especially the sea view rooms, are large and very clean. The views from your terrace are amazing. Beds are so comfy and bed linen is changed at least twice a week. There is plenty of wardrobe space. The bathrooms are big and the showers are brilliant. The toiletries are topped up daily and the towels, bath, hand and flannels are big and fluffy. The cleaning ladies are so lovely and you even have a visit, (usually when you are having your evening meal) from them to top up towels etc that have been used. Breakfast and evening meals taken on the terrace with the lovely views of the bay is a must. The food is very good and there is so much choice. There is something for everyone and although it is buffet style, everything is fresh and is constantly attended to by the staff. Fruit, fish, salads, meat and vegetables, pasta etc. The staff are lovely and a smile and a thank you from us goes a long way! The piano bar is a place to go at any time of day but a pre dinner glass of house white, overlooking the most beautiful harbour is a must. That is magical. The pools are lovely and have full sun and shaded areas. The pool boys are on hand to help out if sun loungers get scarce. The rocky sun terrace overlooking the sea is brilliant and once again the boys are on hand to help with loungers etc. All the staff are lovely people, from reception, bell-hop, cleaners, Ana and Lucy and the rest of the restaurant staff, pool boys and a big mention for Ana and Jele and staff in piano bar. Cavtat is so beautiful with its little churches, one at each end of the bay, the fantastic yachts and the lovely bars and restaurants. Food and local wine in all of them is excellent, especially Poseidon Cafe which is right on the water. What a view! It's a really laid back bay where you just sit either day or night and watch the world go by. Sunset standing on the bay is out of this world. Dubrovnik is well worth a visit and you can travel there either by water taxi or bus, both prices very reasonable. So many people like us love this hotel and it's fantastic position with amazing views from all areas. There is just not one thing I can say against this hotel and it's lovely staff. Will we be back next year, oh I think it's a must.

Room Tip: Paying the extra for a sea view is well worth it. Floor 5 up have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cazie186439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear cazie186439,
We would like to thank you on taking your time to write this review!
It is always nice to see that our guests had a beautiful holiday in our hotel and that you keep coming back to us!
We hope we will welcome you again in our Hotel and until than we are sending our warmest regards!

Kind regards
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

(couple aged 28) stunning surroundings. great facilities we used the poool and sauna lots. .theres many of private spots along the coast to enjoy the veiws and a dip in the sea. we only had bed n breakfast . which was of high standard and a big choice. cavtat itself had lots of lovely restaurants to choose from so being b &b wasnt an issue . We took the boat to dubrovnik from the bay so the location was perfect ! we paid extra for the sea view room . every bit worth it. and staff were very helpful x no complaints.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tapas28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear tapas28,
Thank you on writing this review!
We are happy to see that you liked hotel, its facilities and food.
Looking forward to welcome you again, until then, we are sending our best regards.

Yours sincerly
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
9.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#8 of 18 in Cavtat
289 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 18 in Cavtat
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat, Konavle 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Konavle > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range: £90 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing