We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Brilliant location”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Cavtat is lovely a great choice best place to stop around area .croatia hotel is a nice hotel clean and friendly staff ,but it has some issues that need to be addressed if they are to be a 5star .
The food in the buffet is poor in our opinion we had one evening meal and did not return it was a lot better in cavtat at one of the many lovely restaraunts .breakfast was also poor for a 5star.the hotel is massive loads of wasted space but small rooms and lifts you feel like you are in an airport departure lounge as you walk through in places.not a design we liked.steak house and other resteraunts were good but extra cost .all the pool areas are exellent and clean fresh towels freely available.the lido was also great the best place to sunbath with a great view of cavtat harbour .nice clean sea safe and plenty of sun beds if you are not up too late.spinaker bar above lido is a nice chill out area after sun.plenty of water sports jet skis etc nice friendly staff .exellent walks around two peninsula one leads to other cavtat harbour where you can find cheaper food and drinks prices but no massive yachts like the main harbour which has stunning boats to look at while you have your meal stunning location .walk to the back of the hotel sea view side and you can walk down the steps to the foot of the cliffs and swim in the sea fantastic place to swim but be very careful at the bottom flat concrete pad as it is like a sheet of glass needs a non slip mat putting on it take care with kids .the hotel provides 6 seater golf carts to ferry you down to the lido area and you will need them the steps are a heart busting climb unless you are fit tip take the hotels number put it in your phone and ring them as you leave the restaraunt they will be waiting .they are up and down the hill all day great guys .Dubrovnik is fantastic well worth a day trip ,the open top bus is good and gives you an elevated view of the city and port you go around the other side of Dubrovnik and you will see the big cruise ship come in.water is safe in croatia so use the many fountains to refill your water bottle it's cool and safe and free .a good place to go for a drink is the cliff top bar you can see the brave tombstoning into the sea from the cliff and enjoy the stunning view .we did the three islands trip which we booked at the lido as you walk into cavtat we wish we had booked with another as the food and drinks were poor but the seagulls seemed happy and used to having the stuff tossed to them ,ask others for recommendations on this trip .drinks prices in the hotel were double what you pay in cavtat .take sterling and change at the bank better rate than uk.i found two shops that exchanged money handy if its after bank hours but 3% charge .you can find good value on food and drinks in cavtat and we found it friendly ,safe and clean.cavtat is a little quiet you won't be dancing on the tables till dawn but its a great little town .we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to couples and families .hope this review helps .

Room Tip: Go for sea view a must ,garden views are obscured by high trees .ask for above reception or above r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Anchorbouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,435 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,128
    990
    259
    44
    14
See reviews for
414
1,556
37
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (950)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Spent a great week at this Hotel.
It is big but still has a good feel about it.
We had a sea view room which did have a great view - definitely worth the extra.
Staff are friendly
Food and bars are great - with lovely views of the town from the Spinaker Bar & Restaurant and the Piano Bar terrace
We did half board and there are plenty of great restaurants in Cavtat to choose from.
They offer a buggy service if people don't want to use the steps down to the beach/town but it really isn't that bad and a nice short walk into the town.

Two negative points which are a shame because both could easily be rectified.

1. The gym needs updating and a with bit more equipment

2. There are not enough sun beds and too many people do that rubbish thing of putting their towels down early to save places (Even before the pool has opened) - There is no active discouragement of this - just a notice which gets ignored.

Room Tip: Go for the Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mungo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Iirioblanco,
Thank you for staying with us and for finding time to report your impressions.
We are happy that you enjoyed everything through your stay with us.
We hope you will visit us again in the near future , and in the meantime, we are sending you
our warmest regards from sunny Cavtat.

Yours sincerly,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Shields, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We went 2 weeks ago to this hotel . I really like this hotel ; the food was lovely and plenty . Clean ,air con in rooms superb . Swimming pool big and nice but water was salty to much . Wonderful mountains view from balcony . Very hot weather plus friendly people in city . I recommend this hotel . Airport is 3 km of hotel . The disadvantage was that there was too much stairs between hotel and private beach and city.

Room Tip: All rooms are good quality , if you like sea views then take this room , i personally like mountains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward7444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Edward7444,
We would like to thank you on your review.
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel Croatia.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel and in the meantime, we are sending our best regards.

Yours sincerly
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Fantastic holiday. Lovely swimming pools that were rarely crowded. Private beaches lovely. Food was good quality..superb breakfasts... So much to do in this hotel. Immaculate everywhere. Only down side was their coffee and the price of drinks. Friendly staff.

Room Tip: Delis double room with a sea view..wow!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Noreenjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Noreenjordan,
We are so pleased to see that you had a beautiful holiday in our hotel!
We would like to thank you for your review and we hope that we will have a pleasure to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Just returned from a lovely week at Hotel Croatia. For us undoubtably the main benefit of this hotel is the location, Cavtat is a beautiful small town with just the right balance of good restaurants, cafés and bars without being too busy or touristy, the public transport links are great.

The views of Cavtat harbour from the hotel (bar, terrace and restaurants) are wonderful. I'd imagine that a few rooms also have a view of Cavtat, but the majority (including ours) just look out to sea, which is still pleasant and relaxing.

We were staying on B&B basis and very pleased with this, breakfast was good quality and had lots of choice, but the breakfast room was enormous and felt a little manic (later between 9-10 especially as obviously the most busy time), so we were happy not to be eating our evening meals in there. The restaurants in Cavtat are just a pleasant 5-10 minute walk away (granted you have the steps up on the way back though!) and on the whole very reasonably priced. Most sit on the edge of the water which is lovely and drinks are much cheaper in the bars and restaurants of Cavtat than in the hotel.

Our room was very nice, good air conditioning and a modern re-furbished feel (especially the bathroom), we were a little disappointed to be on a lower floor (2) but the balcony was private and the view still nice, literally next to the water (it felt a little like I imagine a cruise ship might feel, though haven't been on one) and you could hear the lapping of the waves in the room to add to the relaxation.

We took a taxi from the airport, just 120 kuna (roughly £12-£13 I think) and the hotel arranged our transfer back in a private car, for the same price.

We took both the boat and bus into Dubrovnik on separate days, easy and cheap, both accessed just a 5-10 min walk from the hotel. The boats were a little crowded but you get the views and the breeze. Dubrovnik is wonderful (walking the walls is a must for the views but remember your hat!)

The 'beach' area of the hotel is very nice with beautiful views (and clean toilets!), don't expect to find a free lounger between 10.30 - 4 on a sunny day in peak holidays though. The pool area is also lovely, plenty of shade if you prefer it (we do) and very clean, we found it easier to get a lounger there oddly (we expected it to be the other way around).

Lots of people have mentioned how big the hotel is and all of the unused space, this is true, it is overwhelmingly big and we did agree it was a shame that some of the free spaces were not used better as perhaps 'lounge areas' (there are a few scattered random armchairs which don't seem to fit with the hotel decor), and the maintenance of these areas looked a little tatty. But don't let this put you off, if like us you spend very little time in your hotel on holiday this won't bother you at all. If you're looking for a luxury 5* experience this probably isn't the place for you though.

Finally the staff are mostly efficient and friendly, our housekeeping lady was excellent and always friendly. Check in was efficient and we ate at Spinakers restaurant on one night, where the staff were excellent. Perhaps the breakfast staff could do with a little more encouragement to offer the tea and coffee, they seemed to avoid eye contact when trying to catch their attention for coffee (which is the only thing not self serve), and we were quite often greeted with a sigh rather than a smile unfortunately. Also we ordered a sandwich in the bar on one day (our first day, when we arrived to storms), we waited 50 minutes and when we enquired how much longer it would be it appeared the order hadn't been put through (despite paying at the time of order at the bar), the waitress offered us a different sandwich which was already prepared 'as this would be quicker' which we accepted as we were keen to get out after the storm had stopped, but weren't offered an apology, not good, we didn't eat lunch in the bar again.

All in all I would recommend this hotel, if you are ok with quite a few steps (or use the golf buggy, but this doesn't run to a schedule as such so you need to arrange with the hotel, it was always full when we saw it), and I absolutely recommend Cavtat as a relaxing holiday destination.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DawnLouise30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear DawnLouise30,
Thank you for such lovely comments and for finding a time to review our Hotel Croatia.
We are happy to see that you had an enjoyable holidays, especially in terms of location, fantastic views, and staff friendliness and efficiency.
We are very sorry that on your first night you did not find our Piano bar on highest level.
Best regards with a hope that you will return in our hotel soon so we can welcome you once again.

Kind regards,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We are just back from our first visit to the Hotel Croatia in Cavtat and will definitely be back for our next holiday. All the recent reviews of the Hotel are accurate. The Hotel is well positioned in Cavtat but you do have to be reasonably fit for the steps. We felt it helped to keep off the extra holiday pounds and walked up and down to either the Spinnaker area for daily sunbathing and swimming or the town for lunch or evening drinks! The Hotel Staff are so pleasant and friendly and the service is excellent. Lots of seating areas and I loved the outside area at the Piano Bar. Agree with the reviews about having a sea view. We upgraded on day 2 as we hadn't initially asked for a sea view and it was definitely worth the extra cost. We thought the food was OK, but have had a wider variety in other similar Hotels around the world. However, this was a pretty small issue for us and we were happy enough with what we had. We would potentially go on a B&B basis next visit though and eat out in the lovely local Restaurants. Cavtat itself is really lovely and everything we could wish for in a holiday destination. This sounds a bit 'gushing' but it is true! Another traveller commented on the Poseidon Resturant which sits on a corner towards the town, about 5 mins walk from the Hotel, and we ate lunch there most days during our week. Sitting outside watching the beautfiful yachts sailing into the harbour, listening to the local kids having a great time in the Water Polo arena, and enjoying a chilled glass of Rose - what absolute bliss. The spectacular views and friendly people make this my favourite holiday destination out of many different locations around the world we have visited. We also did the ferry trip up the coast to Dubrovnik, which is a beautfiul old city - but both my husband and I preferred Cavtat. We had a couple of spectacular thunderstorms across the last week in July, but we also had plenty of hot sunshine to compensate for the couple of wet days. We will definitely be back to the Hotel Croatia and beautiful Cavtat.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank muileach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear muileach,
We are so pleased to see that you had a beautiful holiday in our hotel!
We would like to thank you for your review and we hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again!

Kind regards,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our week-long stay and would stay here again.The rooms are big and the beds are comfortable enough.We only had breakfast included with our room and found it to be quite good.

We also thought the beds were comfortable and cannot fault the hotel for the most part.

One thing we did find,however,was that their internet access needs to be improved.Rooms at the end of the hotel do not have any signal and there should be something done about ensuring that the restaurant and the pool areas have wi-fi installed.The beach area,or at least the part around the excellent Spinaker restaurant could also benefit from having wi-fi.I really think that boosting their wi-fi would serve them well in the long-run.

One potentially hazardous aspect of this hotel are the steps leading to the beach.They are often just concrete slabs without any rails to hold onto at any point during the steep climb or descent.Given the volumes of rain during the last week of July,I feel that it is only a matter of time before someone is seriously injured,or worse.I was shocked by what I saw,given that this is a hotel full of families with small children.It would also be helpful to have some lights on the steps as it is pitch black during the night.

My wife slipped and fell on the concrete ramp on the rocky beach.Luckily she wasn't seriously injured but having an exceptionally slippery concrete ramp without rails is a potentially fatal accident waiting to happen.This wouldn't happen at many other destinations and this hotel's management really need to take a look at themselves as the above deficiencies pose a serious risk to health and safety of its guests.

Apart from this,we will return to this hotel at some point however we hope that if will be a bit safer for it's guests.We wish for this hotel to be the best that it can be as we come from this region and sincerely hope they our comments will be taken on board as this hotel has exceptional potential.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Hasan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Hasan V,
We would like to thank you on your review!
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your holiday in our hotel.
We constantly work on improving our service and offer and we hope that the next time you will be fully satisfied.
We hope that you will visit our hotel again, and until then, we are sendind you warm regards from Cavtat!

Kind regards,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 983 reviews
0.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.4 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#4 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 577 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Property: Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing