We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful location but one handicap: ...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Solingen, Germany
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“wonderful location but one handicap: ...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

Cavtat is the perfect village for a summer holiday : the sea, a little old village, a harbour, many sports offered, romantic views, nice Restaurants and cafes, and then just 40 minutes by boat to the old town of Dubrovnik. The Hotel is situated on a peninsula so you have many possibilities to enjoy your stay: open sea with cliffs, a more familiy beach, a swimming pool on the top surrounded by old trees, a walk along the seaside , only a short walk into the village ... But you have to live with the noise of incoming flights due to the nearby airport !

Room Tip: the rooms with sea view are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Maria A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Maria A,
Thank you for such lovely coments. We are very glad that you had a plesant stay with us.
We hope that you will choose our Hotel as your holiday destination in the future, and give us an apportunity to welcome you again.

Yours sincerly
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,069
    959
    255
    44
    14
See reviews for
402
1,499
35
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (917)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Have just returned from 7 nights at hotel Croatia and had a fantastic week. Hotel is 10 mins drive from the airport which was very convenient. On arriving early our room wasn't ready but we were allowed to use all the facilities at the hotel.

The room was on the 4th floor with a sea view. The room was clean and felt quite modern with a nice bathroom. The balconies on the 4th floor are slightly set back from the edge which made it quite small and slightly hampered the view down to the beach area but this wasn't really a big deal.

One of the few large hotels I've stay at where all the staff were so friendly and helpful. Breakfasts were good with a big choice of food. We ate lunch a couple of times at the restaurant by the pool and it was good as was the steak restaurant. The hotel itself is far from brand new but has been well maintained and must of been refurbished some time in recent years. The hotel bar has a great view down to Cavtat but is quite expensive compared to local bars in Cavat itself.

A few people have mentioned how horrific the steps are down to Cavat. This is understandable if you are infirm or elderly otherwise it was just steps... Maybe climbing two or three floors. I counted 127 and at a slow pace you could walk back up in under 2 mins. They really are not challenging!

Cavtat is a stunning setting. We drove up the north coast one day and there was many nice bays and small towns but easily thought Cavtat was the nicest. A great place to stay with a wide choice of places to eat and drink for a weeks visit.

The only thing that didn't go smoothly was the trips to and from Dubrovnik. My wife gets sea sick so we avoided the boat as it is the best part of an hour. Assuming the bus stopped at the old town and with no announcement from the driver we missed it on our first trip and ended up in the centre of Dubrovnik with a 30 min walk back in 30 degree heat! Our own fault but the stop is not obvious and it is far up the hill from the old town and about 10 mins walk down steps and lanes to get there. The return stop is next to the cable car, again this was not obvious but we found it. However on our second return the 2220 bus was so full we couldn't get on! We had to walk all the way back to the old town to get a cab which was about £27. It would of helped if the hotel had given us a but more info about the stops when they gave us the timetable.

Buses aside this is a good hotel for a holiday in a great part of Croatia.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank stuart b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Nice_tie,
Thank you for your visit, and for your wonderful comments that we appreciate so much. We are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel in all every aspect, and that we succeeded in meeting your expectations.
We hope that you will give us a pleasure of welcoming you once again in our hotel.

Kindest regards,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Lovely hotel but take care with the steps, can feel huge and it takes a while to get your bearings. The room was good with a stunning view. The meals were excellent. Only a few things that were not too good, nuts served with drinks seemed unnecessary and there were not enough chairs and umbrellas outside. Otherwise excellent.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
6 Thank Stuart D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Stuart D,
We would like to thank you on your lovely review.
We are happy that you enjoyed your holidays in our Hotel, that you liked your room with stunning view as you said, but we are sorry to hear about less enjoyable factors of your stay.
We hope we will have an opportunity to welcome once again, and in the meantime we are sending our warmest regards from sunny Cavtat.

Yours sincerly
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were generally happy with the hotel but feel it wasn't quite up to 5*. The rooms were nicely decorated and very clean.The staff were very friendly if you made the effort with them, as the hotel is so large you don't get that family friendly atmosphere. The food was average to good.The only problem we came across were the sunbeds/parasols that were on the beach opposite the beautiful harbour of Cavtat. They were extremely uncomfortable as they didn't have the cushion toppers that the poolside had and feel that this is a luxury you should expect in any 5* hotel. Many guests didn't have parasols as the hotel didn't have enough as many were broken! Overall, apart from the niggles I mentioned we would visit again but upgrade to a room with a sea view. Cavtat is a beautiful harbour, we loved watching the luxury yachts and life go by in this charming unpretentious resort.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views ....have a see view as our garden view room was very dark as overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Dawn M,
Thank you for having so carefully explained all the positive and negative aspects of your recent stay in our Hotel.
We are very sorry to hear that you did not find the service in our Hotel up to 5 stars standards. We took a good note of your comments, especially concerning the situation on the pool area with parasols and sunbeds. We can promise you that we will do our best to improve in every aspect, so hopefully you can visit us again and see the improvements for yourself.

Yours sincerly
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

Very happy that we decided to stay in Cavtat, rather than in Dubrovnik. Cavtat is a lovely harbour full of very good restaurants and small bars. Hotel Croatia would look incongruous next to the older buildings of the harbour, but is very well shielded by mature trees.
The hotel has fantastic views of both the harbour on one side and the Adriatic on the other. it is a ten minute walk from hotel to harbour, maybe fifteen on the way back (approx 130 steps each way). Certain level of fitness required!
Swimming pool and 'beach' areas are not usually too busy, but you may struggle for a sunbed actually in the sun. Don't expect sand on your beach though!
The rooms are a touch on the small side but well appointed and comfortable. They are also very clean and were kept that way during our stay (don't forgot to tip your maid!). Free wi-fi is available in the room, can be a bit hit and miss, but is ok when it's working.
We stayed B&B and are glad we did. The harbour has a lot of great places to eat, the people we met who were on half board were disappointed with the standard, especially the lack of choice if wanting to eat after 7.00pm. Breakfast is a big buffet affair. There is a large selection of cereals, fruit, bread/cakes etc. but the cooked food left a bit to be desired. One omlette station, with bacon, local sausage, eggs and not much else. Worst thing about breakfast though is having to sit next to people whose idea of breakfast is coffee and a fag.
Friendly staff, great location, well maintained and clean. In my opinion it is a 4 star hotel rather than 5, but I come from an age when 5 star was the creme de la creme.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lirioblanco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Cavtat is lovely a great choice best place to stop around area .croatia hotel is a nice hotel clean and friendly staff ,but it has some issues that need to be addressed if they are to be a 5star .
The food in the buffet is poor in our opinion we had one evening meal and did not return it was a lot better in cavtat at one of the many lovely restaraunts .breakfast was also poor for a 5star.the hotel is massive loads of wasted space but small rooms and lifts you feel like you are in an airport departure lounge as you walk through in places.not a design we liked.steak house and other resteraunts were good but extra cost .all the pool areas are exellent and clean fresh towels freely available.the lido was also great the best place to sunbath with a great view of cavtat harbour .nice clean sea safe and plenty of sun beds if you are not up too late.spinaker bar above lido is a nice chill out area after sun.plenty of water sports jet skis etc nice friendly staff .exellent walks around two peninsula one leads to other cavtat harbour where you can find cheaper food and drinks prices but no massive yachts like the main harbour which has stunning boats to look at while you have your meal stunning location .walk to the back of the hotel sea view side and you can walk down the steps to the foot of the cliffs and swim in the sea fantastic place to swim but be very careful at the bottom flat concrete pad as it is like a sheet of glass needs a non slip mat putting on it take care with kids .the hotel provides 6 seater golf carts to ferry you down to the lido area and you will need them the steps are a heart busting climb unless you are fit tip take the hotels number put it in your phone and ring them as you leave the restaraunt they will be waiting .they are up and down the hill all day great guys .Dubrovnik is fantastic well worth a day trip ,the open top bus is good and gives you an elevated view of the city and port you go around the other side of Dubrovnik and you will see the big cruise ship come in.water is safe in croatia so use the many fountains to refill your water bottle it's cool and safe and free .a good place to go for a drink is the cliff top bar you can see the brave tombstoning into the sea from the cliff and enjoy the stunning view .we did the three islands trip which we booked at the lido as you walk into cavtat we wish we had booked with another as the food and drinks were poor but the seagulls seemed happy and used to having the stuff tossed to them ,ask others for recommendations on this trip .drinks prices in the hotel were double what you pay in cavtat .take sterling and change at the bank better rate than uk.i found two shops that exchanged money handy if its after bank hours but 3% charge .you can find good value on food and drinks in cavtat and we found it friendly ,safe and clean.cavtat is a little quiet you won't be dancing on the tables till dawn but its a great little town .we enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to couples and families .hope this review helps .

Room Tip: Go for sea view a must ,garden views are obscured by high trees .ask for above reception or above r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Anchorbouy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Spent a great week at this Hotel.
It is big but still has a good feel about it.
We had a sea view room which did have a great view - definitely worth the extra.
Staff are friendly
Food and bars are great - with lovely views of the town from the Spinaker Bar & Restaurant and the Piano Bar terrace
We did half board and there are plenty of great restaurants in Cavtat to choose from.
They offer a buggy service if people don't want to use the steps down to the beach/town but it really isn't that bad and a nice short walk into the town.

Two negative points which are a shame because both could easily be rectified.

1. The gym needs updating and a with bit more equipment

2. There are not enough sun beds and too many people do that rubbish thing of putting their towels down early to save places (Even before the pool has opened) - There is no active discouragement of this - just a notice which gets ignored.

Room Tip: Go for the Sea View
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mungo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Iirioblanco,
Thank you for staying with us and for finding time to report your impressions.
We are happy that you enjoyed everything through your stay with us.
We hope you will visit us again in the near future , and in the meantime, we are sending you
our warmest regards from sunny Cavtat.

Yours sincerly,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.8 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
9.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Castelletto
Hotel Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
9.1 mi away
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
Hotel Kompas Dubrovnik
#2 of 66 in Dubrovnik
5.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
6.4 mi away
Grand Villa Argentina
Grand Villa Argentina
#17 of 66 in Dubrovnik
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Property: Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing