We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge holiday hotel with all services for a family holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
216 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Huge holiday hotel with all services for a family holiday”
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

We just wanted to chill out in the middle of a long driving tour of the Western Balkans and to be near Dubrovnik. This hotel is cavernous but has pools, sea access, lots of restaurants. Ideal for a family holiday. Breakfast super choices. Friendly staff. We would return for a long weekend break as airport quite close. NB. If you want an intimate hotel, which we normally do, this is not it. Suited us perfectly this time

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RobertMBE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear RobertMBE2014,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Hotel.
We would like to have an opportunity to welcome you once again in our hotel and in the meantime we are sending our warmest regards.

Kind regards,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,157
    1,017
    263
    46
    14
See reviews for
423
1,601
37
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (976)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

Hotel Croatia is a nice hotel with many things working for it. The rooms are reasonably sized, feel fresh and new, and the cleaning is without fault. If you pay for a room with a sea view, it really is an astounding view.

The hotel has one outdoor pool, one indoor, and two spots where you can go swim in the ocean. We spent no time at either of the pools, but I'm sure if you have kids, you'll prefer to stay there. Both of the hotel's sea spots have very deep waters, so leaving little kids there is out of the question.

Lovely staff in the reception (the biggest reception area we have ever seen), and they were very quick to help when our safety box in the room broke. Also great to help with restaurant bookings.

We didn't try all the restaurants at the hotel, but Steak House was nice, though a little pricy.

On the negative side:

- Rude and absent personnel by the beach. One day down at the ocean, we wanted a sun parasoll - and were told that it was too windy. It was barely 1 m/s winds, but no one got a parasoll. The person handing them (and the towels) out was very snotty about it, and told me that he "didn't want to explain more". Also, when we wanted towels (which were in a locked room), the person handing them out was absent half the time, often to be found talking to friends.

- Also on the note of sunbeds and the like - there were way too few. Not enough sunbeds, especially since the rule about not being allowed to "book" sunbeds wasn't followed by anyone, so by eleven every sunbed was taken. Also, not nearly enough parasols, at most 1 per every 4 sunbeds.

- If you have problems with stairs, this probably isn't the hotel for you. There are a whole bunch of stairs going down to the seaside or to Cavtat city. There are hotel golf cars going up and down to take people, but that probably gets old pretty quickly.

- The breakfast buffet. Probably depends on what kind of breakfast buffet you're used to, but we weren't impressed with this one.

Mostly, Hotel Croatia is a great hotel. Good rooms, mostly good service, and a great view. Cavtat is a lovely little town with several good restaurants (don't miss out on Bugenvila!) and a nice atmosphere, very calm compared to for example Dubrovnik. Still, it's not a problem getting from Cavtat to Dubrovnik or any of the islands outside the coast.

We would most likely stay at Hotel Croatia again if we return to Croatia.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Bananacosmicgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We arrived late only to realise that a mistake had been made with our booking and we weren't due to arrive untill the following week. Elvis ( reception staff) came to our rescue and pulled out all the stops - his customer service was excellent and he really did try to move mountains (beaurocracy) to help us. I recommend him as an ambassador for the hotel.
Beautiful location- sunsets and chilled ambience. Only downside was lack of wifi in room for 3 days .

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawnesica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Dawnesica,
We would like to thank you on your review!
Please accept our sincere apology for the inconvenience you had with lack of wifi in your room for 3 days.
We are glad that you liked our hotel and that you found our receptionist Elvis helpful!
Thank you for being our guests and we are looking forward meeting you again in our hotel Croatia.

Kind regards,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Great position with scenic views
Great food
Great staff
Great facilities and luckily for us great weather !
Spotlessly clean.
Would certainly return although August prices for the superior type of room are quite expensive even through a Thomson package deal.

Room Tip: Floor 4 and above sea view side of hotel are better.Reception is between floor 4 and 5 and the pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Peter S,
We are glad to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel, and that you liked hotel facilities, food and staff atitude.
Thank you on your review and hope that we will meet again in hotel Croatia!

Kind regards
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bawtry, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

What a great week we have just had at the Hotel Croatia in Cavtat. Having read the TA reviews prior to arrival we had a pretty good perspective on what to expect. It's more four star than five, many of the public areas are 60's 70s style and reflect the former Yugoslavia in design, and the pool is too small for the size of the hotel.

We expected all those things and none were an issue. The location is superb with easy access to the bathing areas on both sides of the peninsula, and fantastic views of the lovely bay of Cavtat. We stayed on bed and breakfast basis and the breakfast choice in the buffet style restaurant was really good. We dined in the beach side restaurant and the food here was generally good, and reasonable value.

The hotel staff were helpful and attentive, The rooms were OK and we were pleasantly surprised by the availability of non advertised tennis courts.

The hotel is just 10 minutes from the airport, 5 minutes walk from the restaurants of Cavtat and offers wonderful views of the bay. We would not hesitate to return.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Lee J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Lee J,
Thank you for such lovely comments and thank you for staying with us.
We are very happy to see that you had wonderful week holiday in hotel Croatia.
We are looking forward to welcome you again in our hotel and in the meantime, we are sending our best regards.

Yours sincerly
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Firstly, this hotel is categorised as a 5 star but we would class it as a 4 star. There were quite a few things that we thought could be improved upon, such as the cleanliness of the rooms (our room was not dusted or vacuumed throughout our 7 night stay), the towels had stains on them and needed replacing, there was urine stains behind the toilet when we first arrived, there is not much in the way of drawer space and the hangers are no good for hanging trousers on as they don’t have the bar across. However, all this aside, we paid for a sea view room (621) and boy what a stunning view. We looked directly out onto the Adriatic with the rocks below and the sunbathing area.

We stayed on a half board basis but wish on hindsight we’d have stayed on just a bed and breakfast basis. I'm not staying there was anything wrong with the food but there are just so many lovely restaurants to choose from in the beautiful harbour village of Cavtat. Please note the bacon was disgusting and don’t bother doing toast unless you like it as crispbread!

The bar area was stunning with excellent views over the harbour and beautiful yachts. The drinks were about average price, i.e. a pint of beer was about £3 and a cocktail about £7 depending on the exchange rate. There is an inside piano bar area too; however, we chose to sit outside to marvel at the view which, in my opinion, was second to none.

The swimming pool area was lovely and well layed out. There is an inside and outdoor salt swimming pool with a sunbathing area. There is also a sunbathing area overlooking the sea but don’t expect a beach just rocks. Personally, we didn’t like this as we thought it could be quite dangerous, especially for young children. There is also a nudist area which we thought was quite unnecessary, again especially with young children at the hotel.

We didn't eat in the Steak House or Spinnaker Restaurants but we did go down to the Spinnaker Restaurant each morning to have a beer, feed the wonderful array of fish and simply relax. This is a lovely area. There are also sunbeds at this location which, in my opinion, is much better than the rocky area at the hotel.

The hotel is on a steep hill with approximately 127 steps down to Cavtat harbour; however, the hotel provides a buggy service around the clock to either take you down, pick you up or both ways. You just need to add the hotel phone number into your mobile on arrival. Sometimes they were people already waiting for the buggy and you just wait in line. If not, just phone the hotel and the buggy will be sent straight down.

We found some of the staff to be very pleasant and others to be quite rude. We did notice when going in for breakfast and finding a table the waiters and waitresses didn’t want to make eye contact so sometimes we had to go up to them to bring the tea or coffee.

There is going to be a nightclub and casino at the hotel but when I asked when this would be ready the reception staff didn’t seem to know.

Cavtat itself is beautiful with a selection of bars, shops and restaurants. This is a chilling out holiday and if you're looking for a spectacular nightlife this isn't the place for you.

We did a bus trip to Dubrovnik; however, we didn’t like Dubrovnik and had a beer by the harbour and got the taxi boat back to Cavtat. The taxi boat was great and takes about 40 minutes. The number 10 bus to Dubrovnik takes about an hour but expect long traffic queues. We were allowed to get off the bus and walk down the hundreds and hundreds and steps to the harbour area. The ginnels are very narrow and Dubrovnik can seem very claustrophobic.

All in all, we would return to Cavtat and possibly this hotel; however, I think a lot of changes need to be made to bring it up to 5 star standard.

Room Tip: Room 621 was stunning. It is worth paying the extra for this as otherwise your view will be pine tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mellonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here as part of a package holiday - really pleased we did. Hotel staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. Bedroom with sea view was well appointed (hair dryer, dressing gowns, slippers and toiletries supplied) and from the balcony the view was tremendous. The room was spotlessly clean and towels/bedding were changed daily. Air con worked quietly and efficiently and was well received after long days in the sun.
The food was consistently very good. The breakfasts were buffet style and the choice and quality were both excellent. The evening meal was also buffet style. High quality food with enough variety to satisfy everyone. The staff that we came across in the restaurant could not have been more helpful - local knowledge of Croatian wines was invaluable. We wish that more of the wine was available in the UK because the quality was exceptional. Zlatna - a very dry white. Grasevina - white wine dry and refreshing. Does anyone know if they are sold in the UK?
The facilities in the hotel were very clean and well maintained. Outdoor and indoor pools were of particularly high standard. The only constructive feedback we can offer is that the metal steps to swimming area at the "beach" would benefit from a non-slip tread.
Others have commented that the steps up to the hotel from Cavtat were a challenge. Yes perhaps not easy for anyone with a mobility problem. But the hotel does run a buggy service. On a positive note we stopped regularly on the steps on the pretence of taking in the view whilst we were really getting our breath back!! We are 2 unfit travellers!!
Most of the staff speak excellent English and can offer help on places to go. We hope to return in 2015.

Room Tip: Worth paying the supplement to reserve a room with sea view. Sunsets outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Paula D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Paula D,
Thank you for finding time to report your impressions of your recent stay in our hotel!
We are delighted to see that you enjoyed in our Hotel in every way.
We highly appreciate your comments concerning our location, rooms, main restaurant and staff friendliness.
We hope we will see you back soon in sunny Cavtat.

Warmest regards,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
1,019 reviews
0.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.4 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#8 of 67 in Dubrovnik
1,915 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#9 of 17 in Cavtat
256 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 67 in Dubrovnik
866 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Property: Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing