We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glorious Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2014

Big time elegant hotel with all the trappings. Wonderful Sunday Brunch too! Totally loaded with everything. Staff were ultra professional the rooms well apointed and spacious. Even the halls were huge/wide. Impressive location above Cavtat Harbor just a short walk down the bluff. Located 15 minutes from Dubrovnik Airport which is a plus and a short taxi to Dubrovnik as well. Well worth a stay for a few night of luxury.

Room Tip: Sea Views are magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank IceHawks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Ice Hawks,
Thank you for your lovely comments and for giving us highest grade on Trip Advisor page. We are happy that we succeeded in meeting your expectations and that overall you spent enjoyable holidays with us.
We are looking forward to welcome you for the second time and we hope to make your holidays enjoyable once again.
Yours sincerly
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,859)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,542 - 1,548 of 2,859 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2014

The hotel has all of the usual amenities. Previous reviews just about cover all of the pro's and con's which have to be taken into consideration based on age and fitness of the party! The views are magnificent and will stay in my memories. However the hotel service culture isn't 5* and given the cost of the holiday you would expect the following. Housekeeping to ensure that empty water bottles and used cups are removed daily, courtesy rooms available for guests leaving late and not directed to the pool facilities. This may be considered picky by some but this is based on the standards you come to expect. I would say that the service in the restaurants and particularly Piano Bar was superb. Thank you.

Room Tip: Ladies bring flat shoes .... Sea view is a must ....sun all day
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bigcolinliverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Bigcolinliverpool,
We would like to thank you for the comments you have made about your holiday in hotel Croatia. We are happy that you had enjoyable experience in our hotel. However, we are very sorry that you did not find some of the things up to 5 star standards, but we assure you that we are working continuously to improve our services.
We hope you will choose our hotel as your holiday destination in the future, and give us an opportunity to welcome you again.

Yours sincerly
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2014

The hotel is very big and spaceous. There are huge common areas to walk in. The rooms are average size, nothing to shout wow for - accept from the view from the balcony. That is breathtaking. The beach is not your regular beach. It is rocks with small areas where you can sit on chairs and enjoy the view. Very nicely done and there is a lot of effort put into this from the hotel's part. There is also a nudist part you can enjoy. The sea is changing the character ( as sea often do) so watch out for the rocks when the sea is rough. There are no warning signs about it and you can get a nasty surprise when you try to swim back ashore. But when quiet, the shore side is very nice for snorkeling. The hotel is very clean and the outside areas kept really nice. The pool area is big enough after season, but I can imagine that there is too little space when families with kids arrive. The staff is very helpful and speak several languages. Breakfast was unbelievable. We had a big breakfast every day and that lasted til the evening. I travel a lot, so I can honestly say, that the breakfast was over average good. There was basically nothing missing from a European point of view. The village where the hotel is placed is little and cosy. Lots of cafés, ice cream bars and enough entertainment. You can reach Dubrovnik by boat and we were lucky enough to see dolphins...The whole experience was very nice and I could imagine to come back again.

Room Tip: Pay more and select a room with the sea view. You won't regret....!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Michaela0202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Michaela0202,
Thank you for reporting your so postive impressions on Trip advisor page and for your wonderful comments concerning the genuine friendly hospitality of our employees.
We are glad to see that you truly enjoyed our hotel facilities, services, hotel beaches and spent great family holiday!
We do hope to see you back in Hotel Croatia in lovely Cavtat.

Yours sincerly
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

My husband, daughter and I have just returned from a fantastic weeks stay at hotel Croatia in cavtat. The location is excellent and looks out to the most spectacular views of cavtat and the most stunning sunsets, that alone is worth the stay. Cavtat is beautiful, some lovely restaurants right up to the waters edge, a friendly atmosphere, amazing yachts coming in and out of the secluded bay and never crowded......I was actually debating whether to write this review as don't want too many tourists visiting and ruining this perfect destination. Hotel Croatia is definitely the best hotel, in the best location if staying in cavtat. The hotel is more like a 4 star but still good and certain areas are particularly good like the beach restaurant and indoor pool and spa. The staff were all very helpful, we didn't come across any rudeness as mentioned in some previous reviews. Also a lot of people mentioned the issue of the steps up to the hotel, to us it wasn't even an issue, got up them in no time. Nice mixture of hotel guests, people from all nationalities (nothing worse than arriving at a destination and its all Brits abroad), a variety of ages....not many toddlers as I reckon they would get put off by the steps with a pushchair and the deep sea. My daughter who's 8 and a strong swimmer absolutely loved the sea, it's incredibly clear and she had hours of fun snorkelling. Like most of our holidays we enjoy a mixture of relaxation and sightseeing, so we went on a boat to Dubrovnik (which is a fascinating place, however extremley busy and on the return boat trip back to our hotel we all felt very smug we picked this tranquail location to stay) wine tasting in the konvale valley and a island day excursion and there's a few pleasant walks in and around cavtat....so perfect for us. We didn't seem to have an issue with sunbeds/umbrellas, we always got a space at the beach area. I must admit I often get a little fidgety whilst setting on a beach for too long, but watching all the activity in the bay and hearing the church bells on the hour was absolutely lovely and could never get fed up of the view.

Room Tip: It's got to be a sea view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sophie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Sophie B,
We are happy to see that you and your family enjoyed your holiday in our hotel!
Thank you for taking you time to write this review and hope that we will meet again in Hotel Croatia!

Kind regards
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Our family were in Cavtat for our son's wedding.

In general we really liked the hotel and it's worth paying the extra for a sea view and a higher floor. The sunsets are stunning.

The rooms are a good size and the beds are extremely comfortable. There are nice big fluffy towels in the bathroom and lots of products too.

The dining room is large, with a good sized outside patio. We found there was a good choice of food, although the desserts could have been a bit more inspiring.

The staff were friendly, especially the maids, who always had a smile.

The two downsides are the steps leading down to Cavtat, which would be difficult for anybody who has difficulty walking, or has a heart condition. Its fine going down, but tough work going up.

The pool area is very small and there certainly aren't enough sun beds. They need to employ the no reservation rule and throw the towels off the loungers, if it's obvious they've been reserved. The indoor pool is pleasant and there is a nice terrace with beautiful views for lunch or a snack.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay, but do think the steps are a draw back.

Room Tip: Floors 3 and above have the best sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sheilaelizabeth13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear Sheilaelizabeth13,
We would like to thank you on taking your time to write a review about your recent stay in our hotel!
We are glad to see that you liked the most of hotel facilities and sorry to see that we didn't fulfill all expectations.
Hope that you will visit our hotel again to improve first impression!

Kind regards
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Just returned from a week long stay at the Hotel Croatia. This is a first class hotel in every way. The whole staff were totally committed to ensuring that every guest was treated to a most memorable holiday experience. The hotel is modern and beautifully designed. Rooms, restaurants, pools, public areas and all other very numerous facilities were presented to a high standard. The hotel stands on a small hill overlooking the village of Cavtat. The views, whether over the village, harbour, woods or mountains are stunning. Our room looked out over the Adriatic and its many islands which we found quite breathtaking. Take an outdoor breakfast and the views of the harbour will delight. The village is a 5 minute walk down hill, or steps, from the hotel who run a courtesy 'golf buggy' service to, and probably more importantly, from the village. This is a continuous 'on demand' service throughout the whole day and evening. Should no buggy appear within minutes, a phone call to reception will have you quickly on your way back to this splendid hotel. It is within easy reach of Dubrovnik by boat (45 minutes), bus (30 minutes) or taxi. We used the boat for its stunning views of the bay and coastline (80 Kuna=£9 return) which run throughout the day, every half hour until very late. Cavtat itself is a small village but has many delightful restaurants and bars. The harbour is a hive of activity and interest, with boats ranging from canoes to superyachts coming and going on a very regular basis. Finally, not only are the hotel staff most pleasant and helpful, but all of the people we met in this beautiful part of the world likewise.

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms all appear to be quiet and facing south and get the sun all day: all have balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank graairman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear graairman,
We would like to thank you on writing this lovely review about our hotel!
It is nice to read that you enjoyed you holiday and liked our hotel.
We hope that you will come back on your next vacation!

Kind regards
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2014

We spent a week in the hotel, celebrating my 50th birthday and also our 25th Wedding Anniversary. Upon request, we received a complimentary upgrade to the 7th floor with stunning views over the Adriatic.
Now for the food!!
The breakfasts were always extensive and plentiful with fresh omelettes cooked to your liking and the most friendly of staff. In particular, I wish to thank Maria and Carmen for their wonderful manner and friendliness. They would be a major reason for our return next year. Please make sure Niall and Ashley say hello.
We ate in both the SteakHouse and Spinakers. The steak was as good as I have ever had. It melted in your mouth and yet Spinakers freshly caught Sea Bass, baked in salt was a truly memorable dish. Succulent and delicate, this was again the best bass I have ever eaten.

A lovely touch was the birthday cake that was sent up to the room. Thanks guys!

Evening meals, under H/B were fine but not show stopping.

We will defo be back. Croatia and in particular, Cavtat is an outstanding resort, far from the hoardes and party animals.

Room Tip: Get as high up as you can. 4th floor and upwards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelCroatiaCavtat, Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2014

Dear nillet,
We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and liked hotel facilities, food and staff atitude.
Thank you on you review and we hope we would have the pleasure of welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Slobodan Gluhan
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
9.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#9 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#7 of 18 in Cavtat
289 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 18 in Cavtat
269 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat, Konavle 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Konavle > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range: £89 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing