We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Radovic(Cavtat)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Villa Cavtat(Cavtat)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Castelletto(Cavtat)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Cavtat(Cavtat)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,896)
Filter reviews
2,896 results
Traveller rating
1,336
1,169
317
56
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,336
1,169
317
56
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspiano bargolf buggybuggy servicesteak restaurantsalt waterspinaker restaurantsea viewhalf boardspinnaker baroutdoor poolfive star hotelthe clifflovely hotellarge hotelnudist beachbeach areamain restaurant
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,456 - 2,461 of 2,896 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2009

We spent a week at this hotel at the end of May. The first thing that pleased me was the fact that within 45 minutes of arriving at Dubrovnik Airport we were in our hotel room. I had arranged a taxi pick up in advance on line. We were met at the arrivals hall and taken to the taxi. The cost was 115 Kn (15 Euros), quite expensive for the short distance (around 3/4 miles) but the easiest form of transport.
The check in was quick and efficient, the receptionist speaking reasonable English which was appreciated by me as I have no Croatian. Our room was on the 3rd floor with a sea view. The room was a good size with a large bed, the toilet reasonable size and very clean with great shower.
I would say the housekeeping leaves a little to be desired. There was a cigarette butt on our balcony from start to finish which means it was never brushed. There was dust on shelves and ledges. The bedding and towels were changed daily.
We were on a half board basis and ate in the hotel every evening. On each evening of the week they had a theme, Asian, International, American, Croatian etc. The food was quite acceptable and self service from a buffet. It was rather like being in a glorified canteen as the tables are regimented in rows but usually we were able to find a table to ourselves. The waiting staff were efficient without being over friendly.
The pool was never too busy and we were always able to find loungers with towels provided. There is no beach however if you are happy to lie on concrete platforms built into the cliff side you can sunbathe beside the sea. Pool is accessed through the indoor pool area and small health suite and spa area.
The hotel had conference delegates every day that we were there. Because of the size of the hotel this was not a problem although the bar was busy early evening. This may also account for the pretty hefty bar prices as perhaps they are catering for people on expense accounts.
Cavtat is a five minute walk but keep in mind there are 125 steps back up to the hotel. This would be a problem for the elderly or infirm although I believe the hotel may have transport available. There are a number of restaurants and bars in Cavtat where the prices are more reasonable. (18kns 0.5l of beer), A bus leaves every half hour from Cavtat Bus Station to Dubrovnik taking about 35 minutes costing 12Kns. There are also boats from Cavtat harbour which take 45 minutes and leave almost hourly from 9am.
Car hire is available and it takes about an hour to drive into Montenegro which is worth a visit.
The hotel is not a five star hotel based on other five star hotels I have stayed in throughout Europe and USA however we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigDontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2009

Just got back from a week at this hotel, lots of comments, and a few warnings.
First, the hotel is great, the staff are great, they are quiet but polite and very helpful. Everyone, from the chambermaids to the waitresses and the Bell Captain, are trained to be helpful, and the management are constantly monitoring to see that this hotel is run well. The rooms are very comfy, lovely bathrooms, the towels are changed every day.
Each room has a balcony, the hotel is quite remote, at the end of the penisula, if you have a sea view, there is not really a lot to see, apart from SEA, and the island full of seagulls, but it is quiet and restful.
make sure you take the lift up to the 10th floor at some point during your stay - the view is fantastic!

The drinks in the hotel are expensive. A beer is about 35 kuna, a cocktail is 30 kuna. Campari and soda is 35 kuna. Ask for 'table wine' at dinner, you will be offered a litre bottle about 120 kuna, it is fine. Beware the random 35 kuna room service charge for taking your luggage to your room.

The pool is lovely , there are no sunshades, but the trees provide cover, choose your spot carefully. The 'bathing platforms' are absolutely LETHAL. I would not take anyone over the age of 50 down there, to Beach Jug, sheer drops, uneven surfaces.

Airplanes. Well the good thing is that this hotel is literally 10 mins from Dubrovnik airport, so if you like swift transfers, this is the place for you. HOWEVER< this does mean that there are frequent aircraft over the hotel and more especially over the town of Cavtat. Every 15 minutes you will hear a plane fly over. The hotel is well designed, so you don't hear too much when you are by the pool or in your room

Atmosphere = well, Oldsville. Grey hair takes precedence. If you are the sort who wants to view firm young flesh by the poolside this is NOT the place for you. Granted, it was early in the season, the hotel was not full, but it was still fairly dull.

If you want to sightsee, there is loads to do. But remember it gets hot during the middle of the day. Dubrovnik is easily accessible by boat or bus, and well worth a visit, but it is expensive, so take your own food and drink if you are watching the pennies.

Cavtat is interesting, and there is plenty to occupy you on a dull day. There is a museum, a holy picture place, and a villa of a famous artist. The most interesting place is the mausoleum, built for a shipping magnate. There is a delightul guide who will tell you all the history of the place, and it is well worth the walk up there.

Steps = 126. Have I mentioned the steps yet? They are fine on the way down, off you trot, saying, "I don't mind the steps at all, what is the problem?". But on the way back, especially if it is during the hot part of the day, the steps can be a real problem. Particularly if, like me, you are of the 'big boned' sort. Plan your trips to the village carefully, is all I'm saying!!!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stressedparent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2009

Just returned from 7 nights at Hotel Croatia. Talking about the hotel first - close to airport so no long travel, reception on the ball no check in delays at all whole process very smooth. Rooms - quite small but have everything you need, safe, mini bar, balcony, nice updated bathroom etc. Hotel has 11 floors, get the 5th if you can as the pools (indoor and out) are accessed from here. Pool smallish but ideal for this time of year, never had to search for sunbed but might be more difficult in high season, bar right there together with restaurant for snacks, food here excellent. Main restaurant one floor down from pool off reception. Buffet but waiter service for drinks and any extras. All staff very helpful and efficient, never had to wait, sometimes the food ran out but with patience it was always replaced. Plenty to choose from each night. No complaints at all here. Cavtat is very pretty as is the rest of Croatia, walk down to the habour OK but difficult with all the steps, however I have had surgery not that long ago and still managed given time so dont be put off. Now for the extra comment. We flew with Thompson and one of our party was taken ill mid flight. I have to say the aircrew could not have been better. They provided every bit of comfort they could stayed with us all the way through, considered diverting and also arranged for an ambulance to meet us at the airport in Dubrovnik. Cannot praise them enough. Following on from that whilst at the hotel the same individual was very poorly and we needed a doctor and another hospital visit during two further nights. On these occasions I have to praise Ana the Thomson rep based at Hotel Croatia, she went well further than what was required of her and helped make a very scary time alot better than it could have been. Pleased to say we are all now safely home but will definitely be going back to Croatia and this hotel as overall for many reasons it was excellent. I found all the Croatian people we dealt with quiet but very kind and efficient and once you got to know them they had a great sense of humour..

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owencat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

Myself and my husband booked a last minute holiday to Croatia in May 2009. We had no idea what to expect from Croatia. However when we arrived it was extremley lush and very beautiful.
We booked through Thomson Holidays, so we had a coach transfer built into the holiday. This worked very well. Cavtat (the town the hotel is based) is only a 10 minute drive from the airport, so within 1 hour of touching down we were in the hotel.
The first thing you will notice is that the hotel is HUGE!
When we checked in I asked the receptionist if the room was sea facing, he said that we could have a sea view, but we would pay a suppliment for it, I said that I didnt want to pay a suppliment, to this he asked us to wait a few minutes until he had booked other travellers in. At the end he gave us a key fob, and said that it was sea facing. When we go the the room (4 floor) we were really pleased with it, it had a king size bed a, flat screen tv, chair and stool and dressing table, and the bathroom as also a good size with toiletries and bathrobes available. The view was great too.
The breakfast in the hotel is great - plenty to choose from, which included, cereals, hot food, pastries and lots lots more -l all of it was really good quality
We were on Half board, which always worries us, as we are both vegetarian, but there was plenty of cold starters to choose from, and plenty of delicious puddings too.
The only negative thing was the hot main courses were limited, and one night there was nothing available, but when we queried that they made us some pasta and some roasted vegetables - which was really good.
On the whole the meals were really good. The only thing is the drinks you have with your evening meal are quite expensive (about £3 for a coke) but i suppose thats what you might expect from a 5 star hotel.
The town is about a 10 minute walk down 126 steps, I mention the number of steps because its OK going down them, but its hard work coming back up them! you have to be pretty fit to manage them.
The hotel do run a service down to the town, but you have to pay, and its quite expensive.
It also says that there is a Hotel Beach - this isnt really true as it is more of a terrace with sun loungers on it, but if you just want to sunbath the hotel also has a big swimming pool with lots of sun loungers and there is also an area that is facing the sea which is a nice sun trap
The harbour is a great place to sit and people watch and there are bars/restaurants all along the front - we had lunch out down there quite a few times, and the drinks were extremely cheap (about £1.30 for a large wine) and the food was also cheap - sandwiches were about £2.
The bus to Dubrovnik is worth going on its only £1.50 and it takes about half an hour, and are every half an hour. The run on time and are clean. The drivers are all really helpful so if you dont know where to get off you can ask them to let you know and they will shout down the bus to let you know when its your turn to get off.
There is also a boat that takes you and this is about £11 return
The coast is absolutely beautiful, and with hardly any build up areas, its just so lovely.
Whole in whole I would recommend Croatia to almost anyone, and particularly with the poor euro rate, they have the KUNA out there and so your not ripped off.
We would definately go back.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank showeryday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2009

Visited here on holidays with two teenagers. We loved it. We paid slightly extra for the evening meal which turned out to be great value even though we didnt use it every evening. Cavtat is beautiful. Girls loved it. Dont go on the Safari. You end up driving around fields in an abttered jeep and viiting the organisers cousins in the Mountains. Dont go to the fish dinner on the Quay. It seems that some of the staff run it but the value and teh atmosphere in the vallage are much better. Overall a great time in a wonderful place

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_O'Reilly_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews