We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Ranked #2 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 23 July 2010

Recently returned from Hotel Croatia and thought it was a great place to stay. We paid extra for a sea view room which was really worth it. These rooms are newly furnished to a good standard and are kept very clean on a daily basis. The bathroom had a large ceiling shower and a smaller one over a bath which had rails if you needed help getting out. There was a large Lg flat screen television, but we only used it to watch a bit of the cup final. The view is out to sea and is nice and relaxing on an evening. The restaurant I thought had absolutley everything you could think of. For breakfast they would make you an omlette of your choice and fry eggs while you waited, There was all sorts of cereal and even porridge. The bread was the home made type and came in many different varieties. Evening meals were just as good with many choices of meat and fish, with a salad bar and puddings to die for, or for the slimmers fresh, and tinned fruit and melon. You give your room number on entering the restaurant and then can sit anywhere you like. The pool looked nice with extra special padded sunbeds but we didn't use these as we went down to the rocks at the back of the hotel where you have a choice of bathing, be it nude or not. The water is crystal clear, no jelly fish. There is a problem with steps down to the harbour front, up hill is a killer. They do however have a hotel buggy to transport you, but sometimes the battery is flat. The only thing I can complain about is the expensive drinks, water was about £2 for a small bottle.
Cavtat is a beautiful harbour town, with many small bars and restuarants. We didn't have meals out at night but at lunch time came down to the very good Atlas bar who sell pizza and pasta which we found very reasonable and delicious. Hello to Lucy at the bar. All in all a great place to stay, and definately the best hotel in Cavtat.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank realramblers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,234
    1,089
    287
    52
    18
See reviews for
472
1,711
37
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,035)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2010

We stayed for one week on half board basis.
Hotel is big and totally lacks character. We had a seaview room with balcony which was OK. Bathroom was well laid out with a decent shower and plenty of space to put toiletries. The three main lifts really struggled to cope with the number of people at peak meal times.
The biggest disappointment was the food. It was a buffet service for both breakfast and dinner. Seating is ad hoc and we were often left searching for a table to sit at. Hot food is left in an uncovered servery and it was never, ever hot. Dinner was a real non event and was more like being at a holiday camp, not a 5* hotel. We actually managed two meals without any member of staff talking to us!!
We would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank burnleyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroatiaHotel, General Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 26 October 2010
Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.
We appreciate all the observations you have made and intend to look into all the aspects that can be amended. Allow me to tell you that we are in implementation of a Quality Program that is directly addressing that our standards of service are reached at all times.
I hope to see you a second time with us, we will personally take care of exceeding your expectations.

With best regards,

Camilo Soza
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 July 2010

This is a wonderful hotel in a wonderful setting.... it just couldn't be better in its location. Rooms are contemporary and a good size with a wide chair, with great bathrooms - room for all your bits, brilliant showers. Staff are all very friendly - food is buffet which we like for choice and all but one night was excellent. A few querky bits for a 4+ star ..... if you spend too long getting your next course they think you have gone and clear the table ... very apologetic when we returned and worked out which was my wine and brought it back to me ... I think they should have gone and got a new glass immediately.
We used the stairs all the time, and the lights in two of the stairwells were not replaced all week - must have been a problem we think as most jobs were being attended to as they were found. Great pool, and the two beaches are also good. You have to like steps - it is 126 from the bottom to the hotel, and then always up and down to eat, go to the pool, go to the rocks, go to room - very toned!!
Brilliant place and so good to stay somewhere superb, and in a great location and be able to get to Dubrovnik and other trips by boat or bus really easily. Just wonderful.
Just one note .... the hotel was just over half full when we were there and that was superb - we always got a terrace seat etc. So when full i.e. around now I am not sure how it would be amongst 1000 guests.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DevonJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroatiaHotel, Hotel Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 27 July 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Besides one stairway from pool to beach, second one from front of the hotel to the beach, there is also a walkway without stairs. Also we have electric car to drive guests those 100 meters.
We were delighted to have welcomed you and hope to see you back soon.

With kind regards,

Željko Rešetar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

I have just returned from a weeks stay at this hotel and I must say it really is lovely.

The location is great, only a 5 min walk to the centre of things, the steps are a challange but didnt bother us, there is a golf buggy that will bring you down and back up to hotel again if you wish.

The rooms are fab, very comfy and mod. All the amenities that you need. Would highly recommend paying the little bit extra for a sea view.

I wouldnt go half board again, whilst the food in the hotel's resturants is lovely the buffet dinner is just ok. There are some lovely resturants in the village that you could try.

All in all this hotel is lovely, a bit more expensive than most but worth that little bit extra.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phobie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroatiaHotel, Hotel Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 27 July 2010
Dear Guest,

It is always a pleasure to hear that our guests are satisfied with our hotel and service. Thank you for taking time to review our hotel.
We hope you will stay with us again in the near future.

With kind regards,

Željko Rešetar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Very comfortable Hotel. Clean and tidy, helpful staff, good location (yes the steps are steep, but you get used to them and it helps to burn off lunch).
A good selection at breakfast but the evening meal is a bit of a let down. We chose to eat more in Cavtat as there are many good places to eat (I think one of our favorites was called Ciprianis).
The facilities at the hotel are fantastic. We never had to search for a sun bed you just need to ask and the chaps down at the beach and they find you a sun bed then bring you cushons, towels and a umbarella.
You can get to the town centre in about 10 minutes.
I would prefer if the package companies that go to the hotel would negotiate a deal for bed and breakfast.
Would I stay there again? Absolutley!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StubStAlbans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroatiaHotel, Hotel manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 27 July 2010
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear that you spent enjoyable holiday with us.

Would we like to see you again? Absolutely! 


With kind regards,

Željko Rešetar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
truro
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2010

We have just got back from a holiday in Croatia in June 2010. The hotel, sat, slighly imposing, on a cliff overlooking the beautiful Cavtat, was a pleasing place to stay for a relaxing week.

We have a few points, but not many, mainly about the dining facilities, room facilities and drink prices.

Dining -We stayed on a 'half board' basis during our stay and experienced the hotel's 'free for all' buffet restaurant set-up. We were impressed with the selection but not so impressed with the layout of the food and quality of the food offered. But, it was what we expected for the deal we were on. Breakfast is definately better than dinner but eating out in Cavtat is expensive so I would definately do half board again.

Drinks - These are expensive. The hotel is very expensive to drink in but Cavat is slightly cheaper to drink in. Cavat is only a two minute walk away.

Room Service - We arrived to our room with a case full of clothes, some which, having been in the case for a long flight, needed to be ironed. I have always had the opportunity in other hotels, around the world, to order an iron and ironing board from house keeping. After ringing reception I discovered this was not possible as it was a safety hazard. They suggested I place my items in the laundry and they would come and collect them. It would have cost me approx £50 for them to iron both my partner's and my items. I was appalled at this and refused to pay and therefore spent the week in creased clothes!

Cavtat is beautiful and a very relaxing part of the world. We would recommend this hotel but do take a travel iron.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroatiaHotel, Hotel Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 27 July 2010
Dear Guest,

We are glad you spent a relaxing vacation with us.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in hotel Croatia in the near future.

With kind regards,

Željko Rešetar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2010

Because of my wife's spinal osteoporosis, I would have rejected this hotel had not the general manager been one of those with the wisdom to respond to Tripadvisor reviews. His reassurance that the Croatia Hotel could accommodate people with reduced mobility decided us, and we had a very enjoyable week's holiday. Through our travel agent, Cancellation Holidays, we'd requested a lower floor room and were allocated one close to reception and the lift to the main restaurant. It had a good sized balcony and a great sea view. Comforatble bed, good aircon, and a wet-room style bathroom to which we oldies took time to adapt.

The golf buggy was quickly available at reception for the ride to the "beach" and could be summoned for the ride back at a certain time or from the beach restaurant.
The beaches here are man-made,but the water is clean and some of the scenery is spectacular, the hotel gardens are pleasant, and the walk round the hotel peninsula is beautiful, although only for the able-bodied for the most part.

We will always remember the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff at this hotel, from the reception and porterage staff (who drive the buggy) to those in the restaurant. As to the food and wine, we had no complaints at all, enjoying a wide variety of breakfast and dinner there every day.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aust39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CroatiaHotel, Hotel Manager at Hotel Croatia Cavtat, responded to this review, 27 July 2010
Dear Guest,

It was all our pleasure welcoming you in our hotel and we were happy having you here. Many thanks for the review, we are delighted you enjoyed everything and we hope to see you back with us.
With kind regards,

Željko Rešetar
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,098 reviews
0.7 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
9.3 mi away
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
Hotel Dubrovnik Palace
#7 of 68 in Dubrovnik
2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Valamar Dubrovnik President Hotel
9.6 mi away
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
Valamar Lacroma Dubrovnik
#14 of 68 in Dubrovnik
1,837 reviews
9.3 mi away
Hotel More
Hotel More
#10 of 68 in Dubrovnik
943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Croatia Cavtat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Croatia Cavtat

Property: Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Address: Frankopanska 10, Cavtat 20207, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#2 Family Hotel in Cavtat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Croatia Cavtat 5*
Number of rooms: 487
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Croatia is among the leading five-star hotels on the Adriatic. It is the ideal base for exploring Dubrovnik, whether you are here for leisure or business. Hotel Croatia offers private beaches both on the open water and a protected bay, indoor and outdoor pools, hiking trails, state of the art wellness center and award-winning dining facilities. Located between International Airport and Dubrovnik, Cavtat is the perfect location for holiday or business trip. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, HotelQuickly, Ebookers and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Croatia Cavtat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croatia Hotel Cavtat
Croatia Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing