We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, quiet, small hotel”
Review of Castelletto

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Castelletto
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice, quiet, small hotel”
Reviewed 26 August 2011

This hotel is very small - about a dozen rooms. The staff are very friendly and helpful. We had a superior room with balcony, and it was fine, with a lovely view across the bay.
The pool is small, and so may not be ideal for kids, but for dipping in to cool off, it's perfect. The smallness of the hotel and the cosy pool area meant it was easy to strike up conversations with other visitors.
It is up a BIG hill! My husband and I are fairly young, but I needed his help up the hill most days. I did feel it got easier through the week, and maybe helped work off some of the pizzas I had been eating! Planes go over quite often, so if you like silence, this might not be the resort for you - however, we didn't find it bothered us at all.

Room Tip: Worth paying a bit more for a superior room (that comes with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kylie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    59
    15
    11
    0
See reviews for
26
157
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The hotel is up the hill from the main town. You would not want to walk it more than once or twice a day. Do not plan to walk here with your luggage from the bus station. The hotel itself is nice with clean rooms and a little pool area. They arranged a 5:30am van ride to the airport for us.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbag12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2011

Really enjoyed our stay, the staff were lovely - very friendly and helpful - and it was a very nice place.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cornwallchar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alabama
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2011

A wonderful find! I stayed here last month for one night after a 15 day cruise. I chose it because of the closeness to the airport and I had to fly out the next morning. Little did I know how much I would enjoy this place. Very charming, close to little town, quiet, and owner was very accommodating taking me to the airport. I was very relaxed here and found myself wishing I had more time to stay. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hooverfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester UK
Level Contributor
105 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

An excellent accomodation choice above the village of Cavtat which is around 16k from the old town of Dubrovnik. 
The bus to Dubrovnik picks up 100m from the converted villa just at the end of the quiet lane to the house. 

The rooms are all well appointed with spacious beds, air con and En-Suite shower rooms. 
Its worth booking a superior room if avsilable as the extra space and the balcony views of the bay are well worth the small premium. 

The staff are very friendly and helpful especially Miriirina one of the duty managers. 

The walk back from the  resort area at the waterfront is up a steep hill but it is a pleasent walk of only 10mins away from the road through some trees with pleasent views of the bay looking back towards Dubrovnik. 

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blobber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Errol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2011

This is our third stay at Castelletto - first was in 2005 under the original British owners, second was in 2009 after it had been sold on and now again in June 2011. The basic rules remain - a lovely clean, small, quiet hotel in the beautiful village of Cavtat about 10 miles south of Dubrovnik. A small plunge pool has been added and there has been a slight reworking of the dining spaces to allow for breakfast outdoors under the shade of a giant magnolia tree, the staff are different but remain friendly, attentive and helpful. The rooms are compact but the solid wooden furniture purchased by the original owners is standing the test of time and if anything is getting better with age. The property would benefit from a coat of paint on the outside and a freshening up of the green painted wooden areas, but overall it doesn't affect the quality of your stay there. It's proximity to Cavtat and the ability to jump on a 25 min ferry to Dubrovnik old town makes this hotel the perfect location to enjoy the beauty of the Croatian coastline without having to pay the extra sums for accommodation within Dubrovnik itself.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank superali99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2010

Lovely small hotel hotel with beautiful views of Cavtat sea and mountains. Situated above Cavtat town, 5 mins walk down hill, 10-15 mins uphill, though perfectly manageable, alternatively one bus stop out of town on regular Dubrovnik bus route. Small swimming pool a bonus after walk uphill on a hot day. Although no hairdryer in room, easily available from reception. Lovely breakfast, good selection for a small hotel, on quieter days we were lucky enough to have breakfast of our choice cooked personally for us. Tea and instant coffee available, but staff will make fresh, any type of coffee. Airport transfer at no charge. All staff very friendly and helpful, nothing too much trouble.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank N0madder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
2,509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
1,026 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#9 of 17 in Cavtat
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.1 mi away
Villa Radovic
Villa Radovic
#4 of 17 in Cavtat
175 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bacan Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castelletto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castelletto

Property: Castelletto
Address: Frana Laureana 22, Cavtat 20207, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
#7 Family Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Castelletto 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and HRS so you can book your Castelletto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castelletto Hotel Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing