We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice view, but poor service”
Review of Tija Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tija Apartments
Ranked #7 of 21 Cavtat B&B and Inns
withnail1969
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice view, but poor service”
Reviewed 4 November 2012

The quality of the apartments here varies.The first apartment we were put in was of poor quality - dark, gloomy and mouldy, not helped by a couple of lights being out and the gas not having been connected. Fortunately we were able to move to a second apartment which although it was smaller, was brighter and more modern. It also had a nice big terrace with a great view of the bay. If we were reviewing just this apartment our rating would certainly have been higher.
Our biggest negative was the attitude of the owners when we had a breakage in the apartment. We had no issue with paying for this, but what made things unpleasant was the fact that we were shouted at and that the issue remained unresolved for a number of days. It's fair to say that this affected our enjoyment of the holiday.
There was also the issue of air conditioning. In the first apartment the batteries were missing from the controls, in the second apartment the whole controls were missing! Upon requesting to be able to use the air conditioning, we were first asked why we wanted to use it, then told not to use it for too long and to make sure the doors were closed.
All of this felt very unprofessional to us and we were disappointed by the way we were treated.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank withnail1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    10
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
8
18
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2012

Can only endorse what others have said about the location - stunning views, short stroll from all amenities - and about the owners - you could not wish for better hosts. One word of caution, and this refers only to apartment 7, we have no knowledge of the others. It has one double bedroom with separate kitchen/living room + bathroom with balcony overlooking the town. Not big but typical. We found it rather dark and gloomy with basic but adequate facilities; rather more old-fashioned than the pix suggest. For the price we paid (perhaps we paid too much?) we would have expected something a bit brighter/more modern. Having said that, would we book it again? Yes, yes, yes. A great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank andypandyisasaddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

Great holiday in the Tija Apartments. Sandra, Maro and parents are fantastic hosts. Nothing is too much trouble for them, even letting us use their own apartment for showering after a day of sunbathing waiting for our late flight home. The apartments are in a fabulous spot being a very short distance from supermarket, bakery, pharmacy and bus station. My friend and I are less mobile then we would like to be but we managed very well and the view from the apartments is breathtaking overlooking the harbour.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Freda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Our booked accommodation was not available instead we were given a beautiful luxury 2 bedroom apartment, it was the last night of 2 weeks in beautiful croatia. Sandra was extremely helpful and even drove us to the airport the next day, cavtat is a lovely town and the apartment had great views. Thanks again Sandra

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lesley16021957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2012

I had a perfect three days in Cavtat. The apartment is located 50 metres from the main street and you are in the town and on the shore in minutes.

The apartment is modern, clean and Maro who deals with the booking is very friendly and helpful. If he offers to sort out a taxi for you, it will as cheap as any taxi in the area.

The view allows for some great sunsets. Perfect for the lazy photographer. I will be definitely returning!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Great week in Cavtat staying at the Tija apartments. Owners very helpful with booking and arranged for a taxi to collect us at the airport on arrival. We stayed in the middle two bedroomed apartment and my father in an ensuite double room in the adjoining building, which he was also very pleased with. The apartment was extremely spacious and clean and had everything which we required for our week's stay including a very comfortable king size bed (and an amazing Golden Eagle tethered to a tree trunk just outside the bedroom window - one of three which Maro owns). The apartments are situated at the bottom of the steep hill out of Cavtat and are private and quiet yet just a short stroll from the numerous bars and restaurants. Great bakery just around the corner for breakfast/pastries/sandwiches etc. The jewel in the crown however was the view from the balcony out to the bay and beautiful Cavtat - absolutely stunning.

Favourite bars were Poseidon to watch the sunsets and the water polo and the Ancora Wine Bar. On the last night of our holiday we were lucky enough to witness the Cavtat Carnival which was great - procession through the town, drummers, stilt walkers, acrobats, dancers, fire dancers - a great atmospheric night to top off a wonderful week. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gerryjackieash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2012

We have not even been to the Tija Apartments yet but have been absolutely delighted with the service we have received from Maro whilst booking our stay. He has been prompt and most helpful in answering all my questions and in arrangements for our payment, he is also arranging our transfers. Nothing has been too much trouble for him and his English is excellent, making correspondence very smooth and reassuring. Can't wait for our visit to the Tija Apartments - we know Cavtat is beautiful so hopefully we have made the right choice for our accommodation - I'm very sure we have!
Jackie & Bob, Bristol

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank JackieBob2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
2,514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
1,027 reviews
0.2 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.3 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#9 of 17 in Cavtat
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Radovic
Villa Radovic
#4 of 17 in Cavtat
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tija Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tija Apartments

Property: Tija Apartments
Address: Konavoska 4, Cavtat 20207, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tija Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tija Apartments are located in an amazing position with awesome views of the Old city of Cavtat, Cavtat Bay, mountains and the city of Dubrovnik. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Tija Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing