We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special Place”
Review of Cavtat Old Town

Cavtat Old Town
Book In Advance
More Info
US$37.65*
and up
Sea Kayaking Tour from Cavtat
More Info
US$423.54*
and up
Cavtat and Konavle: the Cradle of Sericulture Private Tour from Dubrovnik
Ranked #1 of 22 things to do in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
London
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Special Place”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

I spent a week in the Dubrovnik area this summer and during that time visited Dubrovnik, Mostar and Montenegro, but this little town was my favourite. I loved the beautiful/peaceful walk along the coast and all the little spots along the path where you could jump into the clear pristine water and experience your own slice of heaven.

In the town by the harbour where all the gorgeous yachts are parked, there are nice little cafes where you can sit and drink coffee and watch the world go. My only regret is that I found this town on the last day of my trip. The next time I come to this part of the world, this is where I will stay.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Eva049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,155
    524
    69
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
50 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“A restful a place as I could imagine”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The old town of Cavtat is genuinely old. It was founded by the Greeks, occupied by the Roman's, overrun by the Avars and Slavs, redeveloped in the middle-ages, became part of Dubrovnik's City State was ruled by the Venetians and the Austro-Hungarians before forming part of the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes which became Yugoslavia and finally becoming part of the independent nation of Croatia having been occupied by the Serbs during the Yugoslav wars.

With such a complex history it is amazing to find the town so calm peaceful and picturesque, yet that is exactly what it is.

The Roman Walls are still evident in parts of the town, the Italian influence has a big impact on the food. The buildings are a fascinating mix of middle-European formality mixed with a relaxed Mediterranean feel. If Dubrovnik is the 'Pearl of the Adriatic' Cavtat is a small, gentle slice of that pearl.

An early morning walk through the town shows Cavtat at its best, before all the restaurants cover up the old buildings with their awnings and adverts the town looks much as it did 200 to 300 years ago. The sun-bleached stone and the sturdy doors hide small interiors shaped to fit, and cooled by, the natural shape of the hill beyond. Cavtat, though it is now a busseleing tourist town is also a great destination for someone who wants to relax in the pace of an ancient please which may be the same in 200 years as it is today.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank HaydnB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shifnal, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A very pleasant place to stay”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

We booked to stay at the Albatros Hotel for our first visit to Croatia. The 10 minute walk to Cavtat was just fantastic. The views across the bay, especially at sunset are overwhelming. You arrive at what you might think is the main harbour, which is quite small. but a short stroll through the main street takes you to a much larger harbour with a great selection of bars and shops. We followed this up with a walk around the peninsula, which again gave great views of the blood red sunsets. If you want a trip out of Cavtat then Big Mike is the person to see. There are 2 banks in the town if you need extra cash. This is a great place to relax for a few days.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely resort”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Lovely buildings. Lots of restaurants and cafés.not too busy. Ideal to watch the luxury yachts. Quite small and can get monotonous after a few nights. Welcomed peace from busy Dubrovnik

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Noreenjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
greece
Level 6 Contributor
60 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“You have to visit”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

What a beautiful old town ! Worth a visit ,just walk around the bay and enjoy the scenic views, if the weather is good you can see Dubrovnik,and after have a dinner in an one of nice restaurants.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank falydemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cavtat Old Town also viewed

 
Cavtat, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
Dubrovnik, Dubrovnik-Neretva County
 

Been to Cavtat Old Town? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing