We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place, great location, great staff”
Review of Hotel Supetar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Supetar
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2013

What a delight. Great location, great 3 star hotel, great staff. This was our 4th visit to Cavtat and our 2nd stay at Supetar. The hotel did not disappoint. Reception was great and they remembered us from last year - they even gave us the same room at no extra cost and the room had a great view over the harbour.
The staff were great Petar the Manager was very polite, courteous and attentive. The reception staff - Tea, Ivanko and another colleague in particular were most helpful. Waiting staff remembered us from last year. Buffet breakfast much improved from last year including eggs cooked to your liking.
Housekeeping was spotless and the room was very clean with new bath towels provided daily.
A lovely feature is that you can use the sister Hotel Croatia hotel's facilities free of charge.
A real jewel that we would recommend and definitely revisit

Room Tip: Try to get a sea view even if it costs you a little more
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AresElembty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supetar_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Supetar, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2013

Dear guests,

We thank you very much for this lovely comments.
For us it is a great pleasure to read such reviews.
We like to communicate with our guests as much as we can and in that way we try to find out what can we improve.
Like you mentioned we made some changes in breakfast, we changed completly our evening meals, we implemented light lunch , coffee & cake.... We changed TV's in the rooms implemented mini bars ...
We are trying to make our guests feel just like home.
Once again thank you and see you again..
Best regards
Petar Zafranović
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (276)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Supetar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 276 reviews

Reviewed 6 June 2013

have just returned from a week stay at this charming hotel, The location of the hotel is fantastic ,right on the front where you can sit on the sun roof watching the boats coming and going in the harbour. The hotels rooms are basic and quite small but for the time spent in them they are more than adequate, décor is a bit dated but all adds to the charm of the hotel ,the staff are all friendly especially the waiter in the dining room who served lovely coffee and cake in the afternoon for a very reasonable cost.
Having stayed in larger hotels for the past few years this hotel was a little peace of heaven in the most beautiful place I have visited and will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ajrawly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supetar_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Supetar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2013

Dear gusets,

There is a lot more to say but in a shot way, you said it all.
We thank you very much for commenting our hotel on Trip Advisor site and we are very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel.
Once again thank you and we are looking forward of welcoming you again soon in our hotel Supetar.

Best regards
Petar Zafranović
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My partner and I stayed at this hotel for a week in June 2012.

I had been to Cavtat 5 years before and had coveted the location of the Hotel Supetar, as my friend and I had been staying in a lovely apartment but it was located up what came to be known as “the pigging hill”!

The location of this hotel is second to none. A word of warning though, taxis are not permitted along the promenade so it was a bit of a trek from where we were dropped off with our luggage upon arrival and back again on our last day.

The staff were all lovely, so welcoming and helpful. Our room was conveniently located next to a door out on to the gorgeous garden, where we spent many happy hours with the tortoises.
The room was very compact (I lost count of how many times we caught our legs on the corner of the bed) but spotlessly clean. The bed was very comfortable with good quality bed linen. The bathroom was nice and again spotless. Unfortunately the air conditioning wasn’t working for most of our stay which made it difficult to sleep. I must stress again the cleanliness, the towels were changed daily and the bed linen several times in the week. The housekeeper on our section was very nice and accommodating.

Breakfast was a bit hit and miss. There was plenty of variety and choice, on some days it was lovely, but others a bit greasy with rubbery scrambled eggs. The orange juice seemed to get more and more watered down as the week went on. However, the waiters totally outshone any negatives, they were very efficient and so lovely to us. Plus it was fabulous to be sat on the terrace overlooking the sea. We didn’t eat at the hotel in the evenings but other guests said that it was okay.

The lovely Tea on reception made some recommendations of restaurants for us and she was spot on every time! We didn’t take advantage of using the facilities at the sister Hotel Croatia. Purely because we liked the beach and bar area more or less opposite the hotel for sunning ourselves and taking a dip in the crystal clear Adriatic.

Overall, we would definitely stay here again, but perhaps upgrade in the hope of a more spacious room. The location, ambience and staff override any of the niggles.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wellychic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supetar_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Supetar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Dear guests,
We are very glad that you were satisfied with hotel services and our staff. Like you said hotel is located in the center of Cavtat and we are "the place" to be if you do not want to walk a lot but have everything close by. Promenade,beach,bars,restaurants all you need is a minute away..
Just for information, hotel is opening an a la carte restaurant on the tarace (where we serve breakfast ). It will be worth visiting..
We hope that we will have a pleasure of welcoming you again in our hotel .
Best regards
Petar Zafranović
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2013

This hotel is ok if you are on a budget and dont mind basic rooms/food. We stayed for 10 days, just bed and breakfast, the breakfast wasn't great but a varied selection of cooked items, meats, cheeses, bread and cereals, the good thing about breakfast was the terrace which you eat from, awesome views. The rooms were also basic standard, we had a room on the ground floor at the back of the hotel which was fine for the amount of time we spent in it! Over hotel food and room standard but good value for money and staff were very helpful and friendly. The huge draw to this hotel is the location, right by the fantasic harbour bars and restaurants.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LovelyTracey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supetar_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Supetar, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for taking the time and commenting our hotel on Trip advisor site.
Like every other hotel we have some thing that need to be better or upgraded and some things that are very good.
That is the reason why we need your comments.
To know what you as a guest need and to know where we make mistakes.
We hope that you will give us a second chance and visit us again soon in sunny Cavtat.
Best regards
Petar Zafranović
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2012

Sorry this review is a little late.

My husband and I spent a week at Hotel Supetar in June and we fell in love with Croatia!

The room was clean and served a purpose, nothing too fancy, but exactly what you would expect for a 3 star. The aircon was a bit temperamental but not enough to complain.

The breakfast was the usual mix of cooked / breads / cereal etc which was absolutely fine. The evening meals were pleasant enough, but being buffet style the choice was limited and we prefer to eat out at different places in the evening. They have an indoor restaurant and a terrace restaurant overlooking the sea, where we ate breakfast every morning, watching the impressive yachts coming in!

The waiters were very friendly and welcoming and humoured me when I attempted to speak Croatian!! The maids also seemed pleasant.

The location is fantastic - just a few metres from the beautiful Adriatic sea. We bought some diving shoes for about £4 as its best not the venture into the sea barefoot because the rocks can be painful to walk on (and apparently there are sea urchins as well). Some people may not like the fact that there aren’t miles of sandy beaches, but I preferred it cos I always find that sand gets everywhere and the lack of sand swilling around in the water means the water is crystal clear.

The hotel is by a peninsula that you can stroll around in around half an hour, underneath the shade of gorgeous smelling pine trees that arch over the paths towards the sea. Stunning!

The best thing about Supetar Hotel in my opinion is the fact there is no pool (no pool equals no kids!!), but there is a beautiful garden with chairs and sunbeds and 3 tortoises roaming around who we befriended! We went to the sister hotel (Croatia Hotel) which is about a 10 minute walk up the hill to use their pool on a couple of occasions. The pool and hotel at Croatia Hotel are both lovely because it’s a big shiny 5 star!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jewels-L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supetar_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Supetar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear guests,
It is never too late for such a nice comments. We thank you very much for taking the time and commenting our hotel in the site. It is a great pleasure to hear that you fall in love with Croatia.
We are very glad that you enjoyed in our hotel and had a nice holiday.
Now when you are in love we hope to see you again soon in our hotel.
Best regards
Petar Zafranović
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We have just returned from a fantastic 2 week holiday staying at the Supetar Hotel Cavtat. We found it to be exactly as described - small and friendly. We have stayed in many of the larger Thomson Hotels and now find that the small hotels offer a much more personal experience although they obviously don't have the same level of facilities. Hotel Supetar is in a wonderful location, right on the pedestrian harbour side with its selection of bars and cafes and within 5 minutes walking of the bus stop and Information Centre. The double glazed tinted glass windows with additional blinds cut out all light and noise so ensuring a good night's sleep. We enjoyed all the food and were only tempted to eat out on one occasion. The salad selections were varied and the pasta dishes and fish dishes were great. In our two weeks holiday, there was not one identical meal, so well done Chef! Vlaho and Pero, our waiters, were a great double act and their cheery welcomes made mealtimes a pleasure. Eating outside on the restaurant terrace with its spectacular views of the harbour and promenade made dining an unforgettable experience. Conveniently the tap water is safe to drink, so dispensing with the need to buy any bottled water. Unusually, all the safe deposit boxes are free to use.
As some people have mentioned there are areas that are in need of updating and perhaps next year the towels will be replaced! All in all, it is a super little hotel, very clean and comfortable and a great base for exploring this beautiful area of Croatia.
My advice for trips is to do your own and make use of the free advice from the Information Centre. They will give you bus timetables and ferry timetables. The Elaphiti islands are lovely. We visited two of the islands, Kolocep and Lopud and enjoyed spectaular walks on both. You do need walking shoes and to be sure footed as the paths are stoney and steep in places. Catch the number 10 bus to Dubrovnic harbour (20K one way) ferry tickets (19K one way) to any of the 3 islands. First ferry 10am out 6.30pm back. Another good bus trip is to Molunat along the Konavle valley for the princely sum of 10K. If you're in Cavtat on a Sunday then the Cilipi folk dancing is worth seeing. Get the local bus to Cilipi for 25K (one way) that leaves at 9am, entrance to the village and folk display is 45K. The bus is there at the end to bring to back after the dancing finishes.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank YAG50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supetar_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Supetar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for taking the time and commenting our hotel on Trip Advisor site.
We are aware that some elements in our hotel need to be changed and we are planing to make some changes this winter while the hotel is closed.
Best regards from Vlaho, Pero and whole hotel Supetar team.
Petar Zafranović
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I wrote a review on hotel Supetar exactly one year ago after a visit that was very enjoyable. On making our second visit 7th to 14th October 2012 one year on the big question was, had it changed at all. The answer to this question was soon forthcoming because it had changed, it had got even better. One thing that had not changed was the hard working staff, they were all still there. It was refreshing to find the same attentive girls on the reception desk who are helpful at all times as well as being friendly and full of good humor. The same very thorough lady who keeps the hotel and rooms in a superb state of cleanliness. She works extremely hard to ensure all guests come back to a clean room at the end of the day. I must mention that the head waiter was also the same as last year. He is on top of the game at all times and along with his assistant they make meal times a pleasure and they both impressed all of the guests during our stay. Breakfast consists of tea coffee or fruit juice a selection of cooked meats, cereals toast and butter. If you prefer there is the more traditional bacon and sausage with poached, scrambled eggs or boiled eggs and you may add an omelet/pancake if you wish. The evening meal differs daily and offers a choice of meat or fish plus all the usual vegetables, there is a choice of soups and salads to start with and a selection of sweets to end your meal. All very nicely prepared and while there may not be the choice offered by many of the larger hotels it is nevertheless very enjoyable and there is plenty of it. The sun deck is a great improvement this year with brand new loungers and mattresses plus there are many subtle improvements to the hotel in general. It is worth knowing that by staying at the Supetar Hotel one gets to enjoy many of the facilities offered by the sister Hotel Croatia which is just ten minutes walk around the picturesque bay. These include swimming, sauna, gymnasium to name just a few. The hotel supetar reception staff will let you know what is available at any given time. Supetar is situated in the old part of Cavtat and as such exhibits all the charms of the surrounding buildings, We had a seaview room overlooking the bay. There is no passing traffic as only local people can bring their cars into this part of the town and this makes life very peaceful. Like last year I cannot speak highly enough about hotel supetar and its amazing hard working and dedicated team. We will return for the third time next year and as long as this team stay together then i feel Supetar will be even better.

Room Tip: We had room 201 which faces the bay. It benefits from having two separate windows which can be opene...
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Colin V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supetar_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Supetar, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2012

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for this wonderfull comments.
We are very glad that you liked the changes that we made this year .
We are already planing to make some changes for next year.
It will be a surprise for yours next visit. We hope you will like it...
Until we meet again
Best regards
Petar Zafranović
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,767 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#5 of 18 in Cavtat
159 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 18 in Cavtat
263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Radovic
Villa Radovic
#4 of 18 in Cavtat
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Supetar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Supetar

Address: Obala A. Starcevica 27, Cavtat HR-20210, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range: £63 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Supetar 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming three-star hotel in Cavtat is just steps away from the beach and offers guests a more intimate setting to enjoy their Adriatic vacation. The charm of Croatia’s seaside towns is just outside your door, while back at the hotel you are served by a professional and knowledgeable staff. This area is an excellent base for exploring Dubrovnik and guests are invited to use the five-star amenities at the sister Hotel Croatia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Jet2Holidays , Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Supetar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Supetar Hotel Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing