We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic holiday” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Supetar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Supetar
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Certificate of Excellence
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic holiday”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

This hotel exceeded my expectations. The position is perfect - with a view over the bay and the magnificant boats in the harbour. The hotel was peaceful no door banging at all times through the night. Rooms were clean and bright and ours looked over the bay Breakfast was good and the staff were very cheeful nad helpful the hotel hold BBQ nights at at good price which includes beer and wine for £15pp

You can use the facilities at Hotel Croatia across the bay. Everyday we walked along the front and used the hotel's sun loungers and towels. This was the perfect place to sunbathe and swim in the clear sea. There are two pools at Hotel Croatia indoor and outdoor - but the sea is better - watch out for the sea urchins.

Cavtat is stunning! One of the prettiest places we have stayed in. The town has many bars and restaurants you will be spoilt for choice and all reasonably priced.

Dont use the travel companies transfers as a taxi takes only 10 minutes from airport to hotel but you do have to walk with your cases from bus station to hotel - about 5 minuts as the area is pedestrianised and permit controlled .

We will definitely go back to Cavtat and will stay at Supetar again. It was everything we wanted for a perfect holiday

Room Tip: Request a sea view and double bed when you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valjones2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supetar_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Supetar, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for taking the time and sharing your holiday experience from your hotel on the site.
We are proud to hear that you had a nice holiday in hotel Supetar and Cavtat.
If you would like to avoid that walk with your luggage through the village you just need to book your transfers with our reservations ( possible to find a company's web page Adriatic Luxury Hotels ) and they can take you directly to hotels reception.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you again.

Best regards
Petar Zafranović
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    89
    112
    33
    10
    5
See reviews for
31
180
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

We stayed for 7 nights in July 2014. We had booked a double bedroom but on arrival we were given a twin bedroom (i.e. two single beds). We are a couple, who unfortunately in 18 months of dating have never lived in the same country so were looking forward to a romantic couples holiday. When we spoke to a receptionist about having booked and paid for a double room, she told us 'It is because it's an old hotel'. But the next day we saw that other people had double beds, so we spoke to a different receptionist, and she just said 'I know your problem but we have no other rooms'. During our entire stay not one member of staff ever apologized for the mistake. We also weren't offered any alternatives, such as a room at the Hotel Croatia, or even a complimentary bottle of wine in the restaurant. There is clearly no knowledge of good customer service at this hotel. Even on our last day when we checked out and paid for our £2 bottle of water from the mini bar there was no offer to ignore this charge as a gesture of goodwill. Not having a double bedroom really did have a significant negative impact on our holiday and the staff didn't care at all.

The room itself was terribly small with two single beds touching toe to toe. I have never seen such a narrow, run down room - see photo. The shower door was broken and we were without shower gel for a few days because the cleaner did not check. On Sunday morning we were woken at 8.30am by the cleaner who entered our locked room. In my experience housekeeping should never be started until after check out time (10am at Hotel Supetar), cleaners certainly shouldn't be entering locked rooms before this time. Also the cleaning cart appears to live in the corridor - this is dangerous for young children!!! Breakfast is repetitive and never changes - there is cereal, bread, fried meat, eggs and some fruit. We also tried to use the currency exchange in offer at reception but were told they only convert currency to kuna, and can't convert kuna to euros.

There are a few positives to this hotel but not enough to recommend it to future travellers. The breakfast staff are very friendly, the location is excellent (although the hotel is easy to miss on first arrival and taxis cannot enter the street for the hotel), the terrace view is gorgeous (see photo) and I really liked the little library of books by reception left by previous travellers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank S M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supetar_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Supetar, responded to this review, 26 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your comments and for pointing out things that we need to improve.
We will definitely work on mentioned areas and try to improve as soon sa possible.
On behalf of the whole Supetar team I apologize for the inconvenience that you had with your room.

Sincerely yours
Petar Zafranović
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evesham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hotel was exactly what we wanted. The position is perfect - at the quiet end of the seafront overlooking the sea. The view from our bedroom window was amazing - try and book a sea view if you can. The hotel was peaceful and was perfect for all of us, including our teenage daughters. Breakfast was good - it must have been because the girls were there before us every morning! I think the pancakes had something to do with this plus the good wifi signal. The staff were very good particularly the very cheery main waiter.

A real bonus was the use of the facilities at Hotel Croatia across the bay. Everyday we walked along the front and made very good use of the hotel's sun loungers, umbrellas and towels. This was the perfect place to sunbathe and swim in the clear sea. We didn't use the pool, even though it looked lovely - we preferred the sea.

Cavtat is gorgeous! One of the prettiest places we have stayed in. The scenery is stunning. The little town with it's bars and restaurants were just what we needed and we couldn't resist the very well priced lovely ice cream! The restaurants cater for all budgets. My favourite was Desetka. The staff were great and the food lovely.

We did get a few mozzie bites so go prepared but didn't see any wasps and bees. That was a bonus. Another bonus is the easy transfer from the airport - no more than ten minutes by taxi. The aeroplanes go over Cavtat but this isn't a problem - we found it entertaining.

We will definitely go back to Cavtat and will stay at Supetar again. It was everything we wanted for a perfect holiday.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amandacorbes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supetar_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Supetar, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments.
We are proud to hear that You and Your family had a perfect holiday with us in hotel Supetar.
It is nice to hear that you liked Cavtat , our hotel, even pancakes and wi fi ...
Once again thank you for your comments and we are expecting you again soon in our hotel Supetar.

Best regards
Petar Zafranović
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel will suit anyone wanting great location, friendly service and spotless facilities. The restaurant serves up a good breakfast and great barbecues. Cannot fault it. Oh and Cavtat is a fab resort too!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Mukestrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supetar_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Supetar, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for your lovely comments.
It is a great pleasure to read such a nice comments.
Once again thank you for staying with us and we hope that you will be visiting us again soon.

Best regards
Petar Zafranović
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rye, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks in May. This hotel is ideally situated for a stay in Cavtat. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. We would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a pleasant and friendly atmosphere. The bedrooms and bathrooms are quite small but very clean. If we return to Cavtat we will definitely stay at the Supetar Hotel. Many thanks to the staff for helping to make this a holiday to remember!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supetar_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Supetar, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for such a lovely comments and thank you for commenting our hotel at the site.
We are proud to hear you had a holiday to remember with us in hotel Supetar.
All of us in hotel are trying to make our guests feel like at home and it seams that we are doing a good job.
Once again thank you very much for being our guests.

Best regards
Petar Zafranović
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hull, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

Hotel Supetar is ideally situated at the pedestrianised end of the seafront in Cavtat, having all the benefits but much less noise. It is owned by the same Group as the 5-star Hotel Croatia nearby, but seems to be the poor relation! Overall, it feels like it is on a reduced budget. Everywhere is spotless, but faded and a bit tired. No daytime facilities (ie: bar or snacks) mean that hardly anyone uses the Sun Terrace or Garden, which is a pity. No swimming pool. There is real potential here, but apparently not the funding to do anything. Restaurant food very average, but staff great. Rooms quite dark, but again very clean. Would recommend as a base for your holiday, but a bit of a dull experience as a venue.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cazbagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supetar_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Supetar, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you very much for commenting our hotel at the site.
Relation between hotels is more complicated than it seems on the first look.
I must admit that hotel Supetar has excellent relations with hotel Croatia after all our guests have possibility of using their facilities and we have a big support in all hotel aspects from front desk, f & b , housekeeping...
I agree with You completely when you say that we have real potential and i can promise you that this hotel will reach its potential but it will not happend in one year time...
Thank you for recommending our hotel and thank you for being our guest

Sincerely yours
Petar Zafranović
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bray
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed 1 night on our way home from Lopud Island and found Supetar hotel to be a nice tranquil small location with great potential. The sun terrace along with walled garden and wonderful restaurant really are great facilities, however the bedrooms alone do let the property down. Having said that the price is very competitive so what you lose in the bedroom you gain on overall pricing. The bedrooms just need updating while cleanliness is very good. The staff are very friendly while remaining professional and do allow them to assist you in all your needs especially transfers to and from Airport or the port of Gruz or old city of Dubrovnik. The hotel's position at the old harbour is ideal and adds again to the tranquility. Do eat in the restaurant as I believe you will be pleasantly surprised at freshness and price of the menu. The breakfast is good and again do ask for what you might like if it "appears" not to be on offer. The young hotel manager is charming and could not have made us more welcome. Of course the fact that Croatia were playing Brazil that night did add to the occasion! Thank you Petar and staff.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank courtmac62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Supetar_Hotel, Manager at Hotel Supetar, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear guests,

Thank you for staying with us in Hotel Supetar and now when you know how friendly our staff is, how beautiful facilities we have and how good restaurant we have we hope that your new visit will be a bit longer than just one night. (if necessary we will organise another car pulled out of sea :) )
Once again thank you for this nice comments and we are glad that you enjoyed your short stay with us.

Hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Petar Zafranović
Hotel manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 946 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,341 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Castelletto
Hotel Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.2 mi away
Villa Pattiera
Villa Pattiera
#6 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Radovic
Villa Radovic
#4 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Supetar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Supetar

Property: Hotel Supetar
Address: Obala A. Starcevica 27, Cavtat HR-20210, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Supetar 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This charming three-star hotel in Cavtat is just steps away from the beach and offers guests a more intimate setting to enjoy their Adriatic vacation. The charm of Croatia’s seaside towns is just outside your door, while back at the hotel you are served by a professional and knowledgeable staff. This area is an excellent base for exploring Dubrovnik and guests are invited to use the five-star amenities at the sister Hotel Croatia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Supetar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Supetar Hotel Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing