We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“2 star is being kind”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Remisens Hotel Epidaurus
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Cavtat
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“2 star is being kind”
Reviewed 11 December 2013

I stayed at the Epidaurus with my girlfriend and some friends in Aug 2013.

Summary:

If you want a cheap hotel that puts a roof over your head at night and something that passes for edible in your tummy then that is about all you can expect from this hotel, if you want anything more you should look elsewhere.

**The hotel**
Dated, battered, unkept gets the basics wrong. Our room had staines, smelt, overlooked a rubbish bin (that had 1000's of flies buzzing around them). Nothing to hang clothes on, balcony was considered an extra that you had to upgrade to (no place to dry wet clothes). There seems to be hundreds of local cats walking around the hotel and its grounds, some cats obviously been on the wrong end of a few fights.

**The pool**
Concrete hole in the ground filled with water. Very misleading photo in the brochures and website images we've seen. It was very cold but we were determined to use it. It's used a lot by the children's entertainment team, so you'd be swimming with a lot of kids jumping in or dancing around the edge of it (far from relaxing).

Sun beds were locked/chained together at night, times they would unchain them were unpredictable. There was a scrum for good sun positions, we gave up and sat away from the pool in the trees. At least we were not so crowded.

**Location**
This hotel is classed as being in Cavtat but in reality its a good 15 minute walk away from the marina/shops/bars you'd want to visit. It has a few local bars close by the hotel grounds but not many. It's boasts "beach front" location but that is stretching the term because its not much of a beach, in reality it has a ledge over the sea with 4 meter stretch of shale (painful to the feet) beach.

**Weather**
I couldn't fault it. Initially we had a storm for a day or so but that was apparently the first of the year and it was still hot.

**Food** The food was poor. Felt like a third-world refugee meal each time. You could bet that any vegetable not eat the night before we blended up into a soup for the following day. Most people ate what they offered but I ended up living on Pizza (reminded me of school canteen pizza) and the occasional bit of pork or pasta. If you want good food then AVOID this hotel.

**Service**
Apart from the occasional nice member of staff it was poor. Bar staff were particularly rude and slow. You don't expect a bow and a curtsey but a polite "What would you like" is better than "Next" or "What you want now?"

**Wifi** - They should not even mention they offer this. Its by Wifi code that hardly ever works unless you're within a meter of the reception desk. If you do get a connection you might as well run a tin-can on a string back home to send your message or browse the web. Pointless.

**Entertainment**

This was good but for the wrong reasons. It was so bad it was amusing. Music to slit your wrists to but the local karaoke girls. If you have kids, I will give them credit, the staff for that when we were there did a lot of games for them.

I see since we stayed that Iberostar have removed their name from the hotel and I don't blame them. Whoever was running this was being their name down because I'm led to believe they are generally quite good. Don't let old the Iberostar name fool you. It has no semblance of even a budget chain hotel's quality.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room, You will at least be guaranteed not to get the awful room we got or better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulMichaelSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    134
    410
    256
    117
    68
See reviews for
280
474
16
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We recently stayed at the this hotel one week ( 12 th Oct 2013) prior to it shutting for the end of season. however the weather was fine and as hoped the sunshine was out and temperatures in the high twenties.
(The company at the time was Iberostar hotelsbut this was going to change halfway through the week)
So we were set for a good holiday.
When we arrived the check in was efficient and room allocated overlooking the sea.
The room was very dowdy and in need of refurbishment. It was very much poorly decorated. The beds were very low to the ground and when sat on the mattresses collapsed to nothing. Anyone with any mobility problems would have difficulty getting up from such a low bed.
The bathroom had a shower. all adequete but old and tatty.
The balcony was a nice size but showing signes of rust and poor paint work. The balcony chairs rusting metal ones with no covers.
Each room has wooden shutters which you could shut day or night and leave patio doors open , however if you did this you were at the peril of the onslaught of mosquitos that attack you day and night.
The room does have air conditioning and when i tried it, it appeared to work but did not go cold. When i went to the receptionints to ask re the airconditioning, she was very sarcastic and condecending in her comments and attitude but basically said it was only opperational for the months of july and August and thats all, When i asked if it was up to the management
To this she replied it was company policy across all Iberostar hotels and its in all the brouchers if i had looked carefully.
It was noted that throughout the hotel , all visitors baked in the heat inside the hotel as you couldnt undo the windows or open doors as the mosquitos all flooded in.
St we were stuck with the heat.
As this was the last week, the hotel staff were mainly voicing their comments that htey were looking forward to all going home and their service mirrored this with the odd exception.
The entertainment team were nearly noneexistant. In fact the entertainment programme for the evenings was crap. One night was bingo.... no music before or after..... everone sat around the whole hotel just looking at each other for something to do. no music foranyone to dance. Other nights a quiz, Again nothing before or after. On a couple of occasions there were some singers, did their spots and left. This was it for the week. RE the all inclusive drinks. This was the worst all inclusive package for drinks i have ever been on for limited drivck,s. Hardly any cocktails. Beer was on draught and self service which was good if you could get a glass of the waiter behind the bar. Wine was walso similer. The spirits was very limited to a few local ones but no lemonade unless you paid for it. Coke was free as well as orange tonic etc but the local whiskey was very poor.
RE food, Again this was poor in quality and content. Repeated meals daily or even re hashed from dinner to evening meal. Most of the time it was only look warm.
The hotel ran out of tea bags , crackers for cheese, and similar items depending on what you were trying to eat....... Unless you were happy to eat the stodge that was served up , you were not in for a pleasent experience.
Halway through the week we received information that the hotel along with its sister hotel the Albatross had been sold and were no longer owned by the Iberostar chain.
This was very evident as all the staff suddenly changed uniforms, Iberostar logos were removed, as well as the towles in the bathrooms with the logo on only to be repaced by cheap thin ones.
This also added to the confusion for the staff as when you would ask a question about the hotel or service. they always replied they didnt know.
RE the Free WI FI that the hotel advertises. Do not Be MISLED. it hardly works and if you get it you soon lose it.s signal
RE safety deposit boxes situated in a room near the reception. . These are at 10 kuna per day. roughly works out about 8 quid per week but from experiences i had relayed to me they were not necessarily fully secure.
So for me peeps my advice would be to chioose another hotel is you come to this area.
The hotel is about a 20 minute walk away from Cavat centre
Re sunbeds, appears a lot but when busy, you cant always get one.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PAC0336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Cavtat hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is tale of two halves and some of it will not be applicable for 2014. The first week was ok better than I imagined from some of the reviews I had read. It's set in a lovely location with great views directly on the coast ( peddle beach ) there's a lot of ground to this hotel, a large shaded area with a small children's apparatus, gardens, outdoor table tennis, plenty of sunbeds, outdoor eating and a pool bar with plenty of table and chairs and beautiful views across the bay.
Reception area/lounge was very spacious and there is a terrace area that was pleasant. The dinning room was very spacious and bright. Our rooms could have been better, not complaining about the size as they were for single occupancy but the window was very small and didn't admit much light plus the location was on the front of the hotel and overlooked the car park and a 12' concrete wall, bathroom was small with only a raised basin and a s/curtain so became quite slippy. Bleach marks on the carpet but the maids did a good job. Safe deposit very cheap (10 kuna per day). The first week started ok we were AI basis all meals were presented well with plenty of choices and very well cooked and replenished were needed. There was wine, soft drinks and larger which were available to self serve.
The second week things started to change, replenishment of food was not so good and evening meal options were cut by 50%. The white wine was warm both in the restaurant and in the bar and on 2 occasions run out completely. Soap dispenser in my room and toilet tissue not replenished....plus lots of other things. I did complain to the restaurant manager and was told the hotel closes on the 2oth Oct and also it changes ownership 5 days before that. So this explains why our 2 weeks varied so much. The Iberostar were running the hotel down and trying to save money and the new owners only had 5 days to go before closing and didn't put any effort into improving matters or even trying to impress there guests. The restaurant staff didn't seem to care very much and the bar staff were always quite rude and only served you when they had completed their conversation. The pool bar was closed for the whole 2 weeks which made it a trek to get a drink ( re dress, walk through the gardens, two flights of stairs then into lounge/bar.
area) It's unfortunate that we had to experience this closing/change of ownership has it impacted on our holiday quite severly which obviously Jet2 were aware of as they called me 4 days before departure to say they were re grading the hotel from 4* to 3+. the sister hotel the Albertros is a 5 mins walk and is much more comfortable and less noisey the evening entertainment is the same it just rotates although you would have to pay for drinks there. There are areas of this hotel that need attention but equally there are some very good aspects of it ( the location and views will be the same). A walk into Cavtat is a 25 mins stroll but it is a small town a few restaurants not many shops a tourist office a local bus station. Sunday morning take the local bus to Clilpi ( folklore ) for a nice morning of Croatian tradition, dancing and singing, arrange it yourself its very inexpensive. Do go to Dubrovnik and walk the walls, views are fantastic so is the history. Went to Montinegro which was interesting and enjoyable but wouldn't recommend Serbia as it is too much travelling and only one place of interest. Do use the local agent in Cavtat it is much cheaper than your rep and also Delphin tours in Cavtat are also more expensive and are only agents and use the same guides and transport as the others do. I would recommend this hotel based on its location and if you like somewhere quite but for me there wasn't enough to do, maybe 2 weeks is to long in this area. Hopefully the new owners will address the modernising this hotel needs as its the oldest in this area.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqueline078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

hi, I just arrived back from the Epidaurus in cavtat,its a mixed nationality hotel about 30per cent british. I must admit I was not impressedwith the hotel,there was a number of issues.there were cats everywhere (flea ridden) many people were bit by fleas which they thought were mozzies.the hotel has just changed hands and to my surprise began to run out of everything,butter,teabags drinks. the hotel is in need of updating.the rooms have badly stained carpets, but are kept clean by the very polite cleaners the hallways are dull and drabby. the kitchen was clean but there were cats everywhere, the soup was never hot the meat dishes were ok some days,breakfast time, there was never fried eggs or beans infact breakfast was the worse meal. the bar if you were waiting for a drink and the older male barman was doing something you waited until he finished sometimes 3-5 mins the female barstaff were best,entertainment was every 2 nights with a quiz or bingo in between. outside the hotel there were cats everywhere,the beach is pebbles and stones. the town of cavtat is about a 1/2 hour walk, but a nice walk with a couple of restaurants here and there, prices,pizzas 4-6pounds a steak would cost 12-20pounds chicken 7-10pounds small bottle of beer just under 2 pounds. you can change money in cavtat in the post office and bank and theres a supermarket by the post office.a must is dubrovnic just under 6pounds by by boat. or 26pounds by taxi (one way),and you can walk to cavtat and catch a bus which is the cheapest the cable car to the top of the mountain in dubrovnic is about 10pounds. back to the hotel its a low 3 star at the moment,you could not compare it to a 4star like( birchy36 states) now the airport a couple of prices rothmans cigs (the only uk ones) 21 pounds. golden Virginia 6pounds for 50grm pouch vodka starts 9 pounds a litre. Croatia joined eu in july so 800cigs. 20 pouches tobacco 10 lts spirits

Room Tip: stay in the centre of cavtat or dubrovnic
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrewpamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I don't know what people expect, this hotel was better than many 4 stars i've stayed in previously.

Firstly my biggest gripe of the week......
For our first 5 days it was mostly full of Germans and northern Croatians, this was great!! At dinner time you just go grab a plate and move to whatever bit of food you want, VERY simple and VERY fast.
If you end up in a hotel full of British people, then feeding time will involve queuing like an idiot for 20 minutes to get to the deserts at the far end of the large dining room.
Even when there are two sets of identical food serving area's, some people still have to queue at the first one and get all shirty when you jump to the 2nd.

My advice would be not to book via the big UK travel agents, as they get large reservation slots and can literally fill a hotel.

It sounds unpatriotic, but the Brits were by far the worst thing about this hotel, rude to the staff, rude to each other, don't leave tips for the staff, making impossible demands and carrying (cute but flea ridden) stray cats into the dining area.
Yes that's right, mosquito bites are the big ones, the countless little bites your moaning about are fleas from the "cute" cats you've been picking up..... We Brits can't grasp the concept of stay cats *face palm*

For me, the staff were all fantastic. They ARE friendly and very helpful, but may react badly if you come at them with a poor attitude (as we saw a couple of times).
Be respectful, be courteous and you'll have no problems at all. Even the cleaning staff were nice and friendly. We left a good tip in all of the staff tip boxes before we left.......

The rooms have been repainted and spruced up, you can get an idea of what the hotel used to look like if you enter the wood panelled lift in the lobby area. Personally I think i'd have loved the retro feel of what was a 1970's hotel, but "meh".

I'm not going to complain about the few silly little things we noticed (like the 2 inch gap under the shower curtain), it's a 3 star hotel and quite frankly a really good one. People who complain should try peeling themselves away from the sun loungers and free beer occasionally and go explore the fantastic area around Cavtat.
Remember it's Cavtat, not Chavtat, if you want to waste a holiday drunk on a sun lounger, then do us all a favour and sod off to Benedorm (in the nicest possible way) :)

Would I stay here again? Most certainly......

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
15 Thank Birchy36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a weeks stay all inclusive at the Iberostar Epiduarus, and were really pleasantly surprised after reading some of the more negative comments. We did get a very reasonably priced deal fairly last minute, but the Iberostar was just what I would expect for an older three star hotel. We paid a small upgrade fee for a sea view room (no balcony) and this was well worth it as the view was lovely.
The room was clean, comfortable and a reasonable size, and the rest if the hotel was also clean if a little run down and dated in places. But I've stayed in much more run down tatty places!
The food was tasty, we weren't exactly spoiled for choice but there was enough choice, it was hot, and regularly replenished. Be prepared to try things you might not eat at home, or combinations you wouldn't perhaps normally put together! The all inclusive drinks were good, the Croatian wine was very nice, and we had plenty of choices to try local spirits and liqueurs, which I would recommend.
The staff were helpful and efficient, occasionally they seemed abrupt but after further conversation I think this is more a language barrier thing.
The location of the Iberostar was fantastic, beautiful views, right on the pebbly beach, four minutes walk from the pick up points for the taxi boat, and less than 15 minutes walk along the coast to Cavtat, which is a lovely little place for a wander around. There are a good few restaurants and bars, some along the walk in to Cavtat from the hotel, and some great ice cream!
Overall I would definitely recommend this hotel, so long as your expectations of what you'll get for an older three star place are realistic.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Lucy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The hotel was basic but rooms were clean, staff were friendly and worked really hard. Great location on the seafront and walking distance to Cavtat which is a charming little place.
As we paid for all inclusive we were very disappointed with the food which appeared to be "recycled" the following day. By this I mean what was on the evening menue appeared the following day in a different format. For breakfast one day there was broccolli and caullie with the cooked breakfast! Sausages one evening then appeared on the breakfast menu but swimming in grease and sliced etc etc The food was awful and we ate out every day as we just could not face what was on offer at the hotel.
We asked if we could vist the hoel next door for dinner as it was also an iberostar hotel but were told no.
We did not find a promised snacks bar which was supposed to provide food when the restaurant was closed.......maybe as it was end of season? however we were not informed this would be the case.
Eating out every day cost us money we had not budgeted for and therefore we were then limited to activities due to lack of finances.
We booked 2 rooms and paid the same price for each one however one was just big enough to hold a double bed while the other was much more spacious.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank batty_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cavtat
0.2 mi away
Remisens Hotel Albatros
0.9 mi away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,437 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 17 in Cavtat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel Astarea
Hotel Astarea
#2 of 7 in Mlini
4.0 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Supetar
Hotel Supetar
#8 of 17 in Cavtat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Remisens Hotel Epidaurus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Remisens Hotel Epidaurus

Property: Remisens Hotel Epidaurus
Address: Od Zala 1 | Tahia Bay, Cavtat 20210, Croatia (Formerly Smart Selection Hotel Epidaurus All Inclusive)
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Cavtat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Cavtat
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Cavtat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Remisens Hotel Epidaurus 3*
Number of rooms: 312
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Remisens Hotel Epidaurus (3*) (the former Smart Selection Hotel Epidaurus All Inclusive) is located next to the beach in beautiful Tiha Cove and offers spectacular views of the crystal clear sea of the Dubrovnik Riviera. It lies just one kilometre from the medieval old town of Cavtat, which makes it an ideal choice for guests looking for peace and relaxation but who do not want to be too far from the attractions of a town. From 2017, the Remisens Hotel Epidaurus will be offering high-quality services and facilities guaranteed by the Remisens brand. The hotel's 312 rooms and bathrooms, lobby, reception area, restaurant and surroundings have been completely refurbished. The hotel offers different room types depending on the individual needs of each guest. All rooms are fully equipped to make sure guests feel comfortable and at home. There are spacious rooms particularly suitable for families with children. The hotel is the perfect choice for a peaceful, relaxing holiday where the entire family can enjoy the benefits of the beautiful natural surroundings of Tiha Cove. Our attentive staff will make sure that the quality of service is always impeccable and that you have an unforgettable holiday in Cavtat, Croatia. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Onthebeach, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Remisens Hotel Epidaurus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Iberostar Epidaurus Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Cavtat
Iberostar Hotel Epidaurus

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing