We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Apartments Komazin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Apartments Komazin
Ranked #1 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

We were recommended Apartments Komazin by Ivo at Apartment Baltazar in Dubrovnik and they did not disappoint. We had a fantastic apartment which had the best view. They were handy for the supermarket and not too far from a lovely beach (make sure you wear suitable footwear when walking to the beach). The apartments are really big and spacious as well as clean and modern. Andro is a lovely guy who would chat openly about the island, where to eat, where to visit etc. It is a beautiful place to visit and we would highly recommend staying here. There are also different sizes if apartments for a larger group. Thanks for looking after us.
Susan & Chris - Wigan

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SusieGriff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
149
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We were amazed at how gracious and kind Andro was. He went beyond normal expectations as a host. He gave us great information about things we could do during our two days in Hvar, which helped us make the most of our time there. I was preparing to make the short drive to the center to pick up our friends one afternoon and he insisted on driving there to get them for me. His mother even brought us Cherry Strudel one evening during our stay! The apartments were clean and the location was great. Fantastic value for money.

Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Cole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Our feeling is consistent with what other reviewers have indicated. Highly rated.

Andro could not have done more for us. He is a wonderfully energetic, attentive and informative host offering so much more than one should expect. As with others, we benefitted from his abundant warmth and generosity being ferried around; and provision of a wealth of local information. He was spot on with everything he recommended - including sites, coastal walks, restaurants, boat hiring. His in-depth local knowledge and connections made our stay so much more enjoyable that it might otherwise have been. We enjoyed some of the addition that others have mentioned – such as some home brewed fruit spirits (sadly not for sale); and also his Mom’s much talked about apple strudel. And honestly, this is the best strudel I have ever tasted.

The apartment was very spacious and much nicer than the pictures do justice to it. It was a really comfortable stay with ease of access to the town, local beach restaurants; and to the beaches and coastal walks a short distance over the hill behind the house.

Sadly, we had to cut our stay short because of the need to return home as a result of learning of the unexpected and tragic death of a close family member. Andro was unbelievably understanding, sensitive and helpful in terms of facilitating our quick departure off the island and out of Croatia.

It was our second stay in Havar. Once again, the experience there was so enjoyable, that we could easily consider another visit to this wonderful little island. And more so, we would probably try and stay at Komazin because it felt so much like 'home'.

Thanks Andro,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuttyHoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013 via mobile

Thanks to Andro who provided a warm welcome and invaluable advice throughout our 9 night stay in the Lavanda appt. His mum's apple strudel was superb. If fit a car is pointless. We enjoyed the short walk to hvar town and visited stari grad by bus and islands by hiring a speedboat. Beautiful beaches nearby. Appt well equipped, we used local butcher and supermarkets. Good Restaurants and sight seeing opportunities - highly recommended location

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HappyChapx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

I'm not sure what else I can add that hasn't already been said by others. Andro is possibly one of the genuinely nicest hosts we have met. He gave us great suggestions on the places to see and do. He collected us from the bus station and drove us to the apartment to save lugging the cases around. The 2 bedroom apartment was HUGE! Without exaggeration, the beds gave us the most comfortable nights sleep in all of Croatia. The best day of our entire holiday in Croatia was going to Pakleni Islands, walking to an amazing restaurant, eating the best meal ever and then swimming in a secluded beach...Andro will give you the directions I'm sure! Hvar town is really pretty and walking up to the fort rewarded us with gorgeous views. In hindsight, we could have stayed here a week and used it as a base to explore other Islands rather than do a two night stay on our way to Korcula. I would certainly do this if I have the opportunity to visit Croatia again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josie_Jo_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights, couldn't ask for a better host. Andro was very informative, went out of his way to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. He collected us from the ferry, offered great advice on local attractions and facilities, told us about the best restaurants and clubs in Hvar, gave us maps and leaflets relating to same. The apartment was clean and spacious with a nice large balcony. On our last night Andro treated us to his mother's homemade strudel. The following morning Andro dropped us off at the marina, prior to this he organised our ferry tickets and provided us with a bus timetable for Split. Overall, Andro goes that bit extra to ensure his guests have a great and carefree visit to Hvar.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NiamhDMm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level Contributor
152 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We only had one day (don't ask, but we do a lot in one day) on Hvar Island and Andro made it perfect!

We corresponded before our arrival about renting a small boat to explore the Palenki Islands and a dinner recommendation. Andro coordinated the boat rental with a discount at the local marina and a dinner reservation at his friend's restaurant in Milna named Lambik.

We chose the one bedroom Blue Room for its balcony view (highly recommend). The one bedroom apartment on the upper floor, corner right has a wonderful view of the sea with a nice kitchenette and a second balcony!

These activities were easily enjoyed over a long day:

We started in Trogir (preferable to Split) with a drive to the Split ferry terminal preceded by a short visit to see the Roman amphitheater in Solana (difficult to find (use GPS), not terrific but it is Roman!).
We parked for 1.75 hours before departure in the ferry line, bought our 11AM car ferry ticket, then toured Diocletian's Palace (very impressive) including the bell tower to see the overall harbor and old town view.
We settled into our apartment at 1:30PM with Andro giving us an overview on a map of the area.
After enjoying a couple of provided cold beers, he drove us to the harbor, introduced us to the vendor and away we motored off to the Pakleni Islands for 2.5 hours (plenty of time for us). The 100-foot mega-luxury yachts were no match for our 5-HP skiff with canopy. We moored on one island walking the footpath to a local restaurant for anchovies and pivo!
Walking directly back to the Apartments we stopped at the Konzum market for wine (return bottles for deposit refund) and snacks.
Andro (greeting other guests at the ferry terminal) gave us a ride to town center. We walked the entire riva promenade North to the Amfora Beach Resort (does not compare to Apartments Komazin) Then returned via the full length of the harbor along the riva promenade back to the boat rental harbor and our apartment. Beautiful walk!
We sat on our balcony enjoying a sunset equal to the best we have seen in Hawaii. See attached photo!
We drove to Milna and restaurant Lambik (first dirt road to left just before entering town) where our perfect table was under the olive trees (on right before upper landing) lit with candles. We started with homemade rose and fig grappa, including a taste of white port. Our server was terrific and our special order Lamb Peka (arranged by Andro) was very good (little fatty).
Back “home” around 11PM, who else but Andro to greet us! He brought us 2 delicious crepe dishes prepared by his sister for our late night dessert!

We left at 7:45AM the next morning heading to Mljet Island for 2 nights. We took a very scenic drive but a little daring (sections of narrow old roads with abrupt, steep drop offs, like driving on top of a wall!) to Sucaraj for the 9:45AM ferry. Get there 45 minutes early. The ferry only held 30 cars and it left 5 cars behind!

Amazing how all the other 5 star reviews compliment Andro when we felt like the only guests!


Hvala Andro!

Room Tip: Blue Room has terrific balcony view of sea and evening sunset!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StrandsDanville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hvar hotels
1.0 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
235 reviews
0.7 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
408 reviews
0.9 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.6 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Komazin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Komazin

Property: Apartments Komazin
Address: Ulica Nikice Kolumbica 2, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Apartments Komazin 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments KOMAZIN are situated in a quiet location away from the city noise and nightlife parties but close to some of the nicest beaches in town and sightseeing activities. Distance from the historical center and the main port is 900 meters walk along the beautiful coast line. Scuba diving center, taxi boats for the Pakleni islands, sport facilities,boat and car rental agencies are close by. Two supermarkets are just few steps away. In our house we offer various new renovated and spacious apartments and rooms. -private rooms that can accommodate 2 or 3 persons with private bedroom,private bathroom and balcony.Also these two rooms are sharing large kitchen with living room in between. -private sea view apartments with one bedroom,large in size(50m2)also with kitchen and living-room, bathroom and beautiful sea view balconies. -private sea view apartments with two bedrooms,two bathrooms,kitchen with dinning area and nice large sea view balconies. All apartments are fully equipped providing you kitchen kettle,towels,hairdryers toiletress ,LCD TV with satellite channels,Air-conditioning,heating also there is free parking in front of the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your Apartments Komazin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apartments Komazin Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing