We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely place and great value”
Review of House Gordana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hvar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
House Gordana
Ranked #9 of 50 Hvar B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely place and great value”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We had a really lovely time at House Gordana - so much in fact we ended up doubling the length of our stay as we couldn't face leaving! Marija, her husband Miro and the rest of their family are charming - more than once we were offered an evening glass of wine with them! The location of the property is pretty ideal - a short 10 minute walk along the sea front to the main hub of town, and good restaurants plus a town beach within only 5 mins. The rooms are clean, nicely decorated and as far as we could see all have an outside terrace/balcony. Hvar is a relatively expensive place to stay, and this really is great value for the service, location and quality. Highly recommended :)

Room Tip: Top floor rooms have a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sophieb613
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    83
    36
    0
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
76
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

We spent two nights at House Gordana at the beginning of September and had a great time. Miro arranged to collect us from the port once our ferry had arrived and drove us to the house with our luggage. The rooms are actually only about a 5 minute walk from the beach/port but with our suitcase the lift was much appreciated! They gave us drinks on arrival and a map with various places they suggested to visit/eat etc. We also got 20% discount at a local scooter hire company by mentioning that we were staying at House Gordana. Lovely room with air con and a balcony with a sea view, very friendly and helpful hosts would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here with a friend for two nights. The owners were nice enough to pick up us up at the bus station area, not far from where the catarmans arrive.

Comfortable room, AC is good. Balcony has an ok view. Easy walk up some stairs to the the apartment, not far from anything. Quiet sleeping. Simple furnishings but comfortable. Owners were flexible and helpful. They have a great welcome to the island talk which was a great orientation.

We were pleasantly surprised. The price is right and great service.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveler189
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

I really enjoyed my stay at Gordana House. The price is really good and the room was big & clean. Bathroom was outside but private. Kitchen was very small but we didn't use it, plenty of beautiful restaurants in Hvar town :) The house is a bit old fashioned for my own taste but the family are kind and always willing to help, picked us up at the bus station and dropped us in our last day! They even offered drinks and cake :) The location is very good, just 10min walking to the main port and old town. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kettering, northants
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

The place to stay in Hvar without question. Hvar is a busy place with a party scene at night so the location is great, 10 minute walk into centre but far enough away to enjoy the peace and quiet at night! The hosts are amazing, so helpful with advice and go above and beyond what we expected of a guest house! They picked us up from the port and even took us to the beach one day to save us pushing the pushchair! Everywhere spotlessly clean and our room, number 5 I think was just great for the 3 of us. Nice bathroom and lovely balcony overlooking the hill views. Our whole stay on Hvar was awesome and a lot of that was down to our stay with the guys at Gordana.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank mattandclare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Considering that Hvar can be expensive, House Gordana was excellent value. Our room was very nice and had a pleasant balcony. We didn't have aircon, but this was not a problem as long as the shutters were kept closed during the day. Marija and her husband were very welcoming, and were a great source of information on local places to visit / eat. They even picked us up from the ferry.

There are kitchen facilities available. You can also borrow beach mats.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank keith r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

I can't say enough positive things about House Gordana or the owners Marija and Maro. What a great way to stay in Hvar.

To begin, they picked me up by the port and gave me a rude to the house. And did the same when I left a few days later. So nice to not have to deal with taxis or walking. So friendly and helpful. They always said hello, chatted, and enjoyed the company.

They also had great insights on where to go, see, and do. It made me feel I maximized my time in Hvar and saw what I wanted to. I was able to go to more "local" beaches they recommended rather than the crowded ones right by town and loved them.

The sobe is up on the hill with amazing views. My favorite pictures are from my balcony of the harbor, boats, and other islands. But the catch is that there are some stairs to get there when you walk to town. If you can walk and do a set of stairs, it is no problem. Especially since they drive you when you have luggage. And it is less than 5 minute walk.

Being removed from the main square by the harbor was especially nice in that it is quiet at night. No noise from parties or discos.

The only negative was that it wasn't my home and I had to leave after 4 days. I wish I could have stayed all summer.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmmaAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
235 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
408 reviews
0.6 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Croatia
Hotel Croatia
#7 of 16 in Hvar
150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to House Gordana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about House Gordana

Property: House Gordana
Address: Ulica Shime Buzolic Tome 49 | Glavica, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer double/twin or triple rooms, each with bathroom, fridge and balcony - some of them with sea view. All rooms are air-conditioned and have free WiFi access. There is also a fully equipped kitchen that all quests have access to, as well as BBQ in the garden. Breakfast is optional and served on our spacious terrace. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing