We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hostel. Full Stop.”
Review of Luka's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Luka's Lodge
Ranked #6 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Hostel. Full Stop.”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Funky, fantastic spot! Rooms: Clean, comfortable beds *memory foam*, fridge, en-suite, hot showers with good pressure, aircon, and lockers. Atmosphere: Immaculate outdoor kitchen and seating area with an impressive chimney/fireplace/grill where the staff hosts bbq's some nights and you can make a culinary delight others. It's easy to chat with other guests and staff over beers and later "cut shapes" with them on nightly pub crawls. Or relax on the terrace with a cup of tea and enjoy the view. Location: A five minute walk to nearly EVERYTHING- clubs, grocery stores, restaurants, the riva, or borrow a bike and maybe some scuba gear and head to the most beautiful beaches Hvar has to offer. Cannot say enough good things about our experience here and a great value, too!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    27
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
3
44
27
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Decorah, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2014

American student doing field study, and I spent a week here. Luka and Petra are super cool, very accommodating, and very conscientious of their customers' needs. Very proud of Hvar, and they show that in the work they put in. Beds were comfy, place was clean, wifi worked. Only wish I could've changed the oddity that was rain for a few days there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerside, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2014

A few friends and I stayed on Hvar a few days ago and booked at Luka's Lodge. This was a great experience. The room was super clean, we had our own fridge, the bathroom was attached to our room, and there was an A/C unit. The staff were also super friendly and inviting. Luka himself was always around for a friendly chat or to aid us in anyway. He recommended a great local restaurant to us that we would not have found other wise. He also holds a BBQ for guests to enjoy together and has someone take the guests out at night to experience the local night life. Great location as well...it was super close to the main center of town as well as a quick walk to a beautiful beach!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We are a couple who just spent two nights at Luka's lodge on the beautiful Island of Hvar. It has been fabulous, the rooms and facilities were excellent with a small terrace overlooking the beautiful bay. Water, is hot, kitchen clean and well equipped. Best of all though we're the staff. Luka, the owner, is friendly and can't help enough, he met us at the bus station and dropped us off again. He has much information and speaks perfect English. On a wet day he took us in his car to visit a property he has in the very beautiful Lozna bay as well as taking us to visit his family home in a small village. Last night he cooked a beautiful grill on the coals which we washed down with his cousins wine and a few shots of Plum brandy

His staff, Ivona and Biljana also couldn't do enough to help us with olive oil, herbs and spices for cooking as well as a lovely cup of brewed coffee each morning.

Can't recommend Luka's lodge highly enough and we will return here for sure.

Thanks Luka, Ivona and Biljana

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Me and my friend had a nice stay in your hostel, Lukas. We appreciate it very much, that you "opened" your business for us for one night ;)
Also big thanks that you explained us everything what's on in Hvar! Next time we'll stay longer and try it in the summer season!

P.S.: Hope the key arrived allready at your home. We through it into the mail on the other side of the island. Sorry for that ;)

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterOrkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Lukas lodge was clean and luka was an awesome host who cooked a mean dinner. I also rented the scooter and went around the island. I highly recommend it. Tons of fun and beautiful drive. Overall had a great time

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam2222013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bled, Slovenia
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Luka's lodge is easily one of the best hostels I've stayed in to date. It's perfectly located near the downtown and the beach, both are maybe a 3 minute walk away. The rooms are very clean and the beds surprisingly comfortable, the shower was always hot and the wifi was good. The kitchen outside was spacious and well equipped, a nice place to just hang out and enjoy your food. But what really makes the hostel special is the owner, Luka. He really went above and beyond to make my stay in Hvar wonderful. On the night I arrived he prepared a delicious barbeque dinner for everyone, complete of course with his own home made olive oil, and even a pitcher of wine! He always greets you with a smile, and shares his knowledge about where to go and what to do on the island. As I was one of the few people at the hostel in low season, Luka was even kind enough to invite me to join him for lunch a couple times, and taught me how to *properly* eat sardines. I'm sure you'll find plenty of other places in Hvar with the same ammenities, but there's only one place like Luka's Lodge.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LLD123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.6 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#5 of 16 in Hvar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.8 mi away
Aparthotel Pharia
Aparthotel Pharia
#9 of 16 in Hvar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luka's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luka's Lodge

Property: Luka's Lodge
Address: Ulica Shime Buzolic Tome 75, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Luka's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing