We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food but better steaks”
Review of Alviz

Alviz
Ranked #7 of 141 Restaurants in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pizza, Croatian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food but better steaks”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Visited in late July in the evening. There is little doubt that it is popular. We had to wait for about 10 mins before we could get arable, so booking ahead is a good idea. Our party had two pizzas which were good (not great) but the grilled meat was fantastic. We had been recommended by a local and there were a lot of Croats dining.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Woolfy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    318
    198
    46
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfort food.”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

A bit off the main square with a nice garden, the place has a cool "off the beaten track" authentic feel. Food is above average and is best option when you want a break of local seafood. Ambiance and staff are great! You can buy their olive oil!!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Fadihon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely courtyard and great food.”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We ate here the first night in Hvar following a recommendation from our land lady. It was great. The service was good, the table wine was nice and the food was very tasty. Will go again before we leave.

Helpful?
Thank AdamWright05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Try the lamb! ”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

Great surroundings inside this modern restaurant. We had anchovies to start which were disappointing but the garlic pizza bread which was excellent.

I was lucky enough to get the slow roasted lamb for one, without ordering on advance. If you get a chance to try this, you must! The meat just falls off the bone.

We also had a burger which was stuffed with cheese, this was pretty good and a little bit different. But, still a burger all the same.

House white wine was good, so a safe choice.

Helpful?
Thank BenHenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Do not miss this one. Not on the main strip. Super ten out of ten”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

This gem is not on the main strip but real gems are normally hidden.Its beside the bus station and myself and my better half had the pleasure of eating here on a couple of times during our trip to the wonderful town of Hvar.
From simple Pizza to excellent steaks to fish under the bell,and the house wine which they make themselves are all just excellent.
You may have to wait for a table but you can have a drink at the front bar.
Catherina and her wonderful staff take great care of you from start to finish.When its time to leave you pay on the way out so not waiting around.On our last night out my son and four of his friends who were inter-railing paid us an unexpected visit and this is where we took the group to feed them up.
They were not disappointed as they devoured all before them. I love Hvar and I now have another great reason to go back.
You may be in front of me in the Q but that is what Trip Advisor is all about sharing. So all the good restaurant's stay good and the poor one's improve or do not survive. Alviz part of what makes Hvar great.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dooferDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alviz also viewed

Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 
Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 
Hvar, Hvar Island
 

Been to Alviz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing