We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Guilty for not reviewing earlier”
Review of Violeta Hvar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Violeta Hvar
Ranked #11 of 169 Speciality Lodging in Hvar
Reviewed 11 February 2013

Sometimes, you know you just have to do the right thing. it's almost mad that I am doing a review of this lovely property one and a half years later but it was so great and the owners were so nice it will be a sin not to do what we promised to do. This property is amazing - located on an elevated position with a commanding view from our balcony. Far enough to get away from the hustle and bustle and close enough to stroll to the attractions. Urska was a very kind operator and even did our laundry during our stay. We were given some useful advice about travel plans and thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Hvar and this lovely B&B. The room was immaculate, spacious and clean. Don't hesitate - book to stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emarkchoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
There are newer reviews for Violeta Hvar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2013

Urska picked us up at the car park near the ferry pier, and apologized profusely that she could not bring the car all the way to the pier -- well, the rules were that NOBODY could bring a vehicle there. No apology necessary!
We had a long day, and after we were ensconced in our room, we decided that it would be too far to walk down the steps for a bottle of wine. We asked Urska if there was a nearby store, and instead of suggesting one, she brought us a bottle of local wine -- on the house.
We stay in B&B's because the owners are full of suggestions about local lore, restaurants, sites, etc., and Violeta Havar was no exception.
We were not able to meet Tonci, as he was out fishing. Looking over the sea from the balcony we could see why.
A "can't miss" place.

Room Tip: Get a room as high up as you can for the view
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Great view from the sea. Nice location, close to the old town. Friendly staff. Usrka gave us some nice advices from Hvar and from Slovenia.
Although location was nice, it was necessary a walking through a stair with about 70 steps to reach the old town.
Parking area is small. It may be a good idea to ask Usrka for a parking place before arriving there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony and sea view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

I will always remember the stay we had at Violeta Hvar, not only because we chose Hvar for my milestone Birthday but because of the wonderful hospitality shown by Urska and Tonci and mother. We stayed for four nights in August and were treated treated like an extension of their family, from picking us up on arrival to sharing an evening meal with other guests. Our room was spacious with a good size balcony and kitchen area and a 10 minute walk into the main town which is just beautiful. I would love to return to this magical island and would definitely want to stay at Violeta Hvar again for the warm hospitality. Thank you Tonci and Urska for making our time there so special!

Room Tip: Worth getting a sea view with balcony
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Penelope B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012 via mobile

Violeta was great value, and good location about 5 / 10 min walk from the centre of town and port.

 Rooms were comfortable and had everything we needed. Spacious balcony with amazing view of town and nearby islands. 

Ursa kindly picked us up near the port on arrival, and looked after our luggage after check out... driving it down to us before our catamaran departed. Loved Hvar and the Pakleni islands and Violeta is highly recommended. 

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We spent three nights at Violeta in August 2012. The room was clean and spacious and was everything we needed, and the balcony was a great size with a fantastic view and captured the evening sun.

Urska was a wonderful host and went above and beyond to accommodate us...
We were staying on Hvar island as our friends were getting married, but in order to gurantee our place on the ferry to get back to the mainland in order to catch our early flight a few days after the wedding, we should have had to get up at 6:30am the morning after the wedding to go down to the harbour and purchase ferry tickets. When Urska found out this fact, she offered to go down to the harbour at 6:30am for us so that we could enjoy the wedding and not have to get up at dawn 'the morning after the night before'. This kind gesture meant the world to us and was very kind, allowing us to enjoy the wedding to the full!

Violeta is less than ten minutes walk from the harbour, uphill but nothing to challenging.

A tip - at the bottom of the Hotel Amfora there is a great spot where you can hire sun loungers and enjoy the sea, bar, lunch, etc. Urska will be able to tell you how to find it.

Would definitely recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012 via mobile

Sitting on your private terrace looking out to the islands and back at the town was a highlight of our time in Hvar. Urska picked us up from the port and dropped our bags back to us at the bus station after we had checked out.
The walk to town was about 5 mins down a pathway or about 10 back up or take a taxi. There are several places to swim nearby or a boat trip to the islands.
We found the best places to eat we're in the small lanes and alleys of the main tourist square.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank franko6473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.2 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.3 mi away
Aparthotel Pharia
Aparthotel Pharia
#7 of 16 in Hvar
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Violeta Hvar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Violeta Hvar

Address: Ulica Biskupa Jurja Dubokovica 22, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 169 Speciality Lodging in Hvar
Price Range: £53 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Violeta Hvar 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Apartments Violeta Hvar. Our house is on a perfect spot for all generations, close to relaxation or having fun, near to SPA Center and after beach party bars, situated on a perfect, quiet position only few minutes walk to the city center and the beach. We are offering you nice and clean accommodation. As good hosts, we will try to satisfied our guests and make for them a perfect stay on island Hvar. Violeta Hvar are warm and friendly apartments that welcomes guests all over the world. We have a wealth experience in tourism and know what guest value and need during their stay.Guests can relax or catch up with friends and family back home, over the internet. Internet access is also available. For our guest we will provide all the information they need, like: hidden places and beaches, what to see, how to reach some places they wish to see, so don't be afraid to ask. In our house we rent a scooter, car, boats, speedboats and bikes. In September, October and November we can organize picking grapes in wine yards and olive harvest. Apartments are equipped with air-conditioning units, own refrigerator, SAT TV, free internet and big terrace with a view of the sea and "Pakleni islands" in front of the town of Hvar. Hair dryer, iron and iron board are on request. With extra charge we can do your laundry. Bed sheets, linen and towels are provided. Final cleaning is included in price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia and Evoline ltd so you can book your Violeta Hvar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing