We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful hosts!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Violeta Hvar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Violeta Hvar
Ranked #17 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Mankato, Minnesota
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Wonderful hosts!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

The double bedroom was exactly what we were looking for. Clean, comfortable, great location, and wonderful hosts. My daughters backpack never arrived in Croatia, and all our travel adapters were in it. Urška Barišić very graciously loaned us the one she was using for her laptop so we could get our cell phones recharged. She contacted us be email before the trip so we knew that part of our travel was going smoothly.

Originally we planned to take a boat to the blue cave, but at the last minute we decided to take an island tour with her husband. It was a private tour and we learned so much about the island. This was my daughter's favorite outing of our trip. Learned so much about lavender growing and harvesting, enjoyed a wonderful winery tour, stopped and toured many landmarks, and enjoyed an authentic meal prepared at the nicest family restaurant. The harbor and activities on the square are nice, but we really felt like we stepped away from the super touristy stuff with the expert guidance of family Barišić. Their website says the family has been successfully in the tourist industry for many years, and we reaped the benefits first hand.

The next morning we needed to catch the first ferry and they supplied a drop off at the harbor. This family truly enjoyed having guests and really cared about our comfort. Wasn't surprised at all to read about phil_up81's wonderful experience with them.

Definitely will recommend this property and their tours to everyone we know.

Room Tip: There are a number of step involved, but a pick up at the harbor is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennytollie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    26
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
12
63
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

We overall enjoyed our stay here. The location was great, about 5 to 10 minute walk downstairs to get to the port. The room was clean and spacious. My main problem was the tiny shower which is why I took off a star. It was so small that the shower curtain would stick to your body and the curtain didn't do a great job of keeping the water from getting out. Our bathroom floor would be soaked After a shower. We managed ok and still like the accommodation overall.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank persiandoll150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We had a very comfortable stay here a few months ago (late review). The owners were very helpful and friendly, we organised to hire a boat, at a very reasonable rate, and as the room was not being used the next day they let us have a very late checkout. But the most amazing thing was that my girlfriend left her glasses at the hotel and the owners drove all the way to the ferry, boarded the ferry and found us none the wiser.... This is far and beyond any service we have every received. Amazing people and really nice place to stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank phil_up81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Apartment was in a good location with close proximity to the town, perfectly clean, simply furnished and had a lovely balcony which was great for eating out on (word of warning: it's possible to lock yourself on it by shutting the sliding doors from the outside! Luckily the owners were quick to rescue us.). Hosts were extremely friendly, helpful and laid back during our stay and didn't try and force any activities or tours on us but did offer great advice to allow us to lead our own adventure. They also offered us a great price for renting a little Vespa scooter which my girlfriend and I whizzed around a large part of Hvar Island on. Would recommend Violeta Hvar to anyone looking to visit this beautiful island.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Max W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed at Violeta in the last week of June, which we thoroughly enjoyed. Such a lovely family and couldn't have asked for better hosts. They went out of their way by allowing us to keep the room past checkout time for our evening flight and also provided a transfer to the town. The apartment is modern and minimalist, the kitchen was adequate but would benefit from a few more essentials…… kettle, toaster, microwave. The apartment is well located, in walking distance to a supermarket and five minutes to the centre of town although involving a few steps!!! We had a great stay at Violeta and will definitely be recommending and hope to return in the future.

Daniel and Abi from Manchester :)

P.S thanks for the plasters! ;)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DS12342013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh,PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We stayed here in June 2013 and I wish I had written a review sooner. I travel quite a bit for work and often stay in upscale hotels but this was a different trip with just me and my teenage daughter who wanted a more casual, authentic experience. This was a great place for us to stay and the hosts were absolutely wonderful. They answered all of our questions and arranged some day trips for us. The room was not large but it was attractive,spotless and had everything we needed, including a fair size balcony with a table and wonderful view. The walk to town is about ten minutes and there is a small market not far from the place. All in all a great stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank bliss8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
1,021 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

We stayed for three days. The ownerTonce upgraded us to a better room at no extra cost. He also took our luggage to the bus station for us when we are leaving saving us a tough townhill walk. The rooms are very good,comfortable and spotless and the balcony with a fridge is marvellous. The views are superb. I was able to walk to a beach each morning for a swim though it is a bit of a hike back.

Room Tip: Get one of the front rooms. The balcony view is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susanwalsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.1 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.5 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.3 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Violeta Hvar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Violeta Hvar

Property: Violeta Hvar
Address: Ulica Biskupa Jurja Dubokovica 22, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Violeta Hvar 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Apartments Violeta Hvar. Our house is on a perfect spot for all generations, close to relaxation or having fun, near to SPA Center and after beach party bars, situated on a perfect, quiet position only few minutes walk to the city center and the beach. We are offering you nice and clean accommodation. As good hosts, we will try to satisfied our guests and make for them a perfect stay on island Hvar. Violeta Hvar are warm and friendly apartments that welcomes guests all over the world. We have a wealth experience in tourism and know what guest value and need during their stay.Guests can relax or catch up with friends and family back home, over the internet. Internet access is also available. For our guest we will provide all the information they need, like: hidden places and beaches, what to see, how to reach some places they wish to see, so don't be afraid to ask. In our house we rent a scooter, car, boats, speedboats and bikes. In September, October and November we can organize picking grapes in wine yards and olive harvest. Apartments are equipped with air-conditioning units, own refrigerator, SAT TV, free internet and big terrace with a view of the sea and "Pakleni islands" in front of the town of Hvar. Hair dryer, iron and iron board are on request. With extra charge we can do your laundry. Bed sheets, linen and towels are provided. Final cleaning is included in price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Violeta Hvar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing