We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Fiotastic”
Review of Villa Fio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Fio
Ranked #2 of 51 Hvar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 26 October 2012

Only we could bring clouds and rain to Hvar Island so sadly we didn’t get to truly experience the sunniest island in the world. Having said that this was a very nice place to stay, Marija from the villa came down to the ferry to get us and drive us back to the villa. It was a short 5 minute round-about drive where as it would have been a 15 minute uphill walk. So at the end of a long day we were appreciative of the lift.

This is a nice, clean new villa with a remarkably engaging hostess, Marija, who is very eager to help. It was a spotlessly clean, small apartment style room, with a bathroom, bedroom, kitchen (with a microwave, which was a rare but awesome find on our trip) and well decorated living room/dining room combo. Did I mention it was clean, you could eat off the floor I’m sure. It works very well and is very functional, we also had a balcony with a sea view. They have two views here sunrise and sunset. We had a sunrise, while it was very nice I would specifically ask for a sunset view room next time. Sunrise is too early on holidays and I personally really prefer sunsets. They do have a nice common main floor terrace with a sunset view that we used to watch the sunset there our first night just prior to the rain arriving.

There is a grocery store about 500 meters away that has everything you need for meals, snacks or drinks. It is a nice 10 minute walk to a public beach down a serious hill.

It is a very nice place that cost 91 Euros with no breakfast included but we would definitely stay here again. The best part about it was the host but really there is nothing bad at all that we could say about the villa. There does appear to be some construction around the villa that may minimize some of the views in a few years, so now is the time to come.

Previous Hotel – House Renata, Dubrovnik Croatia
Next Hotel – Kaleta Apartments, Split Croatia

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LSUC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 15 October 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Villa Fio for five nights in September 2012. The villa was lovely, modern and clean with fantastic sea views. I cannot recommend this property enough, we had a relaxing, stay and Antonia was really helpful and kindly collected us and dropped us off at the harbour at the start and end of our trip. This place is great value, and in a fantastic location- we can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jlo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2012

What a great place! I was really sad to have only spend one night there. Perfect location away from all the tourists. The path down to the beach is right outside the back door. Receptionist was super helpful and informative. She even gave us beach towels to take to the beach. Very modern and clean rooms with nice bathroom. Awesome terrace with a spectacular view of Hvar and the sea where you can opt to take breakfast.

Pros: wifi, modern room, A/C, easy beach access, mini fridge, great service
Cons: a little bit of a hike from old town, but I was fine with it since I was more interested in the beach

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2012

My partner and I visited the Villa Fio during August 2012 and we are desperate to return as soon as possible!
The accommodation was really lovely and cleaned, daily, to a very high standard. The view from our large balcony was spectacular, with views over the sea and we enjoyed spending meal-times sat on the balcony. For sunset, opt for a room at the front of the villa - there really was nothing like it!
The location is at the top of a small hill, which is perfect for spectacular views over the beach and, on the other side, the harbour. A small, gentle walk - approx 15 mins - and you are in the centre of Hvar. There is also a mini supermarket, about 5 mins away, so all amenities are within close proximity. A beach, tucked away in a coved area, is right behind the hotel - we loved going there and enjoyed swimming in the very warm sea. There are other beaches nearby, but this was one of our favourites!
My partner and I have travelled to many destinations and have rarely found hosts so welcoming, friendly and helpful as Maria and Antonia..there was literally nothing they wouldn't do to maximise our stay and make it as enjoyable as possible. Due to my stupidity, I stood on a sea urchin and had spikes in my foot for days, until Antonia noticed and spent over 3 hours carefully removing these with a needle, olive oil and lots of care! We were very grateful for this and my foot has never looked better! Thank you Antonia.
We loved the holiday, which was due, largely, to the standard of service we received at the Villa Fio - we will certainly be going back!
Anna and Liam x

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have gorgeous sunset views over the harbour, but equally lovely are the views at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noggers19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We booked an appartement without breakfast. We had a big balcony where we had each day breakfast and dinner. The service and help from the staff (Maria and her daughter) was perfect. They've been very friendly and helpful.
The view to the harbour and castle was beautiful. We really enjoyed the place there. Also to the beach it's just a 5 min walk, but you should be in good condition because it's going steep down and after sunbathing again up ;-). There is also the possibilty to go by a taxi to the several beaches.
I really can highly recommend this hotel and would choose it again.
Thank you for the nice stay we had.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank appla_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Clean, modern, well equipped apartments in a beautiful location run by friendly, knowledgable hosts who go out of their way to make your stay a great one. Even picking us up and dropping us back at the bus station. We only wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ceri_Nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Definitely a nice play stay if you are visiting Hvar. The villa is one of the cheapest (comparing to the other hotels in the region) to stay. The rooms have everything you need: towels, bath tub, internet. Highly recomended!

Fio (the owner) is a very nice lady who is nice to chat to in person and get some basic information about the island.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Serge_RUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hvar hotels
1.1 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
1.2 mi away
Aparthotel Pharia
Aparthotel Pharia
#7 of 16 in Hvar
155 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
1.4 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
455 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Fio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Fio

Address: Ulica Lucije Rudan 67, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Hvar
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Fio 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Fio is newly built hotel on top of the hill with stunning sea view from every apartmant. We are located only 200 meters (few minutes of walking) away form one of the most beautiful beach in Hvar. The supermarket is 5 minute away and old city center is only 15 minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Villa Fio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing