We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large and nice accommodations (apartments), nicest staff”
Review of Villa Fio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Fio
Ranked #2 of 51 Hvar B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We traveled across Croatia, and this was our favorite accommodation.

Positives: Large Room, Balcony with great view, kitchen with refrigerator, air conditioning that worked quickly, close to the best beach in Hvar...but the best thing about Villa Fio is that they have the most professional and helpful staff who bent over backwards to answer all our questions, give us recommendations, and make us reservations at the best restaurants. . What separated the staff at Villa Fio from other establishments across Croatia was that, in general Croatians are very helpful and will answer the specific question you ask, but will not volunteer incremental information, even if critical to know. Antonia was extremely helpful and, for example, helped us understand about the ferries and purchasing tickets (which is absolutely CRITICAL to know how the system works when using the ferries to travel to Hvar and Split or you risk not getting a ticket and missing your connections.)

Negatives: Long walk up the hill (but if you want a view...), and far from the city center but walkable. Breakfast is not included, but available upon request for some euros...else there is a market that you can pick up supplies a short walk away.

Antonia was great, the room was above average, and the view was fantastic. We would stay here again if we came back to Hvar no question.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed to have good views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (93)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 93 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2013

We had an excellent but brief stay in Villa Fio. We stayed in a studio which was great - spacious with a balcony, and very clean. We had breakfast on the terrace which was a perfect start to the day.

Marija and Antonia were fantastic hosts, picking us up from the bus station and running our luggage down when we had to leave.

Location is a 15 min walk from the centre of Hvar but really near a lovely beach.

We'd highly recommend Villa Fio to anyone visiting Hvar!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed at these lovely, modern, clean, well equipped apartments for 4 nights in June 2013. Marija was the perfect host - picking us up from the town, giving us lots of information on where to find things, lending us beach towels and even hanging our washing out for us on our balcony. We did not want to leave! We stayed in Alba apartment which is very modern and comes with everything you need - we found that it was a 15 minute walk in to town and a bit longer coming back due to the hill!!! The beach took about the same amount of time and you should definitely take some sturdy footwear as it is quite rocky. Hvar is a lovely place to visit - would recommend walking up to the fortress which has amazing views and we had a great meal at Dalmatino. You will not be disappointed with these apartments!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Acres15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2013

New & modern apartments with good location and nice views. very clean and well equipped. Excellent kitchenette with all you need like coffee machine and espresso pan, kettles etc. We had two balconies to two different directions and beutiful views. Bed was very comfortable and there was satellite TV (lcd) in bedroom. Bathroom was also nice, clean and there was always enough clean towels, soap, paper etc. Location is also good, 15 minutes walk from center but we had scooter so it was easy to move everywhere. There is a nice beach close to Villa Fio, only 5 minutes trail walk there. I totally recommend Villa Fio if you are visiting Hvar!

Thank Jarskih
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 24 June 2013

After a distasteful experience trying to get to Hvar island (the ferry system is a debacle) our day was starting to look quite average while we had to try to find Villa Fio in the searing heat. After going up the wrong streets a few times (up and down hills) we finally got there and weren't we relieved! Our apartment was spacious, air conditioned, with a private balcony with sea views on both sides. ... what better way to make things seem better!

The location is away from the bustle of Hvar Town... but close enough to walk there in 10 minutes with the bulk of the walk being along the water. There is a more secluded beach just 5 minutes in the opposite direction. There is also a small supermarket nearby. Marija and her family were extremely helpful and nice throughout our stay... even offering to meet us in town with our luggage on our last day to avoid walking in with it.

Don't hesitate in booking Villa Fio... it was a great experience.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbuz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

The Villa Fio was perfect for us. We had planned 3 nights in Hvar and finding that everything was incredibly expensive we came upon the Villa on Tripadvisor. The owners picked us up from the ferry terminal and made us feel very welcome. We had just come from an overpriced 4 star in Split and I can't tell you how different the level of service was! We had homemade baked goods delivered to our room. Free bottled water and even beer. The air conditioning was excellent and the bed comfortable. I cannot praise it enough. The reason I have not given this an excellent rating is that it is quite a ways out of town. Only 15-20 mins walk BUT it is quite a pull and if you are like us - 60 years of age and after a full meal with wine in 30 degrees heat the walk up the hill got old pretty quickly.

Room Tip: Get a room on a higher floor. We had the ground floor which was fine but had no balcony or view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wgoater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed with my boyfriend at Villa Fio, unfortunately only for 1 night. Neither of us wanted to leave! The apartment we had (n 4) is totally new and enjoys a lovely view of the sea from its private balcony. The owner was very friendly and gave us great recommendations, including an awesome restaurantt for dinner (Dalmatino). 5 mins walk to a beautiful beach (bring your walking boots and your water shoes - there are rocks both on the path and on the beach) and 15 mins walk to Hvar town. We are already thinking of going back!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilluzza82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hvar hotels
1.1 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
455 reviews
1.2 mi away
Aparthotel Pharia
Aparthotel Pharia
#7 of 16 in Hvar
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.7 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
260 reviews
1 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Fio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Fio

Address: Ulica Lucije Rudan 67, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 51 B&Bs / Inns in Hvar
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Fio 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Fio is newly built hotel on top of the hill with stunning sea view from every apartmant. We are located only 200 meters (few minutes of walking) away form one of the most beautiful beach in Hvar. The supermarket is 5 minute away and old city center is only 15 minute walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Villa Fio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing