We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills. Just good food.”
Review of Junior

Junior
Ranked #17 of 134 Restaurants in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$6
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Restaurant "Junior" is a family run restaurant in the old town centre. We serve local and organically produced food. My grandma, the owner, stil cooks the food with her secret recipes and my father,her son, provides the restaurant with the fresh fish that he caught on the very same day. "Junior" is a great restaurant if you'd like to taste traditional dishes and to experience truly local Hvar atmosphere.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“No frills. Just good food.”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We arrived quite late and were the only customers. Nevertheless, the service was good and friendly and the food & wine was excellent. The mussels were very good and super fresh. Recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rodanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    75
    20
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fresh as it gets”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We stayed at the Podstine hotel and from the recommendations we got for restaurants from the hotel, this was the best by far. We were told that the restaurant is owned by a group of fishermen with their daily catch being served, and the fish lived up to our expectations. This is specially important in August as there is such an influx of tourists that the quality of food goes down and the prices rocket up. Portions are large so be aware when you order!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dinesh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
2 reviews
“very good sea food”
Reviewed 5 August 2013

u can injoy in originaly croatian sea food-prices r a bit high like in other restaurants in this are-recommend scampi and mussels and try dalmatian wines what they recommend

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adriann s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
409 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Excellent Fish!”
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We were initially hesitant to try Junior ... the name is unusual and some of the reviews were so-so, but we really enjoyed our meal! Looks like a family run business. There were two elderly ladies in the kitchen cooking - so cute. We asked about the fresh fish. Our waitress told us they'd just caught Dentex that day. We'd never heard of Dentex, but decided to give it a go. She also offered to prepare it "gregada" style, which we'd also never heard of but she told us it was an authentic Croatian way of preparing the fish, so naturally we chose the gregada style.

It was awesome!! The fish was white, light and tasty. The gregada style basically means the fish is cooked with white wine, olive oil, garlic, tomatoes and potatoes. It was so good!

We thought the prices were on par with other restaurants. The prices are clearly printed on the menu so there shouldn't be any surprises when you receive your bill. Service was prompt, although not overly friendly.

I think because the restaurant is tucked away behind the main square it doesn't get as much traffic as other spots, but the restaurant is very, very good. Definitely recommend!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SandBAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Slow and expensive”
Reviewed 17 July 2013

Ordered fresh fish for 2. Took 45mins to arrive and we were charged 450kn...which is far too expensive for what we got. Twice the price of other better seafood restaurants we had visited locally. This place is far from fine dining, so should not be charging fine dining prices.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eoincon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Junior also viewed

Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 
Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 

Been to Junior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing