We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very unprofessional”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Apartments Iris-Doris
Ranked #18 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Hvar
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Very unprofessional”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Iris cancelled my booking with no warning just a few days before I was due to leave for Croatia. The reason was because she had not been able to accept a deposit by any of the means of payment I suggested (her Paypal account was not set up to receive funds, and she was unwilling to accept a Money Gram payment via the post office). Her only suggestion was IBAN or cheque, both of which incurred a £25 bank charge, which for a payment of £22 is extortionate!

I had been responding to her very quickly but Iris was incredibly slow at replying to my emails, often taking 8 days to reply and even then only when pushed. My friend and I are staying in 5 other places all over Croatia and I have not had ANY other problems with booking accommodation. Iris only seems to care about taking money and not about providing good customer service to holidaymakers. She runs a very unprofessional set-up. She should have a better way of taking payments for deposits, such as an online payment system or credit card facility, like many other establishments.

I can only guess that her guest house is not registered or set up as a proper company, and many people will run the risk of being left high and dry if they book with Iris as there seems to be no comeback. Once she has your money, where is the guarantee that she will actually honour the booking? You may well turn up there and find that Iris denies ever having received your money!

I have now found alternative accommodation for the same price and no deposit needed. Unlike Iris, the new guesthouse owner has been delightful to deal with. A blessing in disguise! Iris is just out to make a quick buck and doesn't care how she gets it or who she upsets in the process.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rabbiter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We spent two nights in Iris-Doris apartments in the end of june 2013. We called them when we arrived at the bus stop and luckily they had an apartment for us.
We were picked up at the bus station by Iris' mom and driven to the apartment a couple of minutes away.
Iris and her mom was extremely helpful regarding what to do in Hvar and over all this was the best place we stayed during our holiday. we could easily spend a week at this place!

You will never get better service anywhere. It's just a few minutes walking away from the centre and is quiet and peaceful. We even had a big balcony!

The apartments are modern, clean and airconditioned. Stay here and you will have the best time in Hvar.

Thank you Iris for a great stay!

Room Tip: Iris also have a small, cosy little local jewelery shop located on the steps from the centre towards...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reiseklar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Before I begin, it's worth noting that the apartment is a 10 minute walk from town, mainly up quite steep hills...(although not a problem with your bags as they will pick you up in town when you arrive and drop you off when you leave)

My girlfriend and I didn't mind the walk and we enjoyed our stay. The apartments are new, clean and have everything you could need. The huge balcony is perfect for chilling out in the evening and enjoying the great views out to sea and across the hills. Being away from town means that you don't hear any noise at night which is nice and peaceful.

The owner, Iris and her mum & sister are great. They really made our stay enjoyable by being so genuinely warm, friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms upstairs seem to get a better view out to the sea and over the hills.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WillyHily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Iris-Doris was excellent. The landlady picked us up at the ferry and drove us the 10 min drive to her apartment. They provided a welcome pack listing all the things to do in Hvar as well as restaurants, bars and info about the Pakleni islands.

The apartment itself was spotlessly clean with all the kitchen utensils you could ever need. A dishwasher was a total bonus - no holiday washing up!! =) We also had a small patio/balcony with dining table, fire place and candles.. perfect!

It's located up a small hill, 6 min walk from the centre of Hvar. There is a supermarket, beach and bus stop all located nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acj226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay here! The apartment is spotless, cozy, nicely decorated and much larger than anticipated. The hosts-Iris and Rose are very friendly and will help you with any questions. We got a whole packet of information when we checked in telling us about places to go, eat, beaches, bars, etc. to see while in Hvar. It is situated on a hill above the main square and we really enjoyed our walks down to the main part of town, not far at all! We highly recommend this apartment for your visit to Hvar!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Big_Sky_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We were picked up opposite the bus station at 06:30 by the friendly Rose who drove us the short distance to the apartment. The apartment is located up a slight hill just outside the old town (about 5-7 min walk from the old town). The apartment itself was perfectly clean with a nice balcony facing out onto the street. There was a modern tv in the bedroom and the wifi worked great. The kitchen has a modern fridge/freezer and hob with all the necessary cutlery/delf. The shower was spotless. The morning we were leaving we were to get the ferry from Jelsa to Bol at 06:00! Amazingly Rose got up at 05:20 and drove us the 25min journey to Jelsa to make the ferry!!! Thanks again! Overall this is a great place to stay and excellent value and the owners could not have been more friendly, helpful and generous.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a balcony facing the street as it will be west facing with lovely sunshine in the e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaithiOC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
skichick09
Level Contributor
189 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2013

We absolutely loved Hvar Town – what a gorgeous place. The Iris apartments are situated just behind the old town. The hosts are absolutely lovely, collected us from just behind the main square (5 minutes from the ferry drop off) and took us and our bags up the hill. They showed us the shortcut to get back to the town without going the road route too. It is quite a steep short walk back to the apartment from the town, but you soon realise this is common throughout the croatian islands and is good for the fitness!

The apartment was spacious, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable with a handy terrace off the bedroom and kitchen. We had some washing we needed doing and they even offered to do this for us – what a service and it dried in no time on the balcony.

If you are looking for an affordable and quiet location literally minutes from the buzz of Hvar Town, look no further as this is the best spot. We made our reservations through booking.com and found this a very useful service.

We hope to come back again one day.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skichick09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.8 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#5 of 16 in Hvar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
0.3 mi away
Apartments Komazin
Apartments Komazin
#1 of 164 in Hvar
5.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hostel Villa Zorana
Hostel Villa Zorana
#14 of 164 in Hvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apartments Iris-Doris? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apartments Iris-Doris

Property: Apartments Iris-Doris
Address: Ulica Dushka Roica 3, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 164 Speciality Lodging in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Apartments Iris-Doris reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing