We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First class hotel with quality rooms & service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“First class hotel with quality rooms & service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

We loved our stay at the Amfora! Such great service and the rooms were clean and well decorated. The breakfast was epic (although they enjoy eating cake for breakfast….). They also have a good bar where we had one of the best burgers we ever had in Europe! They also know how to make good chips (amazing!). However, the traditional Croation food in the evening was not very good. Go into the city instead for a typical croatian dinner!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripADspy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, 26 March 2014
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you very much for being our guest in Hvar, and most of all we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our Amfora hvar grand beach resort.

Thank you for this lovely comment and hope to see you again in Hvar.

With Kind Regards,
Amfora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    630
    342
    113
    82
See reviews for
322
838
37
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (305)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stayed her over the summer and it was absolutley fantastic! Hotel, staff and amenities were wonderful. Beautiful hotel and views, food was fantastic. My kids (age 17 and 12) have already decided that is were they want to go for there honeymoon!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sandyqb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

Brilliant hotel, lovely staff, pools great for kids
Hvar itself has plenty to do with fabulous restaurants
If you go in May/June be prepared for the weather to turn on a sixpence glorious one minute bucketing down the next
We would certainly go again
But with better raincoats and bigger brollies!!
Food & drink so cheap it was a pleasure to agree to ice creams and treats without worrying about the bill

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2013

I had the opportunity to stay at the Amfora Hotel in Hvar in June 2013 while attending a 4 day long business meeting. The hotel itself is in a great location, with beautiful views of the Adriatic (I wish I could have enjoyed the surroundings a bit more!). The only aspect of the hotel that fell short was the food, it is decent, but not what I would expect.

In regards to nightlife - a must visit is "Carpe Diem", which is about a 10 minute walk from the hotel - the club is half outdoors, half indoors.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the sea are nice - however I had a suite that faced the hillside and that provided beau...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cshard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 November 2013

We'd been keenly looking forward to our stay in the Amfora. The photos on their site looked great, had generally good reviews and had some top class sibling hotels in it's group.

Whilst there isn't anything categorically wrong with this hotel; the pool area is nice, the bar has a good selection and is in a good location. It just felt a bit lack lustre, and misses the mark a bit in terms of it's star rating. The atmosphere was also lacking. Which was surprising considering it was one of the hotels that positioned itself more in the luxury-party space. And whilst we did visit a little out of season the hotel should have made effort to balance this out.

We a Junior Suite room, which was nice and spacious but was tarnished by the bizarre toilet setup. Where a square fitment was placed over the top of the bowl, instead of a usual seat. Making it uncomfortable and probably not all that hygienic.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pauljamescampbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Mr. Campbell,

Thank you very much for choosing Amfora hvar grand beach resort while staying in Hvar and we highly appreciate your review as we like to hear good sides of our product as well as to hear about things we need to improve.
We will put an action to your suggestions and work on the atmosphere and activities in the hotel during off season more.

Hope to welcome you again in Hvar,
Amfora Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

The Amfora hotel sits midway on the short path that takes you from the heart of Hvar Town along the coastline. It has beautiful views from the hotel lobby, a magnificent poolscape, and clean rooms. However, there are many aspects of Amfora that fall short. First, some of the rooms are very difficult to get to. Our room required a mixture of stairs, elevators, and walks down corridors to get to. The signs are also very hard to follow. Moreover, our bathroom had a leak that came from the ceiling and flowed down the bathroom wall. When I called down to the front desk, they said they would check it out in the morning. I demanded our room be moved that night, and begrudgingly they did. Overall, the quality of Amfora is worth the price, but it is not as high end as it pretends to be.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Michelle,

Thank you very much for being our guest at Amfora hvar grand beach resort and we highly appreciate your review that direct us what we should improve. We did action on your suggestions as it is our top priority to make our hotel an upscale product.

We are looking forward to welcome you again in Hvar,
Suncani Hvar Hotels Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

This resort is well located, being a short walk along the sea face to town. The pool area is really attractive , and the view from the higher rooms is spectacular. Unfortunately, not too many people were swimming in the pool as the water was far too cold. Food in the restaurants was ok only, but well priced. Concierge service was really helpful. A good place for a rest.

Room Tip: get a room facing the sea for spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bettylow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.4 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort

Property: Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Address: Ulica biskupa Jurja Dubokovica 5, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia (Formerly Amfora Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a tranquil bay, surrounded by a lush pine grove, and only a short ten minute walk from the historic city of Hvar, Amfora. Hvar grand beach resort is the most exciting beach resort in the Adriatic. Its contemporary designed rooms with breath-taking views of the Paklinski Islands, spectacular cascading pool with lounge area and diverse amenities such as state-of-the-art conference facilities make this unique self-contained destination resort ideal not only for couples, and family vacations but also for all your special business events from team building incentives, large meetings and conferences, banquets to workshops. The exclusive and luxurious beach club Bonj 'Les Bains' is located within the resort, with private cabanas, massages in the Sensori Spa wellness centre, sunbeds and a beach bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amfora Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing