We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Reviewed 12 August 2009

I can barely pick fault with this hotel as everything about it will meet you expectations. The reception/lobby area is very nice and modern and check-in was really efficient. Our room wasn't quite ready as we arrived earlier than we were supposed to so we went to the pool area and ate lunch in the Cascades restaurant which was again very nice.
When our room was ready, the cases were brought up to the room. The rooms are, as mentioned in other reviews, a bit pokey but they're really stylish and have everything you need for a comfortable stay. I recommend paying a little extra for a sea-view as the 'park' view is more a 'car-park' view.
The pool area is lovely but like most hotels, sun loungers are hard to get unless you reserve them with you pool towel. You get your pool towels with a pool card given to you on check-in and this must be returned at the end of your stay otherwise you have to pay for the towels.
The private beach, Bonj Les Bains, is very chic with stone cabanas etc. and they even come round with watermelon after lunch which is very refreshing! The sun loungers at Bonj were included in our room but I think it would be quite expensive if it wasn't.
The hotel restaurant has excellent view. Breakfast has everything you would want and I would recommend having the buffet for dinner as there is plenty of choice and costs 22 euros which is excellent value compared with some of the restaurants in Hvar Town (the nicest restaurant we found there was Luna so I would recommend asking the concierge about that one!).
We also liked the fact that the Amfora was part of the chain, Suncani Hvar Hotels, which meant you could get a 10% discount in any of the other hotels on the island. The Riva and The Adriana are both very nice.
The staff are very friendly and obliging which made a change from the other restaurants we went to in Hvar town where service was slow.
Overall, I thought the hotel was fantastic and I will recommend staying here and Hvar to all my friends!
General tips:
Try to get access to Bonj included in your stay
The ice-cream stall between the hotel and Bonj sells the best ice-cream for around 80p (7 Kuna) each!
Take jelly shoes for the sea as it is rocky and there are lots of sea-urchins
Hire a boat from the stall opposite the ice-cream to go around the Pakleni islands
Pre-Book the Jadrolinja ferry as tickets sell out
Hvar is beautiful!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank screenname79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,032)
There are newer reviews for Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,487 - 1,493 of 2,032 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2009

This hotel has everything you would want, lovely pool and bedrooms in very luxurious surroundings. It is situated in a beautiful bay with fantastic views. Very cosmopolitan clientelle so its nice to be surrounded by visitors from across the globe. The staff are extremely courteous and efficient and all the rooms are spotlessly clean.
I would recommend this hotel for a "special" event - its not cheap but its one of the best hotels we have every stayed at. Hvar town is only a short walk away - perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

We booked into the Amfora looking for comfort and relaxation after a hectic week travelling around other parts of Croatia, and that's exactly what we got.
The location was perfect - a short and shady stroll into town via a few ice cream sellers and souvenir stalls.
Our room was situated in the furthest reaches of the left wing of the hotel and the Amfora is a bit of a maze, but that's a minor gripe as the room was spacious, spotless with a lovely balcony with unexpected (albeit oblique) sea views.
The pool is large, has a fun slide for kids and a swim-up bar. There were usually a couple of spare sunbeds throughout the day, but get up early if you want to save a particular spot.
On the final day we left the pool in favour of the neighbouring Bon Baines bar and restaurant, which is a minute away from the hotel in the direction of Hvar Town and owned by the same company.
It had a nice selection of sun beds from which you could throw yourself straight into the sea - we weren't really sure whether we were supposed to have to pay to hire them or not. In the end we weren't asked for money, but thought it only polite to eat in the restaurant at lunchtime.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrightonBernie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2009

I have read so many reviews on tripadvisor and several other sites regarding the Amfora that I had to write one myself. This hotel is absolutely incredible, with clean European styling and comfort at every turn. Service was exceptional, as was the room; and we even had a park view! I never felt crowded in the hotel, and was constantly surprised by the amount of space, even in a 21m2 room. It was simply memorable, in every way.

I could not recommend this place more, and even plan to return there myself next year perhaps, or maybe sooner... it was such a wonderful place to call home for seven days. Oh, and for the record, Hvar town is ALSO incredible, as is the whole island. This has to be my favorite vacation spot so far, it was just the best.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaisertod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2009

The location is great and the view is fantastic. The hotel has its own beach. I got a massage in one of the seaside cabanas and it was easily the best massage I've ever had. I would quickly go back if given the chance!

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanderluster24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2009

Just got back from Hvar

Amfora is an outstanding hotel in all aspects. A sea view is worth the higher rate. Outstanding breakfast all the way. The pool and the beach are outstanding. The only negative is that the rooms are very small, but the grounds are so beautiful that you would not want to spent time in the room any way.
Excellent location and facilities. Staff very nice and helpful. You can call them when you arrive and they will pick you up from the ferry port in town. The other Suncani hotels are also very nice, but there is lots of activity and noise in town. The walk from the Amfora to the town is very short and beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MitchyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2009

You could not ask for a better hotel in its price range. I traveled all over the world and have seen my share of hotels. Certainly, the Hotel Suncari Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort rates as one of the best. The rooms are clean, spacious and the location of the hotel is excellent. The staff was not overly friendly, but they were not rude either, and they were efficient. The breakfast buffet was excellent and there were many varieties of food including fresh egg omelets and fresh baked breads. The pool is beautiful and expansive. It has a strobe light system built into the floor that presents a beautiful display at night. The hotel is situated in a perfect location and you don’t really need a car if you don’t want one. It is a 3 minute walk to a beautiful beach, which the rear of the hotel overlooks. Remember to bring your sandals because the beaches in Croatia are comprised of pebbles instead of sand. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the town of Hvar. This walk is on a cement path that you can access right from the rear of the hotel and it goes directly into the town. The walkway is well lit and follows the beautiful crystal clear water of the Adriatic Sea. It is remarkably safe to walk at night as well. The town is quaint and has many bars and restaurants from which to choose. It also has a beautiful walkway around the harbor. You will find many families and couples strolling along eating fresh gelato, which is plentiful in the town. Going the other way on the walkway brings you to beautiful private beach area, which is a bit rocky, for sunning or having a drink at one of the seaside bars. Lastly, I highly recommend a visit to the Villa Dinka Restaurant. This restaurant is situated overlooking the rear of the hotel and the beautiful bay (you can get there out the back of the hotel and a quick walk up a steep hill). The owner Nikolas does all the hosting and waiting tables while his wife prepares all of the meals. They were extremely friendly and their food was not only reasonably priced, but it was excellent. If you have the time pre-order their lamb cooked in a clay pot. I believe it cooks for something like 6 hours. Usually when we are on vacation we never eat at the same place twice. In this case, we visited Viilla Dinka twice and were very pleased. The one possible negative to staying at Amfora is that it is quite big. Therefore, if you have trouble walking, make sure you ask for a room that is close to the pool. Depending on where you are situated, the walk to the pool could be about 7 minutes. Other than that I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DanBadaBing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.1 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#1 of 16 in Hvar
255 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Pharia
Aparthotel Pharia
#7 of 16 in Hvar
152 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort

Address: Ulica biskupa Jurja Dubokovica 5, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia (Formerly Amfora Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Hvar
Price Range: £72 - £302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 324
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away in a tranquil bay, surrounded by a lush pine grove, and only a short ten minute walk from the historic city of Hvar, Amfora. Hvar grand beach resort is the most exciting beach resort in the Adriatic. Its contemporary designed rooms with breath-taking views of the Paklinski Islands, spectacular cascading pool with lounge area and diverse amenities such as state-of-the-art conference facilities make this unique self-contained destination resort ideal not only for couples, and family vacations but also for all your special business events from team building incentives, large meetings and conferences, banquets to workshops. The exclusive and luxurious beach club Bonj 'Les Bains' is located within the resort, with private cabanas, massages in the Sensori Spa wellness centre, sunbeds and a beach bar and restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amfora Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing