We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel in a great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace Hvar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palace Hvar Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good hotel in a great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed one night in The Palace and we were happy with hotel. Its located in the perfect location right off the main square. The room itself was good although in need of a bit of a refurb. We had a lovely view out the window. The bathroom was quite small though. Breakfast was included with the room which was great. The staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    99
    113
    64
    63
See reviews for
46
188
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
179 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

To be right on the main square of the town of Hvar makes this hotel an excellent place to stay. The rooms are a little tight, a little tired, and the bathrooms probably need refurbishing, but it's clean and the staff is nice. But, as stated, what you're getting is location, location, location and I think it's well worth it.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that faces the square (but I'm not sure I'd pay more for it).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EBPandDSP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at The Palace Hvar Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your lovely review and we are pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you again soon in Hvar!

With Best Regards
Palace Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level Contributor
141 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

I booked this hotel based upon write ups in Trip Advisor. It was the right combination of price and location.
This is an average hotel in an excellent location. It is in the heart of the Hvar Town. We had a room with a balcony, they are very small.
The staff were very pleasant and easy to deal with.
The stay included a full hot and cold breakfast that was fully stocked.

I wouId recommend this hotel as a good value hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheldon a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
King's Lynn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013

My 7 night stay was booked through Anatolian Sky Holidays ,who in the past have arranged for me countless trips the length and breadth of Turkey.

I read countless reviews before departure so was a little anxious what I might find at The Palace.
I need not have been concerned. I was allocated a large double room on the 3rd floor(312) with a sea view and a large full bathroom. Although the building is old fashioned, my room and bathroom were immaculate, everything worked and the bed was very comfortable. There was loads of wardrobe space and more than enough hangers.

The breakfasts had a vast array of fruits,cheese, cold meats, cereals, breads,cakes and preserves.Hot choices of bacon,sausages and scrambled eggs were also on offer.

The two guys on reception were terrific ,finding me a local bar where I could watch football with very cheap drinks!

I accept that the lack of air conditioning would preclude a stay there in high summer but the ceiling fan was all that was required the last week in September.

The bus services was great for getting around and I took an off road safari which I highly recommend. Loved Hvar and am going to Brac same week next year, with the same holiday company.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dfergie412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2013

This hotel is supposed to be one of the oldest hotels in Europe, having being inaugurated by the Empress Sissi from Austria and wife of Franz Ferdinand I. It is located right at the main square of Hvar, which can be a good thing since you can easily wheel your luggage from the pier to the hotel and from it you can reach all the important historical sites of the area in just a few steps or a few minutes on foot. However, it can be a bad thing in the sense that if you have your windows opened, there will be the constant noise of the hustle and bustle of the town. Moreover, in the evening, until late in the early morning, even with your windows closed, you will hear the music of the jazz live band with the singer until the wee hours of the morning. Therefore, if you are an early bird going to bed or getting up in the morning, you would be better finding somewhere else to stay in Hvar.
The room itself was fine. The bathroom dated. There is no air conditioned but there is a ceiling fan which worked for us, since we were there in September and the weather was not hot, but in the Summer, it must be unbearable.
One good point of the hotel is its breakfast: it is varied, with plenty of fruits, home-made yogurt, semolina, corn bread pudding, various types of bread, local pastry, cereals, cheeses, cold cuts, tomatoes, cucumber, eggs, local jams, bacon, etc.
Would I recommend this hotel? No, because I am not a night owl. If, however, you like to party and stay up late, then this hotel may be for you!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Capisce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
brisbane australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

This hotel is in a great location and the staff were pleasant. However, our room was so small that one of us had to sit on the bed whilst the other moved about, I had to stand on the bed to open the window ( which was worth the effort as it looked right onto the fortress), no power point so had to unplug the fridge to charge phone batteries etc and the bathroon was very small and old. I cannot understand why this hotel has not been refurbished and is capitalizing on the history of it's origins.
Hvar has a "party island" feel with lots of groups of young people all on a mission to have a great time with lots of loud music etc well into the wee hours.
Some nice restaurants and bars. We did an interesting inland island excursion and one of our party did a day trip to the caves and other islands. The island must have looked stunning years ago when it was awash with lavender and rosemary.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brenandjoan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights beginning of October 2013 and it was probably the worst hotel we stayed in during our 10 day trip through Croatia.

The only two good things about this hotel: Top location and great view over the harbour. Everything else was just disappointing.

The ancient hotel building looks marvellous and charming, but once entered, it disappoints in any kind of way. The 1980s style interior has seen some refurbishment here and there, but clearly lacks a complete renovation. The room was tiny, no aircondition, broken fan, almost falling off window handles, broken window blinds, no WiFi and not a single (!!!) free plug in the entire room. We had to unplug the fridge to charge a mobile phone. Tiny bathroom, no window nor a fan in the bathroom. The bathroom itself had the charme of a trainstation restroom, strange neon lighting and an awfully smelling sink.

Next to the hotel is a jazz bar and due to the old windows, you can hear music until late at night.

When checking-out, we received the bill printed on the back of another guest's bill - including full name, phone number, credit card number etc. This is not what I would call data protection!

To sum up: This is anything but a "palace", we don't know how this place can be classified as a 3 star hotel (rather 2 star), far too expensive for what you get and we would totally not suggest staying there!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Inn2TheWild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Hvar hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.2 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Hvar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Hvar Hotel

Property: The Palace Hvar Hotel
Address: Trg Svetog Stjepana 5, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Palace Hvar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In 1869, Empress Elisabeth of Vienna was so impressed after discovering the city of Hvar, that she encouraged the building of the iconic Palace hotel and contributed to the financing and design. From the beginning the hotel was a great success welcoming guests from all over Europe establishing Hvar as a famous destination as it is today. The hotel has graciously aged charm and character mirroring that of the island. History lovers will also enjoy its central location,which provides romantic views of the ancient piazza and neighbouring buildings such as St. Stephenʼs Cathedral, and glorious sunsets over the bay. Guests can dine at the San Marco Venetian terrace overlooking the yacht harbour immersed in the heart of Hvar's historical architecture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS and TravelUp so you can book your The Palace Hvar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Hvar
Palace Hvar Island
Palace Hotel Hvar Island
Hotel Palace Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing