We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love it Love Danka!”
Review of Konoba Gojava - CLOSED

Konoba Gojava
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Mediterranean, European, Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Konoba Gojava ( "Gojava" - name of the old Hvar district beneath the Napoleon fortress) is a nice little tavern located on the first stairs west of the main square (Clock Tower). It's the perfect place for a quiet romantic candlelight dinner. If you are with friends and looking for a more crowded atmosphere there are tables located on the street. It is a great choice if you are looking for a good
Kent
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Love it Love Danka!”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Danka (the owner), made a very special effort to sit us at a good table, and even moved us as soon as one became available. She recommended the lobster pasta, which we ordered for 3 and shared, it was lovely! The atmosphere, but mostly the staff.
Danka is an artist and after a little discussion we realised the walls were adorned with her pictures. She picked one out especially for me, it's now hanging in my kitchen. I love her, and I love this restaurant - go, I'm sure you will too.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Whitewillow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    23
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Family Run Restaurant!”
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

The location of this restaurant is just up from the main square by the port so you'd expect average "touristy" food. To our very pleasant surprise we found it to be the complete opposite. It is a family run business and even a lot of the ingredients are grown in their mothers garden.

The service is a little slow but you're on holiday so why rush and that way you know you're getting freshly cooked food, nothing prepared.
Our first night I ordered a great fillet steak with their special home cut oven fries and my wife got the fillet of sea bass which came with grilled veg. Both were done over a wood flame and were excellent.

The setting is cute and quite romantic on the stairs up from the port.
We don't usually eat at the same place twice while away as we like to try new places but we enjoyed the whole experience so much we went back for our last night in Hvar.
The lady who runs it recognised us and was so lovely and spoilt us. She made time to come chat and gave us two glasses of local brandy on them.

I definitely recommend as one of the best places to eat dinner at in Hvar!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jarren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good setting, slow service!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We ate in this restaurant after reading good reviews on Tripadvisor. The setting is cute with a nice atmosphere, and they had live guitar music which added to the ambience. We had reserved a table, which was on the steps at the front of the restaurant. The food was slightly better then average, but the service was lousy. We had to ask numerous times for drinks and the bill among other things. Unfortunately this ruined things for us do we wouldn't go back because of this.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bunwatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Super service and food”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Super family run restaurant serving tasty, fresh, affordable food in a love outdoor setting.

Highly recommended !!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DodgerIrishinLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Favourite restaurant in Hvar”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

It was so good we visited twice, we both agreed it was our favourite dining experience.
Set in the beautiful town steps on candlelit tables looking towards the harbour.
It's the perfect romantic setting to take some time and enjoy the Dalmatian pace of life.

Danka and her husband (owners) are so welcoming, taking time to go through the menu and point out their favourite local home cooked dishes.

We tried the lot- Buzara, Gregada, Brodetto, and Black Risotto to name a few.
All topped off with 'drunken figs' & a few glasses of wine..

Great value for such a wonderful experience.
A must visit if you're heading to Hvar!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Konoba Gojava also viewed

Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing