We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“sept break”
Review of Aparthotel Pharia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aparthotel Pharia
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Reviewed 13 September 2013

8 men went for a scuba diving holiday, the villa/ apartment was very good, the seaside path led you straight to Hvar town in 30 mins. there is a lot of nice buildings and small alleyways with shops and restuarants if you venture up towards the castle. The main square area is buzzing with people. the diving was mediocore the scooters great and really we had a very enjoyable break The accommadation was excellent

Room Tip: all rooms are good
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pharia, Manager at Aparthotel Pharia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Dornago,
Thank you for your wonderful review. We are very glad to hear that you were pleased with your stay and your accommodation. Indeed, our villas are ideal place if for everyone who want to experience beautiful scenery and lovely seaside landscape. Based on you positive experience we certainly hope that you will visit us in years to come.
Best regards
Sanja Kovacevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (152)
There are newer reviews for Aparthotel Pharia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

57 - 63 of 152 reviews

Reviewed 10 September 2013

I stayed here in August 2013 for a week with three friends. We had two apartments in the main building both with a bedroom, sitting room (pull out bed), bathroom, balcony and hallway.

Rooms were clean and spacious if not a little tired (especially the bathrooms). Both of our rooms had air con.

Slept well and the breakfast was fine (mainly continental with cooked options on request).

Staff were fantastic, really friendly and more than happy to help - especially with the wasps at the breakfast table.

Location is out of town - about a 20-25 minute walk depending on your speed, but is just up the steps from the hula hula bar so easy access for great sunset views. We didn't get sea views from our balconies - unless you count the narrow gap in between the two villas in front of the hotel.

There is a small supermarket about 2 minutes walk away which has everything you might need so no need to walk to Hvar town for your essentials!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BJCOG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pharia, Manager at Aparthotel Pharia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear BJCOG,
Thank you for taking time in reviewing our hotel accommodation. We also appreciate your effort in explaining about our location, I am sure it will be helpful for or our future guests that decide to come. Especially I would like to thank you for the kindest words for our staff, nice compliments such as yours always encourage us to work even better and try even harder. We certainly hope that you will be our guest on some other future occasion.
Kind regards
Sanja Kovacevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights. Had a room in main block which was better. Floor was dirty when checked as wooden. Vacuuming doesn't clean it! Bathroom was new and sheets were clean. However once the housekeeper didn't clean and I was out by 10 and another day they knocked at 1030 to clean. Perhaps they just want to get out early. Breakfast was basic but ok. Bread was good. Hvar is expensive. If I went again would stay elsewhere. Maybe you are paying for location near beach and hula hula.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertieWertie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pharia, Manager at Aparthotel Pharia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear BertieWertie,
Thank you for giving us review on you stay at our hotel and for your criticism. I am sorry you have had inconvenience regarding our housekeeping. I believe they were very busy during that high season period and tried to do their job in the shortest period of time possible. We will definitely try to improve that by reorganizing our stuff and will try to be even better and more effective for the seasons to come. I am glad to hear that you were pleased with the rest – breakfast and location. Regarding prices, as you have said it yourself, Hvar is pretty expensive destination, and we are always trying to keep our prices lowest as possible in comparison to our competition. Let me just say that indeed hotel Pharia is among cheapest in Hvar town.
We are looking forward to your next visit to Croatia and hopefully to our hotel as well.
Best wishes!
Sanja Kovacevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Not a very high opinion of this hotel which by the way should not call itself a hotel. Better suited to call itself apartment accommodation which even then would be quite mediocre apartment accommodation. Hotel facilities were very basic and in some cases quite poor. The interior is just basic old apartment style of accommodation from the 60s. So a little dull and depressing.

Room was very basic with no fridge or safe which we personally like to have. Wifi was reasonable and free. Our room had a decent water view which was probably the best aspect. The bathrooms were not cleaned on daily basis (only the towels were changed and bins emptied). Several lights in the room and the hotel common and outdoor areas did not work.

The breakfast was decent and plenty of the usual options. They made you fresh eggs if you wanted them which was good.

Initially also had an issue with the location as it is a good 15-20 min walk to the centre of town but if you are staying for 3-4 days or more it is actually not a bad location at all. It is in a local area just 50 m from its own little lovely beach. Also on the way to town, which by the way is a great coastal walk, you have a bunch of other great beaches with their own beach bars and clubs which were great fun and the place to be during the day if you were staying in town and not going to the other islands.

The hotel staff were ok and helpful enough with the basic service.

We did not after all mind the location but don't think would recommend the accommodation for couples who are after something a little nicer. Might be good for backpackers or families but we personally did not like it. Would be better to look at apartment accommodation around the area - and there were some lovely looking, newly refurbished apartments around which would have been a better option.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view is probably the best bet as it gives the room a bit more of an atmosphere.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Emilia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pharia, Manager at Aparthotel Pharia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Emilia!
Thank you for taking time and give us such extensive review. I am sure it will be helpful for all future guests who decide to visit Hvar and stay at our hotel. As well thank you for detailed description of our hotel room. We believe that our facilities are up to standards for a three star hotel and believe that our guests get good value-for-money by booking here. However, let me just draw attention to other accommodation of our Aparthotel. Beside double bedroom you have booked, we have also one-bedroom, two-bedroom apartments as well as four very nice villas which are spacious and very well equipped. We do hope that you will decide to come and visit us in one of them!
Regards
Sanja Kovacevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

First and foremost, I don't know if we just assumed too much from the website but we thought that we would be getting apartments given that this is an aparthotel. The rooms were big with a main bedroom and a smaller one, yet one had a fridge and the other one didn't so I'm not sure how consistant the rooms are. Nevertheless we weren't there to cook but a fridge in both room would have been nice, it was clean and spacious and the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is continental but a good selection and when we missed it one day and went in search of a coffee the waitress let us help ourselves to coffee and some left over pastries. The hotel is just a few minute's walk from the beach and a few more to Hula Hula, there is also a decent supermarket about 20 metres round the corner. Don't be fooled by the seemingly long taxi ride from town to the hotel; the walk down the coast into town is about 15 mins and very pleasant especially in the evening. All in all if you're young but still want a decent place to stay then this is a good choice, and there's more fun to be had than sleeping in Hvar!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aleightonbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pharia, Manager at Aparthotel Pharia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear guest!
Thank you for choosing Aparthotel Pharia and thank you for taking your time in reviewing our hotel. I am very glad you had nice time in Hvar. Also, thank you for spreading a good word and sharing information about location of our hotel. Guests are sometimes worried about the distance of the hotel while coming here with the taxi, but like you have said it yourself, it will take you only few minutes walking to get to the city center area. That is why we advise our guests not to use a car in the first place while the walk by the seaside is very enjoyable and nice. There is as well nearby Hula Hula bar which is also a plus point, especially for younger visitors.
I am sorry you weren´t satisfied with the size of your room. Photos of all our accommodation are published on a same web site and I´m guessing you have mistaken accommodation you have booked for the one you previously had seen on web. As well, according to the hotel standards, one fridge is considered enough for the room that size.
Thank you for kind words for our staff and breakfast buffet, it is very much appreciated. We hope that you will be our guest in years to come.
Best regards
Sanja Kovacevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Clean rooms with a view of the ocean, only a 5 minute walk to! Great breakfast every morning, staff were helpful and wifi was fast and never dropped out! It is a 20 minute walk into the city of hvar but its scenic and safe.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Courtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pharia, Manager at Aparthotel Pharia, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear Courtney!
Thank you for all nice reviews and kind words you have given us regarding your stay at Pharia. All those things you have mentioned such as cleanness, breakfast, free Wi-Fi access, polite and helpful stuff are some of the most important points and we´re always trying to maintain the highest standards in it. Nice reviews such as yours give us an extra push to work even better! I hope that you will be our guest on some other occasion!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Myself and 3 friends booked this accommodation in December at a decent rate in readiness for a festival that was happening in the hotel next door.

We thought it was just what we needed in terms of location, pricing, sleeps 4 etc etc.

1 week before flying out to Croatia however the owners decided to make up a story about not having our booking confirmation (even though they communicated directly with us in December at the point of booking to confirm that it was not 2 double beds!!!). The reason for this is simple...they had cottoned on about the event next door and realised they could charge some other poor sod 3 x the amount we had the apartment for and so instead stated they couldn't accommodate us.

Of course, they tried to offer an alternative (30 mins away) which wasn't acceptable and would have meant us incurring more costs in taxi's etc.

On this basis, I don't rate the property, because you simply don't lie to guests to line your pockets and to leave it until a week before the stay knowing that accommodation in the area is already close to capacity is out of order.

Therefore, although I never got the opportunity to actually stay at the apartments, I never will and I wouldn't recommend anyone who does business the way they have. Instead we have opted to pay much more money and go to a nice hotel where bookings are honoured!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
3  Thank fluffysparkly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pharia, Manager at Aparthotel Pharia, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear Mr. Mugford!
I am very sorry for all the inconveniences that happened and I am very sorry that, at the end, you did not have a chance to stay in our hotel. Since July and August period is peak of our summer season, we have had overbooking situation in the period you were supposed to stay. Maintained festival even increased number of people on the island. In the situation like this, we are obligated to provide another accommodation same or better quality. We did exactly that, we upgraded you to a better suit and I am really sorry that you didn´t get a chance to stay there after all.
However, I must disagree that we didn´t under any circumstances change prices of our accommodation during Ultra Music Festival, they remained the same as they were settled at the beginning of the season.
I am very sorry that you never got the opportunity to stay at our hotel but we would all be more than happy to have you here as our guest in the seasons to come!
Kind regards!
Sanja Kovacevic

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.2 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.5 mi away
The Palace Hvar Hotel
0.6 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#1 of 16 in Hvar
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aparthotel Pharia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aparthotel Pharia

Address: Put Podstina 1, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Hvar
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Hvar
Price Range: £53 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aparthotel Pharia 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the quiet west part of the city of Hvar, the Pharia hotel offers you room and apartment accommodation. Aparthotel Pharia is situated only about 50 meters from the seaside and a small gravel beach and only 15 min. walk from Hvar center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Aparthotel Pharia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aparthotel Pharia Hotel Hvar
Pharia Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing