We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed”
Review of Hotel Sirena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Sirena
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Reviewed 19 August 2010

Generally when we are travelling we like to book a mixture of basic and more comfortable hotels to balance the cost of our holiday. Hotel Sirena was described as being basic but clean, so we thought we would stay here whilst visiting Hvar. However, after our experiences at the hotel, we ended up checking out early.

Positive points about the hotel:
- It is a fantastic location. The beach is quiet, with plenty of places to sunbath and the water is undeniably beautiful.
- Next to the beach is a restaurant which serves lovely food for lunch and dinner.
- It is cheap in comparison to other accomodation in Hvar.

Points to be aware:
- The breakfast included in the price is inedible. It seemed the food had been left out for a long time, and cutlery was not always clean. We ended up walking to the local supermarket each morning to buy our own breakfast.
- The bedrooms are stiflingly hot, both in the day and night. There is no air conditioning or fan. Should you choose to leave the balcony doors open to TRY and get some air circulation, you risk mosquito visitors.
- The bathroom is VERY dated and can be quite smelly. You need to hold the shower head, of which the metal is flaking off.
- If you want warm water, you need to make sure you shower before 7 o'clock in the morning and evening.
- In the hills behind the main hotel are lots of abandoned and vandalised huts, this has a dampening effect on the scenery and appreciation of the location.
- if you choose to walk to the centre of town you are required to walk through a dark tunnel about 200m long. During the day this is okay, but it is not light up until well after dusk. This walk can be quite unnerving and dangerous. Take a torch!

Overall the best description I can give of this hotel is a 1970s University Hall of Residence which has not been updated or rennovated since it was built. I believe visitors of Hvar would be better suited to finding private accomodation, which would give much better value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank eebLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (69)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 69 reviews

Reviewed 17 April 2008

I'm 2 years late writing this review but couldn't let go of the bad memories so writing this to let everyone else know how bad this hotel really is. We stayed in a very hot end of july and there was no air conditioning anywhere in the hotel. Going to bed at night was torture as you lay sweating in your poky room with the balcony doors open to try and get some sort of a cooling breeze which never came!! Cold showers were the order of the day several times a day to cool us down.
Location of the hotel might be great if you intend to sit in your room every night because the hotel bar was appaling, little staff and closed once the sun went down. If your intention like ours is to explore the beautiful town with its many bars and restaurants bring a change of clothes as by the time you have walked into town you will be sweating again!! (min. 30 mins walk) With 2 weeks in the hotel ahead of us we decided to head for the 'local' supermarket for a few beers several nights but again it can be quite a walk.
I can't deny that the water is beautiful and the hotel beach is quiet compared to others but if you intend to get out and about in true croatia heat hotel location is terrible.

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sk1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2008

Stayed here a couple of summers ago with two friends. We were cramped into a very small room with not much space in a quite dated decor tower block type of hotel (its split into three buildings). The little bar downstairs is nice and friendly, reception staff were average and the main dining room was quite clinical.

But, the location is amazing. The hotel has its own secluded bay/beach which is lovely and therefore not crowded like the beachs nearer the town. This made it very relaxing and enjoyable. The hotel itself is just about 15mins walk to the mian port/town in Hvar, but it is a nice little walk in the evening.

This hotel was booked on budget so we were not expecting anything amazing but we were very pleasantly surprised with the hotel having its own little secluded beach area which made the break all the more enjoyable (you just need to take a look at other beachs and hotel beaches on the way into Hvar to see why; they are very crowded).

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stone26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2006

My girlfriend and I stayed in Hotel Sirena for 3 nights in June 2006.

The hotel is about 20-30mins walk to the centre of Hvar. Its a nice walk as it follows the coast. We hired mountain bikes, which reduced the journey to about 10mins (riding at a very very relax pace!)

The hotel is very basic. Our room didnt have a fan or air conditioning. But as our rooms balcony overviewed the hotels private beach, we weren't too bothered.

There is a small restuarant on site but it never seemed to be serving lunch when we wanted it! Although there was breakfast included with the room.

Clean and simple accommodation, but a little far from the action. Which can be a good thing if you enjoy and romantic stroll!

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TwistedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Szymon K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Mieszkaliśmy w części o nazwie Oliwka z bocznym widokiem na zatoke gdzie słońce pojawiało się na bal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Iwona_i_Krzysiek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank milenkoziherl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.6 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
455 reviews
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Pharia
Aparthotel Pharia
#7 of 16 in Hvar
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.7 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.6 mi away
Hotel Croatia
Hotel Croatia
#8 of 16 in Hvar
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sirena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sirena

Address: Ulica Dr. Oresta Zhunkovica 1, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Hvar
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sirena 2*
Number of rooms: 158
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Sirena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirena Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing