We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All true!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
Ranked #9 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I read other reviews before posting this one and found out that mainly all are true. Yes, the rooms are noisy - but the hotel has the best possible location for traveling and enjoying the nightlife. Due to many business trips I had taken to Hvar island, would definitely recommend Riva hotel for couples / friends coming to Hvar for the nightlife and party. For peaceful vacation - still in the centre of Hvar I find Adriana a much better choice. When I am traveling with my children aged 7 and 11 I choose connected rooms in Adriana during winter months and definitely Amfora in summer.
I absolutely love the interior decoration in all 3 hotels. They are all renovated and as mentioned before, I have to congratulate the interior designers to make the most out of the small rooms. When renovating an old hotel the management has to make a choice - to go for the 5* luxury with joining 2 rooms into one or to leave the room size as it is, try to make the best of it and settle for 4*. I think the decision was right, the rooms are nice, although very small. Hvar Island and town are such hot spots right now that I can understand the high prices - if you want to stay here, you must pay. If not - there are many other hotels along the Croatian coast with bigger rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at our best hotels and for posting this review. We really appreciate it as we agree with everything stated. Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcome you again in Hvar.
Cordially,
Ivan Safundzic
Director of Operations
isafundzic@suncanihvar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

223 - 229 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2013

I went with a friend and we were positively surprised when stayed at the hotel, for its location and the club downstairs. Everynight, when arriving back, there was a dj and lots of fun downstairs, with a great crowd. And only until 2 am which is convenient when your room is just upstairs the party. The location is perfect. You can walk everywhere, night and day. If I ever go back to Hvar with friends, I will stay at this hotel again.
Even though the room was very small, the view was cool.
If you go as a couple and do not want to party too much, maybe the Adriana Hotel would be a good choice.
Do not expect too much of glamour in the hotels in Hvar. They are pretty simple, even the best ones like Riva and Adriana. If you want to be really confortable, I suggest you charter a nice boat where you can sleep. The small beaches around Hvar, only reachable by boat, are beautiful.

Room Tip: Our room had ocean view and it was cool, we could watch people come and go to the boats. We needed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FlaviaPacheco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at Riva Hvar yacht harbour hotel and for posting your review. We are glad you have enjoyed Hvar, our hotel and parties at BB Club. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcome you again in Riva!

Cordially,
Ivan Safundzic
Director of Operations
isafundzic@suncanihvar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This hotel is right in the mix of things if you are looking for an action packed/music filled stay in Hvar. The hotel turns into an outdoor club at night with a dj and large partying crowds. We had rooms on the back side and end of the hotel (the "quiet" rooms according to the front desk). We could definitely still hear the music until things closed down at 2:00am. The noise didn't bother me at all because I can sleep through anything and because I was so tired by the time we went to bed I zonked right out. But if music keeps you up, you might want to consider staying elsewhere.

We had a car in Hvar and the hotel had a parking lot in a nearby hotel that we used for free. If you call in advance they can meet you with a luggage cart/golf cart and get all of your luggage to and from the hotel. It is about a ten minute walk to the parking lot. There was no gym at the hotel. The riva had an arrangement with another hotel to allow riva guests to use their gym but you had to ask in advance because they would not let you use the gym if it was full. As I understand it, you basically can't use the gym during the busy months. We asked about it and they said it was full. There was a great jogging path along the water but in the summer it is best to go early because it gets so hot.

A couple of the great things about the riva are their staff and the location. You literally step out the front door and all of the amazing yachts and boats are right in the harbor directly in front of the hotel. It makes for some great people watching. The staff is wonderful. We loved the breakfast and enjoyed our mornings sitting outside.

I would not recommend staying here if you are on a first weekend get away with a new boyfriend/girlfriend. I loved the modern look of the hotel room but there was zero privacy. The shower and toilet did not have any privacy so you will definitely be up close and personal with the person you stay with.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WishiwasSpanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at Riva Hvar yacht harbour hotel and for posting your review. Riva truly is right in the mix of things, with terrace on the waterfront, views of fabulous yachts parked in the harbour, close to everything, and, of course, the best hotel for party people. We are very happy you had a great time. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you in Riva next time you visit Hvar.

Cordially,
Ivan Safundzic
Director of Operations
isafundzic@suncanihvar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Superbly located on riva of town Hvar, meters away from catamaran departure point to Split but also from famous Carpe Diem dancing bar and some of the best restaurants of Hvar (Gariful, Divino). Thus veeery noisy until 2am when the music stops.
Rooms are extremely small and uncomfortable -basically for single person only and far away from 4* standard. It seems that whoever designed the rooms never spend a night in any hotel! No real privacy when using bathroom/toilette. Insist on getting the room where the bed does not face directly the window - they are considerably more spacious and usually have a terrace. Staff very helpful, consierge is superb! Breakfast ok. Hotel has its own dancing bar BB lounge, which is often great fun. No other amenities in the hotel. With cheapest room price above 300 euros per night this is one of the worst value for money you can get in the Adriatic.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hefnerjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at Riva and posting your review. We are happy you found our staff helpful and had fun in Hvar. Our rooms are smaller, but they are within 4* standards. Riva is perfectly located, on Hvar waterfront with outstanding views. Thank you for your comments.

Cordially,
Ivan Safundzic
Director of Operations
isafundzic@suncanihvar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

…unless you like the idea of trying to sleep in the middle of a nightclub that plays loud thumping music all night. The hotel is in an amazing lication, right on the harbour. The views are amazing. We booked a sea view room (€250-300 per night) thinking that we would be able to enjoy the views of the harbour and stunning sunsets. However, this is completely ruined by the DJ paying dance music full blast all night. It's 2 am and the music is still thumping. We've booked here for 6 nights but are desperately looking for another hotel for the remaining 5 nights.

Room Tip: Do not book sea view rooms. The dance club is right below the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank WillDesAms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2013

Dear guest,

Riva is a party hotel, perfect for party goers, and we are very sorry for your discomfort. As you have stated, Riva is on an amazing location, in the centre of harbor, and in the centre of Hvar nightlife.

Cordially,
Ivan Safundzic
Director of Operations
isafundzic@suncanihvar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We came with no reservations since we were not planning to sleep in Hvar.. However, they gave us a special rate even though it was the high season! We were upgraded to a superior room with a baclony sea view. The view is out of this world! The receptionist informed us that it gets loud at night...but afterall this is what Hvar is all about! Plus, its a great opportunity to have a round of drinks at the entrance of your hotel :)
Overall, the hotel is very cool with stylish rooms, service is amazing and you couldn't ask for a better location!
We can't wait to come back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnnyfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear guest,
It is a pleasure to read you have enjoyed your stay at our Riva Hvar Yacht Harbour Hotel and spectacular views from your balcony. Thank you for posting your review.
We are happy you were so satisfied with our service and our stylish rooms. We are also glad you joined the party. Thank you again for your comments and please know that we would love to welcome you again in Riva next year!

Cordially,
Ivan Safundzic
Director of Operations
isafundzic@suncanihvar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

For a decent nights rest and quality and friendly hotel service, I'd recommend you go elsewhere. Despite top location and designed look, this place clearly has it all wrong. 
Having spent a considerable amount on a junior suite with sea view, we including 6yr old were subjected to thumping dance music until 3pm in the morning by the downstairs night 
club. We had to ask staff several times to fix our air con, had no hair dryer in the room and once back from dinner had to call for the maid to still prepare our son's bed which somehow had been completely forgotten about. Ironing a shirt is also at extra cost and done by house keeping (?)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank j0ma08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at Riva Hvar yacht harbour hotel and for posting your review. We are very sorry for your troubles. We have fixed the ones which we could, but we cannot control the night scene in Hvar. Riva is located in the centre of Hvar’s night life and during the season it is ideal for guests who love to party. Once again, we are very sorry you have had these kinds of problems on your vacation. Thank you again for your comments.
Cordially,
Ivan Safundzic
Director of Operations

isafundzic@suncanihvar.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.2 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#1 of 16 in Hvar
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hvar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel

Address: Obala Riva 27, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hvar
Price Range: £81 - £249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the waterfront promenade in the heart of the medieval Hvar town, Riva, one of Croatia's trendiest boutique hotels, offers you the finest in Adriatic ambiance. Incorporating a beautiful 100-year-old building, Riva brings together the best of both worlds: old world charm and state of the art luxury. You'll find yourself at home in one of Riva's rooms featuring uniquely designed interiors, contemporary furnishings and an exceptional view of sunsets over the Paklinski Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Hvar Yacht Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing