We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't be beaten on location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Can't be beaten on location!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 via mobile

We loved our stay at the riva hotel, I was very worried after reading the other reviews on here but we were very happy with our stay. The hotel is directly opposite the harbour so when you arrive on the ferry from split you can immediately check in. We arrived at 10:30am and as our room wasn't ready the helpful staff checked in our bags so we could go exploring. when we returned our bags were waiting in the room for us. You can use the amfora pool for free as a riva guest which is a great bonus. The pool is amazing with good service, the food is poor quality by hvar standards.

Our room at the riva was 201, we were happy with the room. We had a city view which was basically a wall but we'd heard it can be very noisy at the front so this wasn't an issue for us. Slight gripes were that towels were changed after 3 days and the room was quite dark with a few light bulbs not working. Our fridge appeared to be working but wasn't cold at all. Staff were happy to bring an ice bucket to the room for us. Also, the bathrooms....there is no door to the bathroom which can be a problem but we got around this!!

We found all staff friendly and they were happy to make restaurant reservations for us. Major recommendation for food is the Dalmatino (which you must book in advance). Breakfast was good at the riva and served from 7-11am every day. They don't advertise that you can request fried eggs but we did this every day for no extra cost.

With regard to the noise levels mentioned in other posts, we heard nothing and I'm a very light sleeper. This may be due to us visiting at the end of the season so the BB bar under the hotel was pretty empty but carpe diem was still packed and we didn't hear a thing.

I would definitely stay at the riva again in the future :-)

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Xtina1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    159
    95
    43
    37
See reviews for
24
262
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

We booked this hotel after reading reviews on the website! Yes, it does market itself as a 'party' hotel and yes the location is great but there is not much else to get excited about.

The welcome on arrival was distinctly underwhelming for a four star hotel. There was no information offered regarding the surrounding area, no details of breakfast serving times and no assistance with transporting luggage to the room. The staff looked relatively disenchanted with being stuck out on reception and gave the impression that any questions were better kept to yourself!

The breakfast was also poorly organised and twice we were without a table as a result of non hotel residents taking places at the pay buffet! Not a huge gripe but you would expect to have a table for breakfast having already paid the tariff!

This is a good hotel for location, but I would advise you look at other options first before stopping at the Riva!

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at Riva hotel. I am very sorry our staff wasn’t more helpful and didn’t leave a good impression. Be assured that that kind of attitude is unacceptable. I am not sure how it was possible for you to not have a table for breakfast since we have tables for our guests on the terrace and in the hotel. I am really sorry you have had this kind of experience. Riva is truly a nice hotel on a wonderful location and I do hope you will give us another chance.
Cordially,
Ivan Safundzic
Director of Operations
isafundzic@suncanihvar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
64 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We made a reservation through trivago. By arrival they could not find the reservation and said the booking was made at the amfora. Altough I had a printed voucher they said it was a mistake made by the company (I do not know the correct english word for it) who made the reservation and we had to solved it oursselves instead of they helping us. To make a long story short; after ca. 3 hours we have been booked in at the Riva, thanks to a really good manager at the amfora. (their sister hotel). It was not a good start and I think if they did their best like the amfora manager the problem would be quickly solved. The hotel itself is beautiful located at the harbour. The rooms are a little small but nice. We had a room with a french balcon at the boulevard with was nice. But beware that in the evening the music is really loud and stops at 2 pm. It was if they played it in our room. The hotel also have really nice terrasses and again the location is super!

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bart v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for staying at Riva Hvar yacht harbour hotel and for posting your review. I am sorry for your troubles with the reservation process. There was obviously some mistake in the system but luckily it was resolved. Hopefully you have had a wonderful stay at Riva and in Hvar. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you in Riva next time you visit Hvar.

Cordially,
Ivan Safundzic
Director of Operations
isafundzic@suncanihvar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maribor
Level Contributor
154 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I read other reviews before posting this one and found out that mainly all are true. Yes, the rooms are noisy - but the hotel has the best possible location for traveling and enjoying the nightlife. Due to many business trips I had taken to Hvar island, would definitely recommend Riva hotel for couples / friends coming to Hvar for the nightlife and party. For peaceful vacation - still in the centre of Hvar I find Adriana a much better choice. When I am traveling with my children aged 7 and 11 I choose connected rooms in Adriana during winter months and definitely Amfora in summer.
I absolutely love the interior decoration in all 3 hotels. They are all renovated and as mentioned before, I have to congratulate the interior designers to make the most out of the small rooms. When renovating an old hotel the management has to make a choice - to go for the 5* luxury with joining 2 rooms into one or to leave the room size as it is, try to make the best of it and settle for 4*. I think the decision was right, the rooms are nice, although very small. Hvar Island and town are such hot spots right now that I can understand the high prices - if you want to stay here, you must pay. If not - there are many other hotels along the Croatian coast with bigger rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simonca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at our best hotels and for posting this review. We really appreciate it as we agree with everything stated. Thank you again and we are looking forward to welcome you again in Hvar.
Cordially,
Ivan Safundzic
Director of Operations
isafundzic@suncanihvar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Curitiba, PR
Level Contributor
155 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

I went with a friend and we were positively surprised when stayed at the hotel, for its location and the club downstairs. Everynight, when arriving back, there was a dj and lots of fun downstairs, with a great crowd. And only until 2 am which is convenient when your room is just upstairs the party. The location is perfect. You can walk everywhere, night and day. If I ever go back to Hvar with friends, I will stay at this hotel again.
Even though the room was very small, the view was cool.
If you go as a couple and do not want to party too much, maybe the Adriana Hotel would be a good choice.
Do not expect too much of glamour in the hotels in Hvar. They are pretty simple, even the best ones like Riva and Adriana. If you want to be really confortable, I suggest you charter a nice boat where you can sleep. The small beaches around Hvar, only reachable by boat, are beautiful.

Room Tip: Our room had ocean view and it was cool, we could watch people come and go to the boats. We needed t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlaviaPacheco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at Riva Hvar yacht harbour hotel and for posting your review. We are glad you have enjoyed Hvar, our hotel and parties at BB Club. Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcome you again in Riva!

Cordially,
Ivan Safundzic
Director of Operations
isafundzic@suncanihvar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

This hotel is right in the mix of things if you are looking for an action packed/music filled stay in Hvar. The hotel turns into an outdoor club at night with a dj and large partying crowds. We had rooms on the back side and end of the hotel (the "quiet" rooms according to the front desk). We could definitely still hear the music until things closed down at 2:00am. The noise didn't bother me at all because I can sleep through anything and because I was so tired by the time we went to bed I zonked right out. But if music keeps you up, you might want to consider staying elsewhere.

We had a car in Hvar and the hotel had a parking lot in a nearby hotel that we used for free. If you call in advance they can meet you with a luggage cart/golf cart and get all of your luggage to and from the hotel. It is about a ten minute walk to the parking lot. There was no gym at the hotel. The riva had an arrangement with another hotel to allow riva guests to use their gym but you had to ask in advance because they would not let you use the gym if it was full. As I understand it, you basically can't use the gym during the busy months. We asked about it and they said it was full. There was a great jogging path along the water but in the summer it is best to go early because it gets so hot.

A couple of the great things about the riva are their staff and the location. You literally step out the front door and all of the amazing yachts and boats are right in the harbor directly in front of the hotel. It makes for some great people watching. The staff is wonderful. We loved the breakfast and enjoyed our mornings sitting outside.

I would not recommend staying here if you are on a first weekend get away with a new boyfriend/girlfriend. I loved the modern look of the hotel room but there was zero privacy. The shower and toilet did not have any privacy so you will definitely be up close and personal with the person you stay with.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WishiwasSpanish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at Riva Hvar yacht harbour hotel and for posting your review. Riva truly is right in the mix of things, with terrace on the waterfront, views of fabulous yachts parked in the harbour, close to everything, and, of course, the best hotel for party people. We are very happy you had a great time. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to welcome you in Riva next time you visit Hvar.

Cordially,
Ivan Safundzic
Director of Operations
isafundzic@suncanihvar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Superbly located on riva of town Hvar, meters away from catamaran departure point to Split but also from famous Carpe Diem dancing bar and some of the best restaurants of Hvar (Gariful, Divino). Thus veeery noisy until 2am when the music stops.
Rooms are extremely small and uncomfortable -basically for single person only and far away from 4* standard. It seems that whoever designed the rooms never spend a night in any hotel! No real privacy when using bathroom/toilette. Insist on getting the room where the bed does not face directly the window - they are considerably more spacious and usually have a terrace. Staff very helpful, consierge is superb! Breakfast ok. Hotel has its own dancing bar BB lounge, which is often great fun. No other amenities in the hotel. With cheapest room price above 300 euros per night this is one of the worst value for money you can get in the Adriatic.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hefnerjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, General Manager at Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel, responded to this review, 21 August 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for staying at Riva and posting your review. We are happy you found our staff helpful and had fun in Hvar. Our rooms are smaller, but they are within 4* standards. Riva is perfectly located, on Hvar waterfront with outstanding views. Thank you for your comments.

Cordially,
Ivan Safundzic
Director of Operations
isafundzic@suncanihvar.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel

Property: Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
Address: Obala Riva 27, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the waterfront promenade in the heart of the medieval Hvar town, Riva, one of Croatia's trendiest boutique hotels, offers you the finest in Adriatic ambiance. Incorporating a beautiful 100-year-old building, Riva brings together the best of both worlds: old world charm and state of the art luxury. You'll find yourself at home in one of Riva's rooms featuring uniquely designed interiors, contemporary furnishings and an exceptional view of sunsets over the Paklinski Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riva Hvar Yacht Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing