We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect location to stay in Hvar”
Review of Hotel Delfin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Delfin
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was the first hotel my boyfriend and I stayed in in Croatia. We travelled for 12 hours to get to Hvar, and it was most definitely worth it! It is one of the most central hotels in Hvar town with fantastic views.
Hotel is very basic but the staff are lovely, when we were checking in that evening we were just about to ask for a fan for the room as advised to, but he produced one and gave it straight to us! Room was very clean and we had a balcony over looking the harbour which was lovely, but the bed was twin beds pushed together and we had requested a double bed. Bathroom was very dated but clean.
Breakfast was served in their terrace bar overlooking the beautiful port, it was just amazing to start the day looking out at the mountains and amazing yachts in the harbour! My one complaint about the breakfast is that nearly every time we went down, it was 15 minutes before it was due to finish but there was already pretty much nothing left. People were clearly taking too much food and not thinking about other guests, and it was not being replaced.
It's the perfect location to stay in Hvar, and you don't mind it being basic t's great but if you like nice hotels maybe not the best place for you to stay!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

By far the cheapest accommodation we could find on Hvar so we went for it! We were a group of 6, so had booked three twin rooms. One of our rooms had been upgraded and so had a third bed so was much bigger. However it also had been upgraded to having a sea view and even though this was pretty, it was a lot more noisy at night time. All of the rooms were a little bit run down, but they were all very clean and everything worked. There was no air con but we were all offered a fan free of charge to borrow when we checked in.
The breakfast was included and was pretty standard but had lots of choice.
The hotel is connected to a sports bar which showed lots of football and had a range of good food and drinks.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
The location was FANTASTIC and for the price we payed we really couldn't complain.
There was also free luggage storage for once we had checked out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank get-backpacking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Rooms were simple as it gets,no hairdryer,fridge,tv and so on.There were no air conditioning,so the room was a sauna 24/7.Have to sleep window and balcony door open so nightlife noises were the next problem.Walls are made of paper so you can get acquainted with your neighbours.
Staff could be more friendly and nice apart from housekeepers,they were pleasant.
Breakfast were ok and location is perfect.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Toni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

we were staying here for 3 nights in august, the rooms are small and very dark, the shower barely works and flooded the bathroom every time I used it, the bath was dirty, only got a couple of hours sleep a night because of the heat (even with a fan), rooms are carpeted so are boiling! breakfast wasn't worth going down for, I would most defiantly return or recommend anyone to stay here... although all of this the location is great!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank baconchop23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Booked and payed for a sea view room 3 months in advance, and ended up in a room with a rooftop view. When we talked to the manager, all he had to say was: all the sea view rooms were occupied, so we put you in a park view room. No compensations, no money back, not even an apology. We ended up staying one night in that awful, sauna room. Terrible costumer service in an old, dirty hotel. The double bed was two single beds put together with an enormous gap. Shower with no support. The sun was at full power at 6 in the morning, and no curtains to hold it back. Terrible experience. Even if it's cheap considering the location, it is certainly not worth the trouble. We should've stayed at an apartment, and would be better off, without a doubt.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alineleles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

I was staying in this hotel, and I was very satisfied with hotel staff,kindness and cleanness.Perfect location,enough space in room and bathroom.It is a pity that they does not have a fridge in a rooms,air condition and tv. Otherwise, it does not bother me much,because I have enjoyed in other things.I wanted to write this review,to give my big thanks to people that work there.
They were very, very kind.

Room Tip: Romms with a view on second or third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Slavica143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

This is very simple accommodation. Make sure you get in quick and ask the staff for a fan to take up to your room when you check in and buy some insect repellant. There is no air conditioning, had the fan on all night and door and window open. Had to leave the room by 7am every morning as the sun was just unbearable.
On our last morning our shower head broke and the staff couldn't care less
Rooms were serviced but did not give us clean towels.
Pay extra and get the sea view.
Breakfast was ok.
The wifi is only available in the restaurant and lobby.
Great location, close to shops, beaches, boats and restaurants.
Very noisy area so pack some earplugs.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 448CateP13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.3 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.4 mi away
Aparthotel Pharia
Aparthotel Pharia
#7 of 16 in Hvar
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
22.8 mi away
Hotel Timun Hvar
Hotel Timun Hvar
#10 of 16 in Hvar
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Delfin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Delfin

Address: Obala Fabrika 36, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Price Range: £39 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Delfin 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Delfin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing