We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Setting and Staff but quite simple accomodation”
Review of Palmizana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hvar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palmizana
Ranked #35 of 169 Speciality Lodging in Hvar
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I have just returned from a 3 day stay in Palmizana. It is a gorgeous gorgeous location - set in the prettiest bay with some wonderful restaurants, very cool bar and the most beautiful beaches and clear blue sea.
The hotel itself is a lovely set up - very rustic and bohemian with wonderful lush gardens and bright vivid colours in the communal restaurant and walkways. the staff are charming and very helpful and cheerful. However the rooms / villa themselves were quite simple. Pretty with lovely colours and furniture but the basics were not quite up to scratch. A few issues:
- the shower was very basic and it was a 'arm hold' style so not very relaxing. IT woudnt take much to put a wall bracket up.
- the hot water was very limited and not explained well enough on arrival. You have to turn on a boiler but nobody told us. It ran out very quickly.
- every single day that we were there the water broke entirely- pump issues. they were resolved quickly but still very frustrating.
- not curtains / blinds/ shutters on windows. made sleep quality not as good as room became very light very early on.
- no sea view. this was not promised but if you cut back a few bit of green it would be visible which would be so appealing
However aside from these small issues we loved it. It just seemed a bit pricey for what we got but I guess you pay a premium for the isolated location.
Would recommend though.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlottehessey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

41 - 47 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2012

We have just got back from a trip to Croatia where we visited Split, Hvar and Palmizana. Split and Hvar in their own rights are wonderful places to visit but Palmizana is an ultimate, chill out destination.

If you are looking for the hustle bustle of Hvar, Palmizana is not for you. However, if you are looking for that real special place which you will not want to leave, this is it.

I am a little confused as to the negative comments on litter, I found this island spotlessly clean as was the accomodation although the pathways may not be suitable for toddlers and the infirm. There are two restaurants/bars in the Meneghello resort giving you a choice of great snacks or a la carte evening dining. The brochettas were great for lunch and at 2euro per piece is within all budgets. At dinner we normally took the recommendations of the staff who were spot on with both food and wine. Eating out is a hobby of mine and the food really was excellent

Also on the island and within easy strolling distance is the marina with two bars, a restaurant and a couple of mini markets. Just down the bay from the Meneghello resort is the lovely Laganini beach bar which is very chill out although we spent most of our evenings at Toto's bar within the resort over looking the beach where we took our dinner and had a few night caps.

The staff were brilliant. Jopa, Boris the Blade, Ivan, New York, Bip Bip and Popey oh and the lovely blonde who served us breakfast. You will always be remembered for your kind hospitality and we are in the process of booking for June as promised.

See you soon Xx

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kaydee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We have just come back from a 5 day stay in Palmizana for our mini honeymoon and we enjoyed every minute of it.

The staff are fantastic - extremely friendly and always more than happy to help out. The food is fresh and tastes great. We stayed in Villa White which was amazing, had a door that opened right up onto the beach, and gave us lots of room to relax in.

The only negatives I can mention were:
The beach club on the other side of the bay is quite loud - the music does stop around 12.30am, but until then it's quite hard to sleep without ear plugs
There also seem to be quite a few wasps that seem to multiply daily that make eating breakfast in the restaurant slightly annoying

Other than that, a fantastic break, and would recommend Palmizana to everyone

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank raysemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

If your looking for an unencumbered getaway to a comfortable and delightfully charming spot, this is it. Unpretentious to a tee, no need to pack formal wear, or a button down shirt (unless you really want to).

Accommodations are charming, quirky, and spread out over the grounds. Anticipate a funky rendezvous, with a short ride in an antique Land Rover up over the hill from the water taxi in the marina, and be prepared to let go of the modern world for a few days. Perfect spot to walk the shorelines, take a dinghy or kayak between secluded coves, and watch the boats of folks float in and out of the harbor. Crystal clear waters, gracious hosts and staff, fresh seafood.

If you're looking for an action packed vacation, this isn't it. If you want to get away from it all, and be worry free, you'll enjoy Palmizana and the Meneghello families hospitality immensely.

Check-in, enjoy, and pay when you leave. No need for much beyond sunscreen, swimsuits, and sandals for your stay. Highly recommended, and will definitely be returning many times.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2012

This property is a fabulous, fabulous escape for the weary. It's not 5* luxury but it's very carefully thought out and definitely a boutique bohemian escape. If you are going for over the top plush, this is not your place, but if you are going for comfortable, quiet retreat, with crystal clear waters and great food, not to mention lovely artistry, this is a good fit. I would note the following:

- there are mosquitos on the island.. this is not the property's fault but you should be mosquito prepared... e.g. bring a mosquito net to put over your bed or be ready to sleep with air conditioning and not open windows.
- while it's a short boat ride from Hvar, if you are going early or late in the season, you should be aware that its not always super easy to get to-from Hvar unless you want to pay quite a lot, like 500kuna (about £60)... Basically the water taxis need about 5 people to make the trip worth it, so even though the price is 100 per person, they don't really go unless there's 5 people.
- We loved Meneghello's restaurant and we also loved Restaurant Zori and there's a beach bar with gorgeous sun loungers that was fabulous at the time we visited (early June) though we could imagine might be a nightmare (to us late 30 somethings) but fab to 20 somethings.

- There really is only one hiking trail on the island and once you've done it... that's it. So you should definitely enjoy chilling or water sports...

-The beaches around the island are all on the small side but super gorgeous and you can definitely walk to some that are quite secluded.

We would definitely consider going back with another couple or with a small group. As a couple, we tend to like to explore, so probably wouldn't head back soon but that's just because there's so much to see in this world!

- Finally, there are 2 peacocks which are loud and while they add character and generally aren't a problem, it might be advisable to bring earplugs if you are not 5-6 am riser, and especially if you do keep your windows open. They woke me up but I got some silicon like earplugs in the pharmacy in Hvar and then it was fine!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rrbernu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

We spent 3 nights at Menghello Palmizana and loved it. The accommodation is spacious and spotlessly clean, imaginatively furnished and quite comfortable. Romina and staff were happy to arrange complimentary transfers to Hvar which is lovely to visit but it is equally lovely to return to the greenery and simplicity of the resort. Breakfast was delicious and we dined at the restaurants nearby on the island, food was delicious, good service and we always managed to have a water view. It is very relaxing and we enjoyed walking to the village of Vlaca, stopping off for a swim on the way. The beach bar Dionosis had lovely views of olives and Vis, a good spot for a light lunch and glass of red.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeptemberLou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Our trip to Palmižana was always going to be special - but the beautiful setting, great accommodation and very warm welcome from Romina and her staff made it even better. We both felt that the island, and the places we visited were some of the most beautiful we'd ever visited.

The staff were so welcoming and couldn't do enough to help you sort transfers, find places to visit or even plan a meal from the huge menu at the Meneghello restaurant.

The two small beaches, just a short walk from the accommodation, were more than comfortable but for those who fancy a little adventure, there are even more secluded spots around the island which can be reached on foot or by hiring a small boat or kayak from the team. One point to mention is that most of the beaches are more rocky than sandy, but there are plenty of smooth flat rocks to lie on and enjoy the sun.

I would definitely recommend Palmižana to anyone looking for a unique trip, with plenty of peace and quiet, deserted beaches and fantastic food - but also nightlife and company a short step away if you're missing urban life a little too much.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcostello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hvar hotels
2.8 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
261 reviews
2.7 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
2.7 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Hotel Croatia
Hotel Croatia
#8 of 16 in Hvar
185 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
2.7 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmizana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmizana

Address: Meneghello Estate, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 169 Speciality Lodging in Hvar
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Palmizana Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing