We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We are going back this year”
Review of Palmizana

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hvar
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Palmizana
Ranked #33 of 167 Speciality Lodging in Hvar
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“We are going back this year”
Reviewed 7 March 2011

It all comes down to knowing what you want upfront - that way you at least can spare yourself falling into the 'expectations gap' and writing nonsensical "stayed for 2 hours" types of "reviews. Or being annoyed by "crickets" (cicadas, actually, but never mind that).

Palmizana is NOT "where the action is" - it is small, rustic and sparsely populated. For "action" (singles bar scene? shopping?) do stick to Hvar. We escaped Hvar as quickly as we could to avoid endless tourist mob and prevailing sub-standard client service. We moved to Palmizana on the basis of i-escape info and reviews - and did not regret it one bit.

First off, you need to slow down, chill, change your stride - and enjoy it. No recommended for hyper types, but turned out perfect for a family of 30-something with a 5 year old boy.

Service - excellent, and one of us is a New Yorker. I can not think of anything that Romina and her crew would not do for us - rent a boat, get a free kayak for the kid, arrange fishing, take us to green abd blue caves, pick up from Hvar, help coordinate travel schedules, recommend things to do / places to eat in Split... Staff at the restaurant and the beach was very friendly and helpful. Can not think of a single inconvenience.

Food - excellent if a bit expensive. Yet when I compare it with 'fresh seafood' in the UK, it is positively worth the price. Both of us love seafood, so we gorged on it. Wine is expensive, that's the one you want to watch out for. Simple solution - drink less, or take the hotel boat to Hvar and pick up a case or two. May save 1/3 of the price, if I remember correctly. Or pay up and don't bother to break the slow flow of life on Palmizana. Oh, and if you catch an eel or an octopus by the little pier (family kids can teach you how), Romina's crew will cook it for you. If you want bit more basic / cheaper fare, go for Toto's or one of the beach bars.

Beach - 20 sec walk from the restaurant and most bungallows. It is small which again is absolutely perfect for us. You want a big one? Go to ConeyI sland, complete with its rollercoaster. It is stoney, so one thing you want to bring is rubber-soled slip-ons. Also helful when exploring the rocks. Pick them up in any of the Hvar shops - or on the pier. Beach is cleaned every day, and water is absolutely translucent. Reserve the sun beads early (around 9.30-10), they are free for hotel guests, but do get snapped up. Best thing to do is to pick a couple near umbrella and just ask the 'beach manager' to reserve them for you for the duration of your stay. Water is shallow far out enough for kids to enjoy and adults feel safe. Sandy once you are in the water. One downside - plenty of Hvar day tripper boats in high season. We even had a visit from an Arab sheik's yacht - watching his 3 year old grandson taking a dip on our beach surrounded by a dozen of ex-US marines was quite a spectacle. If you get tired, rent a boat and explore beaches around the island. There is a tiny sandy one within 15 min walk or less. Or ask Romina to take you to a nearby island for a day.

Rooms - rustic and basic, but clean and imaginatively designed. We've been given a tour of all, and I can not remember seeing one without AC. Overall. not for the over-pampered ones out for full set creature comforts, but perfect to beach / island bums. Check pics on i-escape or on Palmizana's own website. One thing I'd say is that Georgia House is not worth having - furtherst from the beach, no view, and the back garden needs a lot of work. Go for those closest to the beach - Green, Orange, Yellow, White... Oh, and no TV in rooms as far as I have seen, which, to me, again is a plus.

Transportation - it is a bit of a pain, as you have to fly into Split, take catamaran to Hvar (do buy tickets in advance and check the schedule), then boat it to Plamizana. Taxi boat from Palmizana to Hvar and back is equally a pain in the neck. If must get off the island for a day, ask Romina to take you when their boat goes shopping in the morning - and pick you up in the evening. No cars on this side of the island, apart from a couple of old service cars. No bikes, I don't think. So no noise / traffic.

Shopping - none, thank heaven for that. There is a small convenience store near the bigger resort (15 min walk from Palmizana) for your basics. Anything else - ask Romina's shoppers to bring you what you need from Hvar. For recreational shopping go there yourself.

Kids - our now 6-year old has been saying all winter that he's going back to St Clement's. And he does have resonable basis for comparison from multiple trips to Greek Islands, Croatia (Lopud and Dubrovnik), Spain, the US, Russia, etc. Beach / water is close, kayaking, fishing, exploring - all there when you want it. For eel-fishing bring a torch, think line and big hook. Romina will provide calamari for bait.

Flora / fauna - actually, just fine. Yes, plenty of 'cactuses' - actually, of cacti you have prickly pears and massive aloes. There is also boxwood plants, acaceas, and decent variety of others. Several resident peacocks and a tortoise enclosure. Lots of lizards, geckos, noisy cicadas and various 'flying things'. In sea, you get your stone crabs, fish, sea urchins, shells (occupied and vacant). May see an octopus of you're lucky - and even catch one if you are very lucky. Paradise for a 5-6 year old boy.

Internet - free Wi-Fi in the restaurant area, but pretty slow. Which, in my book, is a good thing, I spend enough time in front of the thingy.

In short - disregard content-free negative reviews (must be something very personal), decide whether rustic unwind is what you are after, and watch the costs - or just say "to hell with it", relax and enjoy.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OccamsSharpRazor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    17
    8
    8
    10
See reviews for
23
48
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2010

It's not going to be to everyone's taste, but we loved it. From the minute we arrived we felt that we were 'away from it all', whatever that means. Yes, the island of Sveti Klement has some slightly tacky tourist touches (the Novak beach bar pumping out sophisticated beach bar music all day and all evening can be a little wearing, and the Bacchus restaurant looked rubbish), but the resort of Palmizana itself - the main reason people should stay here - isn't quite like anything else.
There only seems to be one car, and the pace of life on the island is perfect for people looking to relax. Take a walk to 'the other end of the island' and see for yourself - a couple of amazing restaurants, a lovely village and some amazing scenery.
Palmizana apartments are very tastefully decorated, comfortable and homely, the staff are an interesting, intelligent and helpful bunch. There are no fake smiles and 'have a nice days' going on, just the plain business of making sure people make the most of the island.
Do yourself a favour and stay for a couple of nights if you're in the area. Bring some mosquito repellant, ignore the wasps, don't tread on the sea urchins, wear trousers if you're going to walk across the island, and don't bother visiting if you want a sanitized, concrete beach holiday.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MrSteveUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2010

We stayed two hours and left! The best part of our holiday!!! It's just a big overpriced tourist trap!!! Will never go or recommend it to anyone!! Trust the bad reviews, spend your money elsewhere! Croatia is an amazing place, but this is not one of them!

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Greener1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2010

I was very surprised to see the poor reviews on this island and restaurants. My 2nd thought was "Great, maybe there will be less people and I can get that table right on the water!" The main beach is small and busy. I would suggest taking the 15 minute walk to next cove over if you want less kids/people. The beach is small so venture out to the other sun spots on the island.

Truth is, I would make this trip just for the lunch at "that Garden Restaurant I am not going to name cause I want to make sure I get THAT table". I am planning on going back again this summer and looking forward to my 2 hour lazy wine filled lunch. The food was so good and fresh from the homemade pasta with Scampi to the grilled fish platter. Cheese and Prsut with figs for dessert.

Maybe the poor reviews are from people that are accustom to staying at Marriott and Hyatt Hotels...and in this case, good news for those of us who are looking for real Croatian Seafood that is not meant to serve the conference center.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaGirl49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2010

This was one of the most amazing resorts I have ever stayed in because of the location, the value, and most of all the personality and warmth of the staff.
My Fiancee and I had not seen each other in months as he is a pilot and was working abroad. As this was the first time we were going to see each other we wanted to splurge on a romantic get-away. Tarin and Romina went above and beyond to make this a special vacation for us and even upgraded us to a beautiful room surrounded by forest.
The food at the restaurant was some of the best I had in Croatia with fresh seafood (the mussels were AMAZING). The breakfasts, although they may seem slightly expensive were great value for price. You MUST order breakfast there, you will not regret it! Unlimited lattes, cheese and pate, fresh fruit, fresh baked breads and eggs made to order anyway you like, with whatever you want. It was absolutely incredible.

As for the staff, they were extremely friendly, genuine and always willing to help in anyway. they could. The wait staff were great entertainment and they type of people we would have loved to have a few drinks with. We were absolutely made to feel as if we were part of the family. I even cried when I had to say goodbye!

Finally the beaches were by far THE BEST in Croatia. For everyone else that reviewed and complained about the beach.....well they were obviously just lazy. The beach infront was small and busy, but Romana told us about another private beach only a 5 min walk away. We went there and were BLOWN AWAY! It was a gorgeous SANDY beach with crystal clear blue water and not a person in site! It was by far the best beach we saw in Croatia (and one of the best we have seen anywhere for that matter).

I would highly reccomend this place to anyone, especially for a romantic getaway. My fiancee and I know that we will be back again in the future.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sabadee-Ka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2009

I have only just taken my responsibility as a contributor to Trip advisor seriously enough to register, so I can not share my experiences.

We booked this place for a week two years ago, and we still refer to it as disaster island.

The concept sounds great, but my memories are of miserable times on the rocks (rather than beach), of being chased by swarms of wasps everywhere from sun up to sun down, of actually quite good food. Of boiling heat in our room (not one with airconditioning) of the gardens being just scubby undergrowth and cactuses, of everything just being quite expensive "because it is on the island".

The staff were happy and friendly, but just seemed to take it all in their stride, and not actually care that much about what the guests were experiencing.

Much of the advice they gave us didn't actually work out .... "don't worry, you can catch a ferry"... "our boat will be there to pick you up".... " yes you can rent a sailing boat, when you are here" ....

Sadly a huge disapointment - even if it has taken me two years to get around to saying it.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank CrecentMoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2009

Spent 6 nights staying here as part of a longer trip to Croatia, and while we didn't have any major issues with any aspects of Palmizana, it just wasn't remarkable enough to warrant the fairly hefty bill.

Our accommodation was individual and comfortable, although more rustic than plush - with local art on the walls and quirky features. We stayed in Villa 'Red', which was spacious - with a decent sized living area, small bathroom, mezzanine bedroom and large shady terrace. It's not self-catering, so no kitchen facilities apart from sink and kettle. It was cleaned thoroughly every day - usually by the time we had returned from breakfast.

The villas are all nestled amongst trees on the estate, and very well placed so that most are not overlooked - and without feeling too 'resort-y', which we liked. The restaurants are all close by, but again nicely tucked away within the trees. We were quite surprised (possibly by not reading up properly beforehand) by the fact that the island of S. Klement actually has a sizeable Marina and a good 7 or 8 independent restaurants - which offered good choice - although didn't help to keep prices low!

Service was great - Romina and her staff are always present, very friendly and helpful and very laid back. Whether breakfast, dinner or ad-hoc enquiries, there was always someone on hand to help. We rented a little motor boat for the day, and paid about £60 for the day - which seemed quite expensive.

We ate twice in the Palmizana restaurant - food was fresh, local, home cooked & very tasty - but quite pricey (although no more so than anywhere else on this island). Our meal at the sister restaurant 'Toto's' was equally good food but service was laughably slow - luckily we weren't too concerned and were recompensed with some extra wine. Breakfast at the Palmizana restaurant was always good with a decent selection of bread, jams, yoghurts, fruit & eggs every morning.

The private beach isn't great, but there are others you can wander to within a couple of kms. It's all pebble/ rock, which we were expecting, good tips on here to take shoes you can wear into the sea to avoid the sea urchins & spiky rocks. It definitely feels like an island that is best explored by boat, as you're a little limited on foot - a couple of paths taking you to the village of Vlaka where there are 2 restaurants, and another leading down to another bay, but otherwise fairly limited for a week's stay. It's definitely missing a swimming pool!

As we were staying slightly out of high season, we were caught out a couple of times trying to catch the taxi boat over to Hvar Island because it didn't turn up as advertised. The private taxi boats take a minimum of 4 people so we often had to wait until another 2 people turned up to make up the numbers - not greatly flexible, and pretty expensive at about £10 each for a return ticket, which mounts up when you're popping back and forwards a couple of times in the week.

Hvar Island is definitely where the action is, and in hindsight we would probably have stayed here instead and used as base for exploring - we ended up spending a fair amount just getting off the island. Unless you literally want to do nothing in fairly average surroundings, there's not enough to do here for a week - and it's not as pretty as some of the places we found in Croatia (of which there are lots!). We stayed at 5-star hotels in Split and Dubrovnik and paid roughly the same as we did here - we were looking for something different, and although it had some good bits, it just didn't feel like good value for money.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TheGetawayGang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hvar hotels
2.7 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
2.2 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
429 reviews
2.4 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
2.8 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#1 of 16 in Hvar
251 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Palace Hvar Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palmizana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palmizana

Property: Palmizana
Address: Meneghello Estate, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 167 Speciality Lodging in Hvar
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Palmizana Hotel Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing