We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“complete lack of service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“complete lack of service”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Extremely disappointed in this hotel. Expensive and not worth it!!! Town was busy and they can get away with it. Air condition was broken, no one answered the phone to repair. Front desk had no one on duty to help
After sweating thru the night at 25 c plus the manager apologized and offered a 5% reduction. Insulting! They could not even exchange a broken remote for the TV.
Woud not recommend if you want reasonable ,let alone high service.

Room Tip: Make sure you choose another hotel. Manager is patronizing and not helpful. This hotel would close e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, Manager at Adriana, hvar spa hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Adriana Hvar Spa Hotel and for posting this review on TripAdvisor.

We are disappointed to hear we did not match your expectations as we ordinarily receive a high number of compliments relating to our overall service satisfaction.
Our General Manager went personally to check with the Chief Engineer your room and they easily reached the temperature of 22 degrees which is the recommended standard temperature and we have it set in all our rooms. What they acknowledged is that the device which monitors the temperature was displaying wrongly the temperature, 3 degrees higher than the real one. We found that discrepancy in three additional rooms and this will be one of our next projects to change the monitoring system in the rooms. As well we do not have the information if you kept your balcony door opened because that could as well alter the room temperature.
As well our General Manager approached you to apologise for the matter and offered a solution to your problem with whom you were not satisfied even though you booked your room at a promotional "last minute deal" rate which was advertised on our web page and included a discount of 40% on our usual rate in the peak of the season.

In the meantime, please accept once again our sincere apologies and we do hope that you will give us a second chance to show you that Adriana Hvar Spa Hotel can be one of the best options for your Hvar stay.

Best regards, Adriana Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

734 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    235
    100
    41
    27
See reviews for
91
397
27
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2014

My boyfriend and I spent a night here during peak season in Aug. '14. The location is great, right in town and on the harbor...which can also be a problem as far as noise and wall-to-wall crowd when going back to the hotel late at night. On the plus side, lovely patio overlooking the harbor, which doubles as the hotel's restaurant. Rooftop bar/dance club with great views of the harbor and town. Negatives: Our room was small (even by NYC standards) as was the bathroom, with a shower which required a degree in rocket science to work. Truly design for its own sake without much thought to function. Our stay was during high season and we found the room to be outrageously pricey given the size, amenities and service, outside of the very helpful concierge.

Room Tip: We were told that all the rooms are the same except for the suites - double the size and price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, Manager at Adriana, hvar spa hotel, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear valued Guest,

First of all, we are very thankful that you chose Adriana Hvar Spa Hotel for your stay in Hvar, and we want to thank you for posting a review about your recent stay on TripAdvisor.

As you mentioned, Adriana location is great, right in town and on the harbor but on the other hand sometimes it can get noisy due to many bars and restaurants located on the "most famous trail of Hvar".

We would like to note that the measures of the rooms are per European standard and are clearly stated on our webpage and on every page through which bookings are made. The design of the hotel is very modern and all of the faucets are per current standard and you can easily find them in other 4 and 5 star hotels around the world.

Thank you for highlighting our helpful Concierge service, all our staff live and love Hvar, so they know very well the city and can suggest hidden gems, those that you know only if a friend tells you.

Once again, thank you very much indeed, and we really look forward to welcoming you soon again at Adriana Hvar Spa Hotel.

Best regards from Hvar, Adriana Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

I didn't stay at the hotel but I wanted to get myself a Thai message. The spa is beautiful and the people at the desk are nice. My therapist was absolutely wonderful. The only "problem" that I had was that I thought a traditional Thai massage was more stretching. However, I was satisfied with the massage I received.Overall a good experience.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank NotAtouristA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, Manager at Adriana, hvar spa hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Sunny Greetings from Adriana Hvar Spa Resort!

Thank you for visiting our beautiful Sensori Spa and for posting such a lovely review on TripAdvisor.

We are so delighted to learn that you took back with you many fond memories of our beautiful Hvar island and our Sensori Spa being one of them. We have always strived to provide our guests with the most relaxing and enjoyable experience they deserve.

I am certain that your words of appreciation will assist us in achieving higher standards of excellence in future, maybe we could make a short introduction about the treatement before the start.

Once again thank you for the positive remarks . We look forward for the opportunity to serve you again for yet another memorable treatment with us very soon.

Warm Regards, Adriana Sesnsori Spa Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valletta, Malta
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great location on the waterfront and close to the ferries. The hotel has a very nice pool and lounge area on the 4th floor where there is also a bar with a great view of Hvar town. The hotel seems to attract the partygoers and a younger crowd so if you are looking for peace and quiet there are probably better places. We stayed in a SPA suite with a view of the town and harbour. The suite was modern even if you could notice some wear and tear but generally very nice. The only complaint was that the hotel’s bar was on the floor above and you could hear the music late in the night. Service was friendly and helpful (and above what you normally get in Croatia) but staff at times seemed to struggle with keeping service levels up (an tray was standing in the hallways for half a day without being removed, towels generally ran out at the pool but these are small things that didn't affect the overall experience.).

Room Tip: Chose a sea view room, the price difference is small
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hillbillycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, Manager at Adriana, hvar spa hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor on behalf of your recent stay at Adriana Hvar Spa Hotel.
We are glad you enjoyed our great location and stunning views which can be found all around the hotel, from our comfortable rooms or our bar and dining venues Top Bar and Butchery and Wine Restaurant. We are especially proud that we are situated in the best part of the city overlooking Hvar's harbour where you can watch some pictoresque and breathtaking sunsets while enjoying a perfect meal or a carefully stirred cocktail.
We are certainly distressed to read that some aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations and would like to apologize for the same. We agree with your comment related to partygoers but as well are proud of being a part of an international destination as Hvar that offers a wide variety of activities and types of leisure to match different guests needs which can be mostly observed in the peak of the summer season. Concerning the volume at our Top Bar we are performing constant volume checks on everyday basis to not disturb the peace and tranquility of our guests and as well to conform to the city's norms and regulations about volume pollution. However please be assured that we will take in consideration your comment and check the volume on the third floor during the Top Bar peak hours.

We really hope to get the chance to host you again at Olhuveli someday in the near future.

Warm Regards, Adriana Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Judging by more recent reviews the Adriana now feels that it is your privilege to stay there and forgets that at the rates they charge people do expect some kind of effective service and communication.

The service is great as long as you are happy with everything as is. As soon as there is a problem they need to solve: forget it.

On arrival we were given a double room rather than twin, as had been specified upon booking. When we were moved we were downgraded because of their error. We were given a room with an interconnecting door to the next room and no balcony, when we had paid for a
Superior room with a balcony and harbour view. When I said this to them, they said that 80% of their rooms have interconnecting doors to the next rooms, which is either untrue, or just a bit naff.

So after about an hour discussing this with them: not an ideal start, they agreed to move us the next day to a room with a balcony and without an interconnecting door.


We reminded them when we were going for breakfast, and that we would move that afternoon. We spent an hour and a half of a three day break packing our room. We we moved to another room with an interconnecting door and no balcony!!! Apparently no notes had been made on the system and they seemed to be under the illusion we were moving rooms everyday for sport.

No offer of compensation, solution or complimentary service offered, just a 'sucks to be you' token apology. The manager who had promised us the move saw us at breakfast the next morning and studiously ignored us, no apology or acknowledgement from her.

Other notes: minibar broken, when I asked for someone to come to fix it they never came, when we tried to use the gym, my friend was told it was closed for maintenance, I was already up there and it was fine, they clearly just wanted to close the spa early.

When we went for a swim before dinner at 8pm we were eyeballed and huffed at by the spa staff who clearly wanted again to close the area early (it is open until 9pm) and felt that making us feel uncomfortable was the way to acheive this. I am sorry to say they acheived this and ruined what should have been a relaxing swim.

Overall the location's amazing, previous reviews make it look like standards have fallen this year. I hope that an air of arrogance does not ruin what was obviously once a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emma-Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, Manager at Adriana, hvar spa hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at the Adriana Hvar Spa Hotel and for posting your comment on TripAdvisor.
We have noted your comments on the issues regarding service, accomodation, staff behavior as well as swimming pool attendance and we have brought these comments to the related department heads immediately.
Regarding your experience with accomodation, we apologize but please understand that during high occupancy levels we do not have an abundant number of rooms available and as in many hotels our rooms have interconnecting doors for the comodity of our guests who travel with their families however rest assured that those doors are locked after every check-out and remain closed.
As well we checked our reservation system and the web but we couldn't find the description you kindly stated as "Superior room with a balcony and harbour view" only "Superior room Hvar view". Since we were really saddened we couldn't suit your needs we blocked our room 504, which fitted best your need for breathtaking views of Hvar's harbour, in the reservation system (the only we could manage to have available) and our manager offered it to you but as we can deduct from your review, as well we weren't able to satisfy your expectations.
Concerning the Spa staff and the swimming pool attendant it is our custom that every hour a person checks the pool for neatness and cleanliness and establishes the pool service is up to the standard so we apologize if our team member's behavior disturbed your peace.

Thank you once again for bringing those issues to our attention because it helps us to take action to improve our service. We hope we will be given an opportunity to change your impression.

Kind regards, Adriana Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

I am currently staying on the third floor and find the noise level unacceptable. What I find worst is the front office manager lied to me about the noise level as evidenced by other posts that people do complain about the noise but the front office manager said other guests do not. The noise itself comes from the nightclub on the fourth floor and is at the hotel' sown discretion which makes matters even worse, it is unacceptable. I complained about the noise to front desk and they said they would ask the club to turn it down but no change. However, the worst part is the front desk manager lying about it. I also have a rattling air conditioner that I asked to fix and looked at once, but no change. Totally unacceptable,

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Brent54356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, Manager at Adriana, hvar spa hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear valued Guest,

Thank you for staying at Adriana Hvar Spa Hotel during your recent trip to Hvar.

We appreciate that you spent your valuable time to share your feedback online on TripAdvisor and we are saddened we weren't able to deliver you a better experience.
Our General Manager approached you as soon as you filed a complaint and you left us with a positive opinion when we offered a relevant solution to your problem by offering a complimentary upgrade even tough we were at full capacity and struggled to find a free room. As well we tought you appreciated our little token of good hospitality delivered to you through our complimentary amenities.

Once again, please accept our sincere apologies for all the inconvenience caused to you and we sincerely hope you’ll have a different experience in your next visit to our hotel.

Best regards, Adriana Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
1,114 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 326 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

In fairness, we booked too late to get the hotel we wanted and the type of room we wanted, so we were in a rather small space, which made liking this hotel hard, but despite that handicap, it was a nice experience. Reception staff excellent, especially Natalia. Clean, a must. Bed not great...pillows awful...towels a bit threadbare and thin and skimpy in size...but Hvar is lovely, and this well situated hotel with excellent views is a good bet. Buffet breakfast OK...turn down service...used the spa for a deluxe pedicure (wouldn't spend your money on this service, nothing deluxe about it, pretty basic and not particularly good, although these things often are idiosyncratic based on the service provider) and Thai oil massage (good and relaxing, not as strenuous as I would have expected/liked, and Thai-imported provider barely spoke English, so not really able to discuss preferences here)...only downside re. location and great view, outside noise, but not a deterrent, as if you enjoy Hvar, you will be too tired to care.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PlatinumHoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuncaniHvarHotels, Manager at Adriana, hvar spa hotel, responded to this review, 29 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience during your recent stay at Adriana Hvar Spa Hotel. Being our valued guest, your opinion and feedback is extremely important to us, as it will help us to further enhance and shape our service in delivering a truly memorable and authentic experience to our customers which is our greatest priority.

We took serious actions to investigate on the issues mentioned in your comment and we would like to inform you that every year we are replenishing our hotel inventory with a new supply of towels and we take special care to check them while we fold them correctly. We apologize if we had a minor fault in the process. Specially your remark regarding the Thai staff has been addressed with my team and we have questioned the front office staff if they received a bad remark about Spa services since we have in our procedure to ask each guest about the level of satisfaction, but no negative remark was noted and we could not make up for your experience.
Please rest assured we do our best to to engage in further strengthening of our product and services.

Best regards, Adriana Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.3 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
408 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#2 of 16 in Hvar
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
0.1 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adriana, hvar spa hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adriana, hvar spa hotel

Property: Adriana, hvar spa hotel
Address: Obala Fabrika 28, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia (Formerly Hotel Adriana)
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hvar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Adriana, hvar spa hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the promenade and facing the old city center, Adriana Hvarʼs most stylish boutique hotel boasts the most spectacular panoramic views of the town and the marina. Adriana's amenities are as diverse as its view - making it a perfect place for you to relax, renew, and rejoice. Adriana offers 50 deluxe guest rooms, 9 suites and spa specific suites, a year-round rooftop seawater swimming pool, Butchery&Wine restaurant, spectacular Top bar, lounge and multi-level garden terraces with stunning views over the sea and marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Adriana, hvar spa hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adriana Marina Hotel
Adriana Marina Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing