We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but over priced”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2010

Location, location, location as they say! That's what probably drives the price up, that and the hotel facilities which are pretty good (spa, roof top terrace etc). At £300-ish (superior, sea view room) a night I would have expected more. Whilst not disappointed, expectations were not exceeded either .... a missed opportunity for a hotel claiming to be one of the Luxury Hotels of the World. Whilst probably exceptional for Croatia/Hvar, on an international scale it has a way to go before it competes hands down with other luxury hotels we've visited across Asia and more developed parts of Europe.

The rooms are very small and the service fine, but I wouldn't say we were overly delighted.

However the spa is excellent - we had 3 massages each when we were there and the therapists deserve praise when it comes to the quality of the treatments and their service attitude. There was also a waiter and a bell boy that both went out of their way to make us feel welcome but the surly Croatian service ethos still exists more broadly across the staff as we found in other parts of our stay ...

Overall, I would take advantage of the '4 nights for price of 3' offer as this helps drive overall cost down and therefore value-for-money equation up ... but I would say if you're a seasoned luxury hotel traveller you might be feeling a bit short changed by a lovely, but not exceptional overall stay.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (819)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

607 - 613 of 819 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2010

The hotel is situated in hvar in the middle of the very nice habour. The hotel was very dissapointing. It was too noisy, not clean as it should be for a leading hotel of the world hotel.
We had a so called suite on the 4th floor, next to the elevator and saw that the room was also next to the hotel own club, bar. We asked the concierge if the room is going to be loud because of the location and the elevator. He told us that he cant give us an indication and that it was depending upon the DJ!!!
We had two sleepless nights !!! In addition to it, the directory and the brochure mentioned that the bar and the club are closing at midnight. In fact the club was open until 2am.
Further the room was ok, but not clean. We had a big spot in the carpet and mould in the bathroom.
We complained to the hotel manager and he told us that he has exactly 70 days to make money in the high season and that he is very sorry for the noise and that the doorman was not doing a good job last night. The club guests from outside the hotel were too lound and not the right level.
We left the hotel earlier then expected and were really sad. We have seen a lot of hotels around the world and stayed in a lot of leading hotels of the word, but this was the most disappointing one and should not be marked as a LHW.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rosmarie_Roger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ztudor, Manager at Adriana, hvar spa hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2010

Dear Mr Roger & Mrs Rosemarie,
Before dealing with the delicate matters that you have brought up in your review, we would like to thank you for taking the time to leave your comments. We also thank you for giving us the opportunity to publicly clear any misunderstanding to those who read about hotel Adriana.
Adriana, hvar spa hotel, offers 50 Superior rooms and 9 Spa suites, all of which feature cable/satellite/pay TV, mini-bar, electronic in-room safe, smart card access key, room and bathroom amenities and daily housekeeping service. All rooms and public areas of the hotel are fully air conditioned and covered with wireless interent. Spa suite, with size of 42 sqm, consists of a living room, bedroom with a king size bed, and a bathroom with jacuzzi. All our rooms and suites have undergone Leading Hotels of the World inspection and have fulfilled their criteria. With regards to detected shortcomings in your room, please be informed that all technical issues are handled daily with high priority and we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused.
Opening hours of The Top bar are not stated in hotel brochure. The bar is opened until 2 am in the high season, which is, as required by regulations, stated at the entrance to the bar. The Top bar is open both for general public and hotel guests and it fully respects maximum noise restrictions and regulations. The hotel is located in the centre of Hvar town, which is a very busy area in high season in summer months. This means that noise from the outside may disturb the rooms with view of the harbour.

Once again, we would like to thank you for your sincere observations with regards to your stay. If you have any other inquiries, please feel free to contact us any time.

With best regards,
Stipe Erceg, Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2010

this hotel has the ideal location with the view over the old town. the hotel is very beatiful and well done; modern and warm. The staff is great and always trying to help. The spa and the swimming pool are propably some of the most beautiful in Europe. the breakfast is perfect and the food also.
It is just a great experience!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annouchparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We went there for our honeymoon. I was expecting that for the price we pay and because we came for our honeymoon (email sent in advance to them) that we would get extra care - NO WAY -
1- The hotel website is unclear: we paid more than regular room thinking we would get a nice sea view and we got part sea view which didn't worth the supplement we paid from standard room! We were staying for 9 days and they said: "If you would have stayed less, we might have been able to do something... " Isn't it normally the more you stay/pay the better you're treated???
2- They didn't offer us anything (before asking), no decoration upon arrival in the room... after discussion, friendly and polite staff apologised and got us a bottle of red wine to celebrate our honeymoon... SO CLASSY ;)
3- Spa treatment were great but relaxing room is not at ll relaxing: Noise in the pool etc.
4- There is no private beach owned by th hotel... you have to pay 80 or 90 euros if you want to go to the one proposed by the hotel
5- Lots of noise in the room next to ours we have been woken up at 6 every morning by neighbours...
6- When back we realized they double charged us ;)

To conclude, really highly not recommending it ... Loved Hvar but extremely disapointed by our choice of hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank martinp1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ztudor, Manager at Adriana, hvar spa hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2010

Dear guest,
Thank you for choosing Adriana, hvar spa hotel for your honeymoon trip and for taking the time to provide genuinly useful observations about your stay with us.
With regards to contacts with our guests before arrival, please note that our concierge and front desk staff react upon e-mail requests daily to attend to guests' needs and requests. The hotel does upgrades if there are rooms available, but in times of high season, in August, this is not possible to do quite often. In this case the proper upgrade would have been arranged for a few nights only, and not for the entire stay, which would mean more inconvenience in changing rooms every few days.
The roomtypes at hotel Adriana on the website of Sunčani Hvar Hotels are clearly stated as following: Superior room - Hvar city view; Superior room – part sea view; Superior room – sea view; Spa suite – Hvar city view; Spa suite- sea view. The hotel does not have Standard type rooms.
Our official website and brochures do not promote Bonj ‘les bains’ as the private beach of hotel Adriana. Although positioned as a private beach, there are no entrance fees and it is open for all guests in Hvar town. It is correct that there are charges applicable for equipment rental on Bonj ‘les bains’ beach, as it is the case with equipment rental for all beaches in Hvar town. Bonj ‘les bains’ is one of a few beach clubs in Croatia, quite unique by its architecture and range of services, which includes massages by the sea at Sensorí Ô spa and our Steak and seafood restaurant.
As for the noise from other hotel guests while staying in their rooms, we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused. Hotel management does react to guests unrest, but only with quite a few exceptions.
During their stay, the guests can always ask for control bill at reception desk, which contains expenses incurred at Adriana or at any of Sučani Hvar Hotels properties during their stay. At check-out, the final bill is issued to the guests for additional approval, after which the credit card is charged with prior authorization from the guests. If double charge occured to your credit card after all, please contact hotel Adriana to amend this charge.

In the end, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and experiences about your stay with us and we truly hope to see you again in the future.
For any further inquiries, please feel free to contact us at any time.

With best regards,
Stipe Erceg, Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2010

Good location, tiny rooms and everything at a very expensive price. You even have to pay extra to use the so called 'private beach.' suncani hvar have nine hotels in hvar so it has a monopoly - and charges accordingly. The greed on the island of hvar turns what was beautiful into ugliness

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andii24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ztudor, Manager at Adriana, hvar spa hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2010

Dear Sir/Madam,
First of all, we would like to thank you for staying at Adriana, hvar spa hotel, a member of Leading Small hotels of the World, recognized for its modern design and luxurious spa facilities.
Sunčani Hvar Hotels chain consists of nine hotels located in Hvar town, three of which have four-star rating, and Bonj ‘les bains’ beach club. As the hotels’ star rating ranges from two-star to four-star properties, the prices of accommodation vary quite a lot, depending on the hotel services and rating.
Bonj 'les bains' beach club is an architectural gem from the 1930's and one of the cornerstones of Hvar's classy image. We are very proud to be able to offer all guests the place to get away from the crowds that can be exhausting at times of the high season. Although positioned as a private beach, there are no entrance fees to the beach, it is open for all guests in Hvar town. It is correct that there is a charge applicable for equipment rental on Bonj ‘les bains’ beach, as it is the case with equipment rental for all beaches in Hvar town. The beach services also include massages by the sea at Sensorí Ô spa and our Steak and seafood restaurant.
As Sunčani Hvar Hotels chain services and facilities are only a part of the tourist offer in Hvar town, which has recently celebrated 140 years of organized tourism, we hope to be able to welcome you back to Hvar again in the future, to experience more of the sunniest island in the Mediterranean!

With best regards,
Stipe Erceg, Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

A very good up-market hotel in a fabulous location on the harbor front at Hvar. Lots of keen and friendly staff and good facilities. However we had a front facing sea view (wonderful) for our 7 day stay - unfortunately the horrific noise from young revelers outside the hotel continued ALL night. We had hoped that by 2am each morning it would quieten down, but no, 3am, 4am, 5am it continued and made it almost impossible to sleep. If you do decided to stay here, give up the great view and take a room at the rear. The fridge in the room did not work, the light in the steam shower did not work, the remote for the TV did not work and the pool was filthy. It's a shame as they can not help the outside noise but the attention to detail is poor.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnharris2710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ztudor, Manager at Adriana, hvar spa hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2010

Dear Mr. Harris,

Thank you for staying at hotel Adriana and for providing us with most useful observations about your stay.
In our everyday operations, we are making all efforts to provide our guests with the best service at any time. With regards to detected shortcomings in your room and at the pool, please be informed that all technical issues are handled daily with high priority and we apologize for any inconvenience this has caused to you while staying at Adriana. As you have pointed out, the hotel has a great waterfront location in the centre of Hvar town, friendly staff and good facilities, so we look forward to welcoming you to Adriana again in the future!

For any further inquiries, please feel free to contact us at any time.

With best regards,
Stipe Erceg, Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2010

We loved our stay. It was a wonderful treat. The hotel room is very fun and cool. The spa is terrific, beautiful and inexpensive. The staff was incredible especially the concierges who went above and beyond helping me with on-going hotel reservations. The location cannot be beat. It is definitely the nicest hotel on Hvar. The hotel restaurants while pretty are a bit pricey. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intrepidtraveler53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.3 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
455 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Nora Hvar
Villa Nora Hvar
#1 of 16 in Hvar
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
385 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adriana, hvar spa hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adriana, hvar spa hotel

Address: Obala Fabrika 28, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia (Formerly Hotel Adriana)
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Hvar
Price Range: £145 - £477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Adriana, hvar spa hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perched on the promenade and facing the old city center, Adriana Hvarʼs most stylish boutique hotel boasts the most spectacular panoramic views of the town and the marina. Adriana's amenities are as diverse as its view - making it a perfect place for you to relax, renew, and rejoice. Adriana offers 50 deluxe guest rooms, 9 suites and spa specific suites, a year-round rooftop seawater swimming pool, Butchery&Wine restaurant, spectacular Top bar, lounge and multi-level garden terraces with stunning views over the sea and marina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelsClick so you can book your Adriana, hvar spa hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adriana Marina Hotel
Adriana Marina Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing