We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss this gem of a hotel!”
Review of Villa Nora Hvar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Villa Nora Hvar
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 July 2014

It is a rare find to come across a hotel as lovely as the Villa Nora. We stayed there this past week with our 5 kids, ages 20-27. The rooms are large, beautiful and well-appointed, unusual for Croatia. The most compelling thing though is the staff who truly went out of their way to see that all our needs were met. Natalia, the manager, was outstanding.

We have a blended family of 4 boys and 1 girl. We were given 2 rooms at first, one a 5 person room and the other for my husband and me. Natalia was so gracious and offered our daughter her own room, knowing she was not happy with all the boys. The rooms are in the middle of Hvar town, close to the docks, so the rooms do get noisy but all the music stops at midnight so noise is manageable. We just loved the hotel. Recommend a visit to other parts of the island such as Julna, a quieter part of the island.

Just couldn't leave without mentioning the hotel and staff.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank cate11boulder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (261)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

134 - 140 of 261 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2014

It's a rare and special thing when a simple hotel stay becomes one of the highlights of an already very special trip! Villa Nora Hvar was a surprise and a delight at every touchpoint.

When we arrived in the main square, we were met unexpectedly by the young man from the front desk who carried our heavy bags up the several flights of stone steps to the beautiful little street where the hotel was situated (a very welcome treat after a long fairy ride!) We checked in and were shown to a beautiful stone-walled room that looked even more beautiful than the photos we remembered from the website. Everything was immaculate, and such great care had clearly gone into preparing the room. Over the course of the 2 weeks of our trip we stayed in several more expensive / higher luxury hotels than Villa Hvar, but none came close to the ambiance and attention to detail we experienced here.

Already thrilled with our stay, the morning we checked out was really a memorable experience: we mentioned to Natalia at breakfast that we were taking the fairy to Dubrovnik and weren't sure of the time & pickup location: she called the booking office for us, confirmed all of our travel info in great detail, and prepared us a super clear set of instructions. She then brought us extra bread and fruit and bags / napkins so we could pack ourselves a lunch for the boat, because the ride was going to be long and she said she didn't want us to be hungry! She carried our bags down to the square again, and i wanted to hug her.

THEN, it got even better. When I arrived in Dubrovnik later that night I realized that I had left my wallet in the room at Villa Nora Hvar! I figured it was a long shot, but I gave them a call just to see if there was any way I could pay to have the wallet shipped to me back home to avoid canceling all of my cards (and losing the large sum of money inside.) We exchanged info over email so I could be reached at my Dubrovnik hotel to coordinate. Then, something truly amazing happened: I arrived back at my hotel the next night and my wallet was sitting in an envelope on our bed! Apparently Villa Nora Hvar had arranged to have it brought to me by a driver they knew was taking another couple on the car ferry to Dubrovnik that day. No charge, and they refused to let me reimburse them for any costs despite my best efforts over the phone. I won't ever forget that incredible kindness and generosity: they absolutely didn't have to do that for me and I'm so shocked and grateful they did.

I've already told everyone I know that they must MUST find a way to come to Hvar and stay here: it was truly one of the highlights of an already amazing trip, and I cannot wait to come back someday.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LinzShelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

A small stroll off the main square and away from the lively nightlife. Villa Nora is a well managed boutique hotel with spacious rooms and a very good breakfast. Located i. The narrow alleys of this old town surrounded by history and restaurants, be sure to close your windows to dampen any side street sound.

Room Tip: Ask for the larger rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jimfromzim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Excellent Hotel at Hvar Town. Villa Nora was the best hotel and our favorite one among all of those that we passed during our 15 days to croatia and bosnia herzegovina trip. You cant get any better than this,
Perfect location just situated 2 walking minutes away from the main square and the docks. A lot of nice restaurants around. Staff very polite and friendly. Rooms very quiet, spacious and comfortable. Excellent Bathroom, Very clean and good towels.
Stayed 3 nights with my wife last may (2014) and we had the best time.
The breakfast is also wonderfull and worth to be mentioned with a lot of fresh and nice food and every day they serve the guests a surprise food given by the staff. If you are going to hvar town, i would deeply recomend this hotel. Very quiet place and at a good price.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank FelipeCuesta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Our family spent 4 nights at this small B & B. A staff member met us at the port when we arrived and assisted us with our bags. We had the family suite which was so spacious and immaculately clean. Breakfast was delightful in the basement area restaurant. The only point to make is it can be loud at night with the singing from the restaurant however they stopped early enough that it didn't impact our stay.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank ACappon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

This hotel was a wonderful surprise within the old town of Hvar. Our room was a suite on the first with two double doors opening to the balcony. The room was very large, nicely decorated and clean. The bed was the most comfortable we have had throughout Europe and was a king size! We were worried that it may be noisy with the restaurant below but when doors and shutters closed you didn't hear anything! The breakfast was excellent. Our whole experience at this hotel was perfect - all the staff were great but the stand out was Natalie, she was so helpful and friendly. We did not want to leave!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank suepPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

This boutique hotel was amazing! right in the heart of the old town with beautiful rooms and service. Natalia and Zvone were very helpful staff and offered lots of advice. we were on 3rd floor and had no noise problems when we shut the windows at night. The breakfast every morning on an outdoor patio was incredible - don't miss the breakfast!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChevySio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hvar hotels
0.4 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
0.1 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Park Hvar
Hotel Park Hvar
#3 of 16 in Hvar
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riva Yacht Harbour Hotel
0.3 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Nora Hvar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Nora Hvar

Address: Petra Hektorovica, Hvar, Hvar Island 21450, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Hvar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 Hotels in Hvar
Price Range: £68 - £391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Nora Hvar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Nora Hvar is a new hotel situated in the middle of Hvar old town. The ancient Palace, built in the 14th century, once the rich and magnificent residence of the aristocratic family Gazzari, has been now completely restored as the elegant and refined Hotel Villa Nora, one of the most beautiful in Dalmatia. Villa Nora is located in the city center, next to the main square - the largest square in Dalmatia, a 2 minute walk from the harbor and the bus station, close to famous restaurants, shops, vibrant nightlife and all major attractions and sights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Villa Nora Hvar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Nora Hvar Hotel Hvar
Hotel Nora Hvar

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing