We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beware: Double Booked and Bait & Switch”

Drvis Blaga Apartments
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Drvis Blaga Apartments
Ranked #23 of 39 Korcula Island B&B and Inns
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beware: Double Booked and Bait & Switch”
Reviewed 18 September 2012

My friend and I arrived in Korcula and were shown by the owner to a completely different room in a totally unrelated building down the street from the advertised property. It was only after repeated questioning and protest that it was revealed that the apartment we had reserved was in fact rented out to someone else for the first night of our planned two night stay. We had reserved and received direct confirmation for our reservation months in advance.

The owner was apologetic and tried to convince us to stay at an unassociated and clearly inferior property for the first night and move to the Blaga apartment for the second night, but we declined. It was very disheartening to arrive on the island after a long day of travel and to find our reserved lodging had been double-booked. Furthermore, the "bait and switch" attempt by the owner was inexcusable.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JND_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    9
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
2
16
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in July. The owners were very warm and welcoming. The apartment is a very short walk to the Old Town along the shore. The apartment has a terrace, which is an excellent location to enjoy both sunrises over the mountains above Pelješac and sunsets to the west of the island. The apartment has a fully outfitted kitchen and small lounge with a second bed. I would recommend this place for your stay in Korčula - I'm already planning another stay next summer!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firecracker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halifax, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights in June. The owner met us off the katamaran and we did the short 10 min walk back to the apartment. The view is a good one of Korcula old town and while is a little obscured by the trees across the road, this does not detract from its excellent location. The area is quiet and far enough away from any of the large cruise ships that pull in. Both apartments have a balcony with table and chairs and it is stunning to sit and have a glass in the warm air before you venture into the town for dinner. The apartments have a bedroom, small kitchen and small lounge which doubles up as a second bedroom. The bathroom is basic and compact and my only comment would be that the shower needs a curtain. Within the apartment there is a good air con unit, fridge, microwave and telly....tho we never had this on. I would recommend this place for a few nights stay in Korcula and feel for the price, we got good value for money!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hello73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Khalifa City A, Abu Dhabi
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

We stayed two nights at the apartment on Korcula Island. We were welcomed into the family during our stay there and even shared drinks with the friendly owners. Apartment was quiet, clean and comfortable and not situated too far from korcula old town. We would have liked to have stayed longer but we didn't have any spare time on our trip. There is a beautiful private beach in Lumbarda which is only a ten minute bus journey from Korcula, you go left after the beach entrance and can find some very private areas for swimming in crystal clear waters.
Excellent hosts, and excellent stay.
EKM

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethIre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 6 Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Drvis Blaga Apartments, and would thoroughly recommend staying there. Owners very friendly and helpful.Picked us up from the Ferry terminal, and walked us along the boulevard to the apartments. We were given a welcoming beer, and had a good chat to the owners, upon our arrival. Apartment very well fitted out, although a little old fashioned in decor. The view from the balcony was superb. The apartments were close to the Old Town and many restaurants.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

The location was excellent as it was only a 5 to 10 minute walk into the old town which also meant it was easier to park your car than if you stay in the old town and it was lovely and peaceful. The best pRt of the apartment is the balcony as there's z wonderful view over the coast and across to the old town. Ivan and Blaga were really friendly hosts and I'm sure nothing would be too much trouble for them.

Overall, the accommodation was expensive for the quality you receive compared to what we have seen since. The furniture, fixtures and fittings are all in need of updating. Our shower was broken so we had to hold the shower head and there wasn't any shower curtain so the water went all over the bathroom. However, the people in the other apartment didn't have this problem. The Ir con was in the kitchen whereas it would have been much better had it of been in the bedroom.

Having said all this, we absolutely loved Korcula old town which had a really lovely feel and ambience about it. There's a fantastic restaurant in the old town called Mareta which we'd highly recommend. It was so good, we went back there for a second night. The staff were exceptionally helpful, friendly and very efficient and the food was delicious, particularly the dates with soft cheese and the bruschetta for starters. They have some beautiful Croatian wines too. This is an absolutely must on your stay in Korcula!

Room Tip: Ask if there is a shower curtain!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PinkFloydCambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Korcula Island hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#23 of 30 in Korcula Island
19 reviews
14.4 mi away
Aminess Lume Hotel
Aminess Lume Hotel
#1 of 1 in Smokvica
158 reviews
3.5 mi away
Apartments Tanja
Apartments Tanja
#8 of 30 in Lumbarda
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Apartments Neno
Apartments Neno
#11 of 131 in Korcula Island
27 reviews
0.3 mi away
M & J Central Suites
M & J Central Suites
#5 of 21 in Korcula Town
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Guest House Korunic'
Guest House Korunic'
#4 of 21 in Korcula Town
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drvis Blaga Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drvis Blaga Apartments

Property: Drvis Blaga Apartments
Address: Put Sv. Nikole 39, Korcula Island 20260, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Korcula Island
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Korcula Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Drvis Blaga Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Drvis Blaga Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing