We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay though with a few hiccups”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lesic-Dimitri Palace
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed in Lesic Dmitri Palace in May 2012 in the China suite. The ambience of the hotel was fantastic because the rooms and reception were spread across several small houses or villas, so there was a private and cozy feel to the hotel. Our room in particular was towards the far end of the hotel near the spa, just next to the main square and the Marco Polo museum. Needless to say the location of the hotel was perfect. It was within the old town walls and practically at the centre with the main square only a few seconds away.

The room was absolutely massive with a lovely kitchen, sitting area and spacious balcony overlooking the sea. There is little to say about the room except that it was very comfortable and nicely decorated.

Since the China suite is a family room that can easily fit four people, there were two good sized bedrooms but only the main bedroom had views of the sea and the clay rooftops while the smaller one had little natural light and felt a bit stuffy.

One complaint we had about the hotel was the size of the bathrooms. The main bedroom had a massive bathroom with a round tub but both rooms had very small showers and toilets - seeing the size of the room you would have thought that they could provide more space for these.

The other hiccup was with breakfast. It's best to eat breakfast either from the terrace just beside the walls with a sea view or from the balcony of your room. However, the selection was poor: there were only 3 hot dishes to choose from and the portions were very small. Service took about 30 minutes for such simple dishes.

I would recommend this hotel for a stay in Korcula.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room with its own terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Iel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 104 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights while on honeymoon and on being shown to our room realised we had been upgraded to 'Venice' an enormous 3 bedroom apartment with red ceilings and Alice in Wonderland style oversized dining table and chairs. The location was fabulous, very central though the town itself isn't very big. We had a little balcony though not wide enough to sit on but the weather was a bit mixed during our stay and to be honest, when it was sunny we were soaking it up in one of the many seaside terrace restaurants. The room was immaculate, very clean, we were provided milk and soya milk in our fridge as I am lactose intolerant, and we found everything we needed. That being said, the breakfast menu was very limited, what we had was delicious, but i would have liked more choice. I agree with the earlier review that the provided toiletries were not of very good quality and we had water pressure issues as well, luckily we had 3 bathrooms to pick from and one of the showers was good. We also attempted to have a bath and ended up topping it up from the kettle to get the desired temperature. For us these were all minor issues which didn't ruin our overall stay here but I agree that for 5star there are areas for improvement.
Back to the positives, the staff were all fantastic, very friendly and helpful. We had massages at the spa which were great and the food we enjoyed in the restaurant was delicious.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pedders901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2012

We stayed here 2 nights in the Arabia suite...125 sq. it was incredible. Fabulous detail and really interesting design and Unique interior. Kitchen and coffee machine, complimentary bottle of champagne on arrival and situated in the old town. Really helpful staff that met us from the ferry and transported our luggage to the room. The staff were happy to recommend things to do in the town and around the island and we found the restaurant menu fabulous The breakfast was also wonderful with great views of the mainland. Stay here.... You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: If you stay on the ground floor your room opens onto the alleyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaniaU, Owner at Lesic-Dimitri Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2012

Thanks for your lovely comments Susan. It was a pleasure having you and Kevin to stay. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Croatia and look forward to seeing you again one day.

All the best from the LD team!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

We were told at the hotel the cost was in KUNA, not EURO. I even confirmed it with the girl sitting at the desk and on the phone. We stayed one night. I should have know because the apartment was huge and enough room for about 6 people.

When I went to pay the next morning i was charged in EURO and the cost came to well over 900 EURO. I was shocked and could not believe it.. I know I was quoted in KUNA because I can speak Croatian as well.

Not only that, it is so noisy at night outside and the church bell rings every hour as well !

The moral of it all, is to have the quote written on paper. This was the only hotel I booked on the spot.....
My fault !

AAAAAAARGH

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JaneySm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaniaU, Owner at Lesic-Dimitri Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

We are terribly sorry about the apparent confusion. All our prices are clearly shown in Euros on the internet. At reception we have prices printed in Euros and in Kunas.
We are very sad that you didn't enjoy your time on Korcula, it's a place rich in special places to explore and a wonderful local culture. We hope you return to the island one day and have a better experience.
Kind regards
LD Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2012

Nicely designed rooms with high quality materials. A blend between modernity and tradition.
Service is also part of this places strenght. Very personalised and attentive.
Great place to go and relax with friend sharing suites or with your couple for a romantic trip!

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MARCO J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaniaAllen, Owner at Lesic-Dimitri Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

Thank you for your kind words.

The palace took five years to restore and the interior design uses subtle themes from the Silk Road, celebrating the journey of Korcula's most famous resident Marco Polo (whose house is next door to the hotel). We are delighted you like the design and enjoyed your time with us.

KIndest regards

The LD Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2012

My 3 grown-up children and I travel extensively and have always chosen to stay at hotels or rented apartments/villas that offer luxury with modern day amenities, spacious rooms/bathrooms and personalized service. We stayed at the "China" suite for 2 nights (wished it were 3 nights). We had a large terrace and good view of the town and the sea. The suite/apartment had 2 bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms and a fully equipped modern kitchen/ living room. The master bathroom had a huge round soaking tub. We were welcomed by the Manager, Mr. Toni Lozica with a bottle of sparkling wine and he gave us recommendations for dinners and outings during our stay. Toni's recommendations were superb and we had wonderful meals in Korcula as well as in the hotel. His staff were very helpful and friendly; the hotel restaurant had an excellent wine list and the meals we had (breakfasts and one dinner) were excellent.

We loved everything about Korcula and no doubt that our hotel was a big part of this. The price of the rooms are high but is expected from a property of this standard. This would be a perfect place for a special occasion hotel for families or couples or for people who love staying in unforgettable hotels!

We will definitely stay here again and recommend to our friends!!

Room Tip: Do choose the rooms on the upper floors. The China suite would be the best for groups of 4 pax. No...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WantonStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaniaAllen, Owner at Lesic-Dimitri Palace, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2012

We are delighted that you had a good time in Korcula and that we could contribute to your enjoyable holiday.

We look forward to seeing you here again soon!

Best wishes

The LD team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

First, the good news: the room we had - "Ceylon" - also, Room 1, was indeed spectacular. Crazy, over-the-top fabulous. Also, enormous, with a bedroom, full-size living room/dining area, and a walk-in kitchen. The decor was luxurious - modern with an exotic twist. The general location, on a narrow side-street in the ancient, walled city of Korcula, was perfect.

Next, the questionable: I don't quite get the concept of this hotel, which turns out not to be so much a hotel as a collection of six extravagant apartments, with no common space and no facilities at all except a spa. The real problem is the specific location of our particular room: it was situated at street-level, which meant anyone walking by could look into the bedroom and living area unless we shut the wooden shutters, leaving the room with only artificial light. Considering Korcula is a gorgeous island in the beautiful Aegean Sea, it seemed a shame to be cut off from the outdoors. And very odd, really.

At these prices - very, very high, the most I have ever paid - I would have expected a view of the water, or at the very least, privacy from passersby.

Also, the breakfast - which was served sea-side - was completely pedestrian. Again, with prices like these I would have expected something exceptional, and not an overcooked omelet. When an establishment prices itself in the stratosphere, then it sets expectations that should be met. Perhaps it is just our room that was a disappointment - I gather from Tripadvisor reviews that the other rooms may accord more privacy and have some views. But then, those rooms were priced even higher.

Would we stay here again? The answer, sadly, is NO. But it was truly an experience, and that in itself is worth something.

Room Tip: Avoid Room 1 - street level, with no privacy unless the wooden shutters are closed, leaving the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LOVETHATVIEW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Korcula Island hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Korsal
Hotel Korsal
#1 of 30 in Korcula Island
297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Korcula
Hotel Korcula
#5 of 30 in Korcula Island
87 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marko Polo Hotel
Marko Polo Hotel
#1 of 3 in Korcula Town
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Liburna
Hotel Liburna
#2 of 30 in Korcula Island
228 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hotel Korkyra
Hotel Korkyra
#1 of 7 in Vela Luka
225 reviews
0.8 mi away
Port 9 Hotel
Port 9 Hotel
#3 of 3 in Korcula Town
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lesic-Dimitri Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lesic-Dimitri Palace

Address: Ulica Don Pavla Poshe 1/6, Korcula Island 20260, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Korcula Island
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 134 Speciality Lodging in Korcula Island
Price Range: £315 - £1,002 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Lesic-Dimitri Palace 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, MrandMrsSmith, Agoda, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lesic-Dimitri Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lesic-Dimitri Palace Hotel Korcula Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing