We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the highlights of our trip”
Review of Hotel Villa Astra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Villa Astra
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lovran
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Maybe it was our timing but we had a wonderful experience at this Villa. After our flight and 3 days touring Zagreb (2 hours away) and Varazdin we were ready for a relaxing break. We did venture out to explore the rest of the Istria Peninsula for one full day during our stay but on the whole we were able to enjoy the Villa, Adriatic and wonderful restaurants in this area. We stayed in the Nicola room and it was spacious with a new nice sized bathroom. We had a beautiful view of the Adriatic with a small but usable balcony. The air conditioning did struggle a bit (we had 98 degree weather the first week in June). Our breakfasts were included and were delicious with cold meats, cheese, salads, and eggs made to order. We had one dinner here and it was a wonderful experience. Good wine and food recommendations from our waiter, Sloven, with great personable service. (We had a long discussion about Istria wines and on Sloven's day off he showed up with 2 wines for us to take with us.) The service over all could not be beat. Everyone was anxious to please and fulfill our needs. We enjoyed the salt water pool but really loved the swimming area in the Gulf of Kvarner, very picturesque. Every night we walked the seaside path, the Emperor's Walk, that lead to both Lovran and Opatija. Just a heads up...This is not a refined boutique hotel located in a city (Hotel Vestibul in Split) with every thing luxuriously perfect. It is a renovated Villa in a small resort town in Istria. As such we felt it deserved 5 stars.

Room Tip: We ate at two very good restaurants other than the hotel. Nejade in Lovran presents you with a platt...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeattleDeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (51)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Villa Astra
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 51 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my girlfrend. The villa si impressive as from architectural point of view (large room, with high walls, comfortable bad) as for environmental positioning (steps direct from villa's garden to sea clifs and beach). Excellent service... A must stay place for someone who's looking for relaxation and a quiet walk by coast line.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luftgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

My husband and I spent three nights at the Villa Astra in September. The staff, particularly Astrid, was lovely and very helpful. Our room was spacious with a spectacular view of the Adriatic. We had a nice King size bed (two doubles put together) with a well appointed bathroom. The room decor is a little worn but very comfortable. Our veranda was lovely with a small table with two chairs-perfect for morning coffee. We thoroughly enjoyed the Promenade/walking path that runs for several miles along the coastline connecting several towns. We ate at the Villa Astra restaurant our first night and the food and service were wonderful. Eating at the hotel made the end to a a long day travel very relaxing. This property is not the fanciest property but absolutely delightful. We would stay there again and hope we have the opportunity!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Nicolo Chamber-it was lovely. The terrace looks over the Adriatic. We slept with...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DDtravelTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

Truly a villa. Our room was large, our bed firm and comfortable, the view out our window impressive. Not a lot to see in Lovran, though. We had dinner in their dining room and had an excellent meal with wonderful service. It was kind of cool to imagine living in one of the old villas lining the shore--the Villa Astra provided a reality to the fantasy.

Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank beannie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

The Villa Astra is billed as a historic spa hotel, which is not entirely untrue. It is in a historic building and it does have a spa, and a wonderful sea-water pool, and access to the Adriatic down a few steps, but the hotel is relatively new. Maybe I am being a little churlish as we really enjoyed our stay here. The Istrian coast is stunning, the staff at the Astra are unfailingly helpful, cheerful and enthusiastic and food in the restaurant at dinner and breakfast time is very good. So why do I not give it the full 5 star review. Some minor things detracted from our stay. We had booked half-board for three nights and decided for one evening (our last) that we wanted to eat somewhere else. When we asked if we would get a reduction for not taking dinner (at the beginning of the day) we were refused. This inflexibility was at odds with the rest of our experience and somewhat disappointing. Water pressure in our bathroom meant that the showers were a bit underwelming and the aircon was noisy and not particularly effective. At these prices in Croatia all of the above should have been perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Grant N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

If you want a boutique hotel in Istria, I do believe this is the best one. But I am torn about what rating to give this hotel. Ideally, I’d give it 3 ½ stars. There are many aspects of Villa Astra that were quite nice, but in terms of a four star hotel, there were also a few things that, in my opinion, were slightly off.

In our travels, I did find a couple of other boutique hotels that looked nice, but this one by far had the best location. All the sites (Pula, Porec, Motovun, Rovinj) were within a short drive (45 min to 1 hr. 15 min). The Villa has great views of the Adriatic and the promenade that spans for many miles runs right in front of the Villa. It’s about a 10 min. walk into the town of Louvran, about an hour walk into Opatija and about a 20 min. cab drive to Plavi Podrum and Kokoriku (two of the best restaurants in Istria).

In addition to the location, there were many other positives about the hotel. It is very well kept up and the service is top notch. We were in the Nicolo room and it was quite large. It included a king size bed (note this is two twins put together so there is a seam in between the beds and the bed is on the firm side), a couch and two chairs and a desk. While there was a decent sized closet and a few shelves, I do wish there were a few more drawers to put away clothes. There was also a small balcony with a table and two chairs and the room had an amazing view of the sea. The bathroom had two pedestal sinks, plenty of toiletries and a tub/hand held shower, but it was a little on the small side and the tub/shower space was a bit tight for a shower. The air conditioning in the room worked okay but not great. The room cooled off enough to sleep in, but during the day could be on the warm side. I’d be a little nervous that the room would be too hot in July or August. Also note, the Villa does allow younger children, so occasionally there can be some noise from children playing.

The Villa offered a very nice breakfast – meats, cheeses, vegetables, fruits, cereals – and they would make eggs (with bacon or ham) or pancakes/crepes in the morning to order. (The crepes were excellent). There were many spots to dine outside with lovely views of the water. Unfortunately there was only one small table and couch to sit down near the lobby area; so if you were waiting for anyone else that could be inconvenient.

Overall, I thought the value and service was excellent, but I’d describe the accommodations as comfortable and above average.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank FrequentTraveler1199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

We stayed here for three nights at the beginning of June as our base in Istria and were very pleased with our stay. The best thing about the hotel is the staff - they were extremely friendly and made sure we had absolutely everything we needed. For me, service is just about the most important thing when I am on vacation (assuming a certain threshold for the rooms).

The hotel itself is a grand old villa directly overlooking the water and directly on the path between Lovran and Opatija. (a number of other villas are on the other side of the main road and I would certainly prefer to be on the water side) There are only, I think, six rooms in this hotel and they are very large. This isn't a modern hotel but it is a nicely updated older villa with great character. All the modern amenities you need like a great bathroom and huge closets are there. It is also very quiet and private which we really needed after long days out. We are generally not b&b people and prefer modern decor but we were really won over by this place.

The food here is also top notch. There is a breakfast buffet but they will also make you pretty much whatever hot breakfast you want too. We had some really lovely crepes. The dinners here were unexpectedly good. We came here from Venice and the food here compared quite well with restaurants we went to there (Da Fiore, Al Covo, etc). What was really special was being able to sit out one of the two separate outdoor patios surrounded by the gardens for a long evening meal. Just fantastic and utterly relaxing.

I did also use the spa here and had quite a good massage - the best of the three that I had on my trip.

I am really excited to be able to write this review for the hotel because I think it deserves to be singled out for praise. Throughout our two weeks in Croatia we stayed in hotels that cost easily double what Villa Astra did but it managed to be just as good. Just a lovely find.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank oscarfelix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lovran
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa Eugenia
Hotel Villa Eugenia
#2 of 8 in Lovran
119 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa Vera
Hotel Villa Vera
#1 of 8 in Lovran
193 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Park Lovran
Hotel Park Lovran
#4 of 8 in Lovran
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Remisens Hotel Excelsior
0.4 mi away
Smart Selection Hotel Bristol
4.5 mi away
Hotel Navis
Hotel Navis
#5 of 31 in Opatija
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Astra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Astra

Address: Viktora Cara Emina 11, Lovran 51415, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Istria > Lovran
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 Hotels in Lovran
Price Range: £130 - £258 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Astra 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Astra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing