We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“visit this hotel”
Review of Hotel Meteor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Meteor
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Makarska
Holymoorside, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“visit this hotel”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We visited this hotel begining ot september. The rooms were clean and bright of a reasonable size and standard plenty of hanging space in wardrobe. Views incredible we could hear the waves on the beach from our room. We found all the food good to excellent and the omelette cooked at breakfast the best. The hotels was full, but there was no queue for food at any time, staff replaced food at the self service all the time and there was lots of choice. The resort is breathtaking situated between the mountains and the sea. Our stay at the hotel was excellent with the staff and saga rep always willing to help. Went to splite and trogia this should not be missed. Also a boat from the harbour to brac and hvar with dinner included has to be experienced to be believed, how good it was. Entertainment in the evening was outside always different people on a weekly basis the brass band were particularly good, never heard the trumpet played so well. The resort in the evening or daytime is busy with lots of places to eat of drink, the Ice cream very good. Lots of places to walk to on the flat and also marked trails into the mountains. Hi to all the friends we made had a wonderful time.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Activeseniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    213
    71
    23
    10
See reviews for
87
222
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

We spent 4 days in october in this hotel. We were guests here previously several times, last time maybe two years ago. We stayed there on a HB basis. Having been a guest before I am in a position to compare quality of service. What I Immediately noticed is huge deterioration in food quality. Scrambled eggs prepared for breakfast were almost inedible, obviously overmixed and overccoked. No texture, tasteless, just a yellowish mass that looked like a pudding. After 2 or 3 days of this, a ordered scrambled eggs with mushrooms from the showcook. I noticed a large conteiner of heavily premixed eggs just at his side and told him to prepare me eggs not from that yellow liquid but from eggs he had there. He put two eggs on a hot tin and when it was finished spreyed mushrooms on top of that without any mixing folded that in half. So mushroms were wirtually unprepared, and cold, i felt i was eating them directly from the can. Selection of salami was poor and made from cheap brands. Saussages again, cheapest brands, too greasy, too spicy. No sign of broccolli or other fresh vegetables. Potatoes, which were previously prepared delicously in many ways were this time bland and far below that quality. Milk from machine was too foamy, actually at list third of a cup volume was foam. Selection of juices was also poor, they didn't have freshly squeezed orange juice but some yellowish liqid from the machine (again) and i am not even sure it was 100 % orange or it was watered down. Meet, mostly turkey (bland, overcooked) , beef (hard almost inedible), almost no veal or better quality fish. In fact everything was on a cheap side, either prepared from cheap or frozen products or prepared without any creativity or even knowledge, or both. There was no fresh water so you have to buy bottled for 15 kuna bottle of 0,75 l (several times (i think 5 times) more expensive than in nearby shops). Fruits served were mostly not ripe or at least not ripe enough.
It's a pity that food is so bed because hotel is nice, rooms are comfotable spatious and clean.
Heating
It was rather warm for mid october so we didn't need it, but i noticed that even if I had wanted I couldn't have switched on the heating, only cold air was blowing from the ventilation grid. obviously it was centrally managed so someone else decides whether you are cold or not.
TV set was small and prahistoric, with just a few local programs and a couple free-to- air ones. No movies no documentary channels no sport. No DVD.
Towels in rooms are worn out.
Indoor pool is nice and spatious, water could be warmer. Lobby was well decorated, full of plants clean, with comfortable chairs.
Staff are nice and friendly, location is perfect, food is bad.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Montypython2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We spent 2 weeks on a half board basis at this hotel. Although we couldn't fault the hotel itself, it was very spacious, well decorated,the rooms were perfectly adequate with everything you need.Bed linen changed 3 times a week, towels every day and the hotel is absolutely spotless one of the cleanest hotels we've stayed in [ and we've stayed in quite a few ] BUT the food was not very good.The serving stations are badly laid out which meant we were queuing quite a lot and when we did eventually get our food it was more often than not cold. We did complain to the manager but nothing was done. If you are planning to stay at this hotel, go on a B&B basis. Makarska is a beautiful place to stay and we would definately recommend it

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sue t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We spent my birthday week with a 11 people group in the Meteor hotel and we all enjoyed it very much. The location was great and in a walking distance from everywhere. The service was wonderful, always friendly and the staff helpful. The breakfast was great and plenty and the breakfast area was just right. The rooms were quite small but 2 people could fit there easily. We couldn't enjoy all the services in the hotel because the week was so short and Makarska was so great and charming! We absolutely go back to Makarska and The Meteor hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ruspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loudon, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

This hotel has a perfect location in which you are on the promenade that goes for close to 2 miles where all of the restaurants and vendors are set up with great views of the ocean while you eat. It also allows you to go straight to the ocean for swimming. We had free parking across the street from the hotel. The rooms are just so-so and fairly small and didn't appear to have been updated in many years. The rooms and the hotel were very clean though and the breakfast was very good. The pool area can get very crowded. This is 1 of 2 four star hotels in town and I would stay here again without any hesitation. Markaska is a must see if you are touring around Croatia.

Room Tip: Book early to get a better room. We booked in off the street and got one of the last rooms and it h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We have just spent seven days here and it was a good time. The hotel and the food is excellent and the spa (had whole body massage for £25) was excellent. The indoor pool is also very clean and tidy and empty. Out pool a bit crowded but only to be expected. Out side the hotel is the main beach walk which in August is extremely busy. The beach (actually all stones ) was covered in wall to wall people but you could walk further up and it thinned out abit, but watch out for nudist areas.

Room Tip: Avoid room 126 on the east wing Its at the back and on the small side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jetdog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

the hotel meteor in makarska is average with a help yourself service but croatia is a fantastic place to holiday makarska is about central with plenty to explore the people are very polite and the ferry trip to sumartin is excellent and good value with plenty of nice walks highly recomended

Room Tip: all rooms have a sea view of sorts but if possible try to upgrade to the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank patrick d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Makarska hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Dalmacija
Hotel Dalmacija
#4 of 16 in Makarska
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Maritimo Hotel
The Maritimo Hotel
#1 of 16 in Makarska
265 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Park
Hotel Park
#2 of 16 in Makarska
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rosina Hotel
Rosina Hotel
#10 of 16 in Makarska
63 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aparthotel Miramare
Aparthotel Miramare
#7 of 16 in Makarska
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Biokovo
Hotel Biokovo
#8 of 16 in Makarska
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Meteor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Meteor

Property: Hotel Meteor
Address: Kralja Petra Kresimira iv. bb, Makarska 21300, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Makarska
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Makarska
#4 Spa Hotel in Makarska
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Makarska
#5 Family Hotel in Makarska
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Meteor 4*
Number of rooms: 278
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Cancelon and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Meteor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meteor Hotel Makarska
Hotel Meteor Makarska
Hotel Meteor Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing