We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bluesun Hotel Kaj
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
Hotel Terme Jezercica(Donja Stubica)
US$112
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Raca(Zagreb)
Travelocity
View Deal
Hotel Tomislavov dom(Zagreb)(Great Value!)
US$54
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Gallus(Zagreb)
US$94
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$85
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$102
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (63)
Filter reviews
63 results
Traveller rating
37
17
8
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
17
8
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hotelspa areathe food is greatsuperior roomfour star hotelhotel staffhotel is locatedroom was cleangreat terracereceptionistchurchzagrebwellnessmassageclientselevatormeal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 63 reviews
Reviewed 10 June 2014

The room at the back with the balcony was pleasant enough but the lack of swimming pool which we expected was a big disappointment. Wi Fi was on / off more than any other hotel we stayed at during our tour.
There were several glitches during our first breakfast - the toaster didn't work, so we had to ask for toast and they just put a load out on the buffet that day and the next, after that there wasn't any. If you came to breakfast at the beginning then the coffee was luke warm, better to wait a bit and then it warmed up.

Room Tip: rooms at the back have balcony with nice views over countryside
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ineketom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Kaj, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear ineketom,

Thank you for for being open and direct in your feedback as it helps us improve our service.

Our swimming pool is of smaller size, appropriate for an intimate wellness setting.
We regret if out descriptions had given off an impression that it was bigger – we will correct our presentation materials.

Regarding breakfast, please accept our apologies. Usually toasts and omelettes are served for an a la carte breakfast, but nevertheless we agree that this isn't helpful at all.

We are appreciative that you have descriptively communicated all your observations, as your input provides us with an opportunity to tackle specific areas that need improvements. We hope that your overall vacation experience in our hotel and Marija Bistrica was nice and relaxing.

Kind regards
Ana Cehulic
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Don't go to Marija Bistrica unless you're on a pilgrimage because there's nothing else to do there.

The decor was modern and clean.

Not all of the staff spoke good English (we did learn some Croatian) and there were some misunderstandings.

The description for the spa and indoor pools is misleading. There is no swimming pool - the only indoor pools are a cool temperature Massage pool, which was ok and a jacuzzi. That's it. We booked specifically for a swimming pool so were disappointed.

The buffet dinner was fine on the first night. On the second night, we had to move into the a la carte restaurant because there were only 6 people on the hotel. The waiter told us mushroom soup was the starter (no other options). I said I was vegetarian, explaining I don't eat meat or fish. He went into the glass fronted kitchen and told the chef who put her head in her hands. Anyway he brought us out our mushroom soups. Halfway through I found a lump of beef in my soup. We struggled through a very poor main (turkey and a specially made veg main for me). I can't believe nowadays in a hotel of this size that being vegetarian is so unusual. I was fine with picking out things from the buffet but made to feel a burden in the other restaurant.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Kaj, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear Iplay,

Thank you for posting your review and for sharing your thoughts.
We apologize for the inconveniences caused by the misleading information, this is certainly not acceptable.

We will take into account your suggestions and take appropriate measures.
As for the dinner, you are absolutely, in some periods, for example, in low season, we tend to serve meals in a la carte restaurant Academia, where we serve dishes picked by our chef.
Vegetarian menus are being created upon request and on the spot given the general low demand.

We are aware that this is the issue that needs to be solved, and due to that we have informed our hotel chain Operations' teams that will come up with at least
Several vegetarian options – available and presentable in menus at all times.

However, we still hope that you will consider visiting Bluesun hotel Kaj in the future.

Kind regards,
Ana Cehulic
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

Great service and food, kind and friendly staff, excellent massage, very good spa. Nice surroundings, especially for bikers, hikers and religious tourism. If you come to see what Hrvatsko Zagorje offers, this could be excellent base for all Krapina-Zagorje county destinations, castles, vineyards, natural healing thermal springs known from ancient Rome, museums...
Great value for money.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
1  Thank Igor M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Kaj, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Mr. Igor,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel and service. We are glad that You have enjoyed in Your stay in Hotel Kaj using all our services and we are especially proud of our young team of staff that You review as kind and friendly. We hope that you will have a chance to visit us again and during Your re staying explore Krapina-Zagorje county, Fairy tale on the palm, even more.

We hope to host you again in Marija Bistrica
Best regards,
Ana Cehulic
Hotel manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We had a really nice time during our weekend stay at Hotel Kaj. Everything went great, from the reservation process, wellness, massage and especially our dinner in Restaurant Academia. Everyone was really kind to us and always at service for all of our questions. Rooms are nice with large balcony. Wellness is small but very nice so you can really relax there. Dinner was just fantastic with 4 courses of meal in a very pleasant atmosphere, Parking space in front of the hotel. All in all great experience, we'll come again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mladen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Manager at Bluesun Hotel Kaj, responded to this reviewResponded 21 July 2014

Dear Mr. Mladen,

Thank You for reviewing our hotel and service with Your kind compliments. For us it is very rewarding to know that you have enjoyed in our Hotel from Your first contact, during Your stay using all our services and at the end especially in restaurant Academia as this is the something in where we have worked very hard in delivering different culinary concept.

We will continue to do our best and are looking forward to you visiting us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

I went to Bluesun Hotel Kaj for a spa weekend and it was great! It surpassed my expectations. Even though the spa area is quite small and one of two saunas was not working at the time, it was cosy and relaxing. The service was great and the Accademia Restaurant was to die for! The menu had courses and courses of delicious food. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated as well as the entire hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
krvaricp, Guest Relations Manager at Bluesun Hotel Kaj, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2013

Dear Lucia,
Thank you for your review. It was our pleasure to have you stay with us.
We hope to be able to host you again soon.

Kind regards,
Petar Krvaric
Guest Relationship Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews