We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Kastel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$93
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Fontana(Buzet)(Great Value!)
US$98
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sun Sport(Buzet)(Great Value!)
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
US$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Velenik(Porec)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Aparthotel Volta(Cervar Porat)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (231)
Filter reviews
231 results
Traveller rating
90
106
23
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
106
23
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstruffleglorious viewsvery nice hotelsmall squaredecent bedwell worth the effortmedieval villagestunning locationhotel terracespent nights herenice poolistrian foodsteep walkrecommend this hotelyour luggagecobblestone streetscastle walls
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
114 - 119 of 231 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Built in a Medieval hilltop castle with stunning views over the surrounding countryside. Helpful, friendly service, comfortable room. Quiet, undisturbed by any other residents. Excellent standard of food in the restaurant, at a price but worth it. We shall certainly return.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charles E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

Very nice hotel at the top of picturesque Motovun. Modern amenities include a pool in the basement of which we took advantage. The management kept the pool open late for our group. Breakfast was nice in a room toward the back of the main floor. Our room was in the front and if your window is open there is a little chatter from the outdoor restaurant seating, but it was not troublesome. The benefit is that you may hear klapa singers practicing in their 2nd floor room in the neighboring church courtyard, or even better you may hear the guys after their evening practice giving in impromptu concert under the gate facing the hotel in the dark with wine glasses in their hands and a very lucky audience. Overall, the hike up the hill is worth it. Oh, and the post office is directly in front of the hotel door, but even with three people working there, expect to spend 10 to 15 minutes getting postage for your postcard. The hotel is in the center of a 20 minute evening stroll around the wall that surrounds the village.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RSOMAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013 via mobile

Our room smelled like an ashtray when we entered. When we conplained and kindly requested another room the receptionist told us that the entire hotel was smokefree and fully booked, so he could not help us. Finally he gave us An airfreshner to soften the pain. During our entire stay the room smelled like a bar. We booked a room with A/C and all we got was a fan. The staff was unfriendly. Breakfast was ok (still unfriendly staff). Overall I would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Jan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013 via mobile

The Kastel is one of those rare places that is unique. Sitting on top of a hill in Istria with amazing views all round, this place remains to be discovered by the tourist hoards. The hotel seems to be family run and the staff reflect that in their friendly service. Food is good, try the chunk of steak covered in red wine and onion sauce...delicious! Swimming pool is fun and attractive.

Only downside...there was no air con in our rooms which on a hot night made things rather sweaty!

Overall. Go! This place, both hotel and village have CHARACTER!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robin2011186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Ultimately, recommending this hotel - as I would - is about recommending Motovun itself, as this is really the only hotel in town. We stayed here as part of a cycling holiday (although cycling up to the town is certainly not for the faint-hearted!) and would certainly recommend it. The hotel room that we had was rather dated in decor but was reasonably sized and perfectly clean. What made the hotel great for a stay was the setting in the centre of town (but quiet) and the gardns with superb views out over the walls and over the stunning surrounding countryside. The breakfasts were very good (both in choice and quality) and the staff were helpful and efficient. The hotel is well set for the choice of very good restaurants in town, we did eat in the hotel one night and the food was good and reasonably priced. Overall, a very nice hotel but the town is simply stunning - if it was in Italy it would be overrun by touists and tacky gift shops, so take advantage of its unspoiltness while you can.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AFCWNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews